We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costanera Restaurant

Costanera Restaurant
511 Bloomfield Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-3406
973-337-8289
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Costanera Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 177 Restaurants in Montclair
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park Street
Transit: NJ Transit Train Walnut Street Station on the Montclair-Boonton line. From station walk north on Walnut Street to N. Fullerton Ave. Turn left on N. Fullerton Ave. and walk to Bloomfield Ave. Make a right turn on Bloomfield Ave., and end on 511 Bloomfield Ave.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Outstanding menu with many seafood options - but also excellent osso bucco and free- range chicken. The quinoa salad was exceptional. The waitstaff was very informative in helping us to understand some of the less familiar menu options. The cod fish appetizer was out of this world as was the tres leches cake. This is a BYOB restaurant so bring your own if you wish. They are lovely and very accommodating.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little pricey and worth every penny!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Third time I enjoyed a delicious meal at Costanera. Montclair has many restaurants, but this one you shouldn't miss. I never regret the prices once the food arrives. They do such a good job, you should not pass up on the starters, try one of the cerviches, delicious. The Osso Bucco melts in your mouth, just perfect. Or try the Escabeche de Pescado with a side of Yucca.
If you're a foodie, it's a must, try for a reservation, they get packed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New experience with peruvian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been in NJ for tourism with family in mid-june and we've been there for my marriage anniversary. We started with a peruvian bruschetta (i'm italian, so i appreciate this concordance with roman tipical cuisine) and then coontinued with a mix of main items (duo andino vegetariano and costanera cobb) sides and dessert . Personnel was great, food well presented an served, delicious. An experience to repeat next time i'll go to NJ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Tastefull South American cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very tasty not like typical texmex. Many local ingredients. Meat and fish with aromas and spices. The mixto cevice is wonderful. The quinoa salad is great too. Try the combinado classic - which is desert with Peruvian flair. There are many appetizers reasonably priced and large enough to share for a good taste of Peru.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Bloomfield Ave Winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is a lot smaller and more intimate than I imagined from viewing the website, but it was just perfect for dining. The decor was really nice and the volume was not overbearing.

They were out of a few things for the day but they told us as we were handed our menus - greatly appreciated!! We ordered a bunch of different things and I can't say that anything we had was bad or even questionable!

My favorites were the Chori-papa and Churrasco a lo pobre!

The only reason that I gave a 4 instead of a 5 was that the service was incredibly SLOW. We were in no rush and were enjoying conversation over our wine (its a BYOB) so it was no bother, but I could see it being a problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costanera Restaurant also viewed

Montclair, NJ
Montclair, NJ
 
Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Costanera Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costanera Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.