We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent New Year's Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs

Upstairs
608 Valley Road, Montclair, NJ
973-744-4144
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstairs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 163 Restaurants in Montclair
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bellevue Ave
Transit: NJ Train, Upper Montclair Train Station is steps away from our back entrance. NJ Transit bus number 28 and the DeCamp 66 bus both stop in our rear parking lot for commuter convenience.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An excellent New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Upstairs had a lovely New Year's Eve menu. Really enjoyed the lobster, although it could have used a little salt and pepper. The mushroom risotto was excellent; loved the quail egg on top! The octopus was delicious. And the squash bisque was terrific; my fiance wants the recipe. The desserts were excellent as well. There was a fantastic chocolate cake, an apple panna cotta, and cheese. We somehow got them to give us all three; we expected them to charge us for the third but they didn't! Surprisingly they had three pinot noirs on the wine by the glass menu but nothing from Burgundy. Service was friendly and efficient but not as polished as the price would suggest. No peppermint tea, only chamomile. If it hadn't been New Year's, the price would have been exorbitant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I had actually stayed away from Upstairs due to what seemed like a very limited menu on their website. We went with another couple after realizing none of us had ever been there. Well, we were about an hour late for our reservation (but we did call to tell them we were running late). Once we got there we had a drink at the bar since they said our table still wasn't ready, but they were very nice and accomodating about it.

Our server was excellent, very friendly and the service was great. We were a bit disappointed with the size of some of our appetizers, the salmon was a very small portion, however the calamari had a decent portion and was very tasty! Our dinners were all a normal portion size, not tiny and not outlandishly huge. I had the pork chop which was delicious. We didn't have any dessert but I'm sure that would have been good too!

I would definitely recommend Upstairs, it has a lively bar and the food is very good. The other thing that really surprised me was the high end Toto toilet in the restroom. All was good from beginning to end ;)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Upping the Stakes at Upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hot South Beach meets trendy Manhattan hot spot – that’s how I'd describe Upstairs.

Sit at the bar tables so you get a view of the open kitchen where an energetic team of hard-working chefs are at it.

Wait staff is super and knowledgeable and the menu features small and large plates. A brown sugar-caramelized slab bacon was an evening special and fabulous. The sautéed calamari in a basil, garlic and chilis broth is topped with breadcrumbs and delicious. Loved the Pork Terrine is a thick slice of slow cooked pork slathered with tangy barbeque sauce and served with grilled bread and pickles. The house-made ricotta gnocchi with mushrooms, basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese is a must-try.

The wine list offers interesting options and quite a few wines by the glass. The cocktails are fun and creative.

Beautifully designed space, delicious food and a helpful wait staff - a winning combination.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North caldwell
1 review
“Not worth it!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Food was very good. BUT, the experience was definitely not worth ever going back!!
First of all the place was an ice box, it was so cold the paper menus were flying off the table. We
asked if we could change tables or have the air turned down. Mind you half the room was empty and we were given big attitude by our Waitress. Secondly, the first Wine we selected was not available and the fish was almost sold out. And than lastly, ours appys were done and cleared away and then we sat and waited for 40 mins for our main dinners to be served. We were told there was a mix up in kitchen. All in all Very disappointed!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food but the bar is a bit like an airport lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a great evening here, 6 of us celebrating two birthdays. Determined to have fun no matter what!

We started with a booking for 8 so cocktails at 7.30. A great start and the bar is fun although a bit sterile rather than natural high design, it reminded us all of a lounge bar in an airport departure lounge.

They kept us waiting and waiting and at 9 our table was ready, expecting a packed dining room, it was half empty so they clearly just forgot us.

Anyway the food was fantastic and the waiting staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Portions were small but great flavors and ingredients. We had fantastic fun and ended up with free Champagne in the bar to say sorry for the booking mix up.

We all agreed it was great fun and ticked off the list, not sure I feel the need to rush back there again though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs also viewed

 
Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Upstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.