We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Forsgate Drive, Monroe, NJ 08831   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monroe
Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The most important thing to me is cleanliness and the Crowne Plaza's rooms were clean. The bathroom was spotlless and the bedding was crisp and very clean - in fact- it looked new. The beds were very comfortable and the eight people I traveled with all had a good nights sleep. Each room was updated and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Frankie S
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us at teh Crowne Plaza Monroe, NJ. I am glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and our clean amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Yogi Kumar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
12
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Rented a standard room for 5 nights for family visiting from out of state. Location was convenient, accommodations were pleasant and neat. Facility reminds me of the Holiday Inn it used to be rather than it's higher end sister hotel (Crowne Plaza). I will be more than happy to use this facility again. I will, however, like to see the Crowne Plaza (IHG) to continue to upgrade this facility...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RNoe111
Thank you for your comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. We continue to improve our facilities to beocme a "Great Hotel Guests Love". W look forward to your next visit with your family.
Yogi Kumar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Obviously, this hotel has not been a Crowne Plaza before. It is continuously upgraded, however, I fear it will never reach the normal Crowne Plaza standard.
The buidling itself looks more like a large motel, the location is poor (close to large crossings), features as the pool or meeting rooms are old.
The rooms are clean and OK - although the aircon is old and loud.
The restaurant is nice.

In my view it is a typical three star hotel. So, if you expect a four star Crowne Plaza, you will be disappointed. If you come and know it is a three star hotel you may be satisfied - the price is usually low, OK for a three star hotel.

For IHG / priority club members: Don´t expect upgrades or benefits you would usually obtain in a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Xirxy
Thank you for your comments and feedback about your stay at our Crowne Plaza hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do upgrade IHG Rewards members to a suite if available and each IHG Rewards memeber receives a free drink and a goody back upon check-in at our hotel. I hoep you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Thank you
Yogi Kumar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed in room 228 for one night. In our experience the room furniture was upgraded but the coffee maker was not working right; I needed to hold the On button for 5 seconds before it turned on and it produced a *lot* of steam but very little coffee. We told someone the problem but got the answer that someone would come by after 7 AM... after we need to check out. Instead of a thermostat there's an old air conditioner. Last night I was hot sleeping under all the thick blankets but the AC was not adequate, are we supposed to set it on freezing and leave it on all night? On the other hand, the food at YOGI's All American Grill and Bar is inexpensive and delicious despite the fact that it is a sports bar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Charles_Xavier
Thank you for your comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. We are in process of replacing our older AC unit with newer models with Thermostat. I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and sports bar. We hope to provide you with a better experience next time you visit our hotel.
Thank you
Yogi Kumar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am writing this knowing that I expressed my self to the staff but,I wanted to let my experience give future room block guests some warning. I am also writing this knowing that I was a guest and not the one who made the room block

Our friends had an event this past weekend and they had a cut off date for their guests to reserve a room in the block. That day I called and they said that the room block was booked so I called my friends who told me that in fact not all of the rooms they blocked were booked so it should be fine. So they had to get involved and somehow the hotel found rooms that we could reserve.
Check in was at 3 and we got there at 4 ish. We were greeted by a huge amount of people in the lobby who were waiting to check in but couldn't because the rooms weren't ready. They told us all that the cleaning staff was not all there and that was why we along with the people who made the room block couldn't get into our rooms.

Then when we were finally let into our rooms they only have two carts for tons of rooms, this in my opinion needs to be worked on
Then when we checked in we asked ( or so we thought ) for a later check out but at 9 am the housekeeping knocked on our door as well as our room block people. Why this was done at 9 am when check out is at 11 am is not right.

So hopefully your experience is better than ours

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear mish2378
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Rooms blocks have cut-off dates of 14-30 days prior to arrival date. I am glad we were able to accommodate you even though all the rooms in the group block were used. Our hotel is very busy on weekends and we were sold out night before you checked in. Our housekeeping department has to wait until the previous guests check-out at noon and then clean the rooms for new arrival. We had several large wedding groups on the weekend you were here and we did the best to get everyone checked in between 3pm and 6pm. I hope you will give an another opportunity in the future to serve you better. Thank you
Yogi Kumar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monroe hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was there for a four day stay. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and clean. The food was very good at their restaurant. It was very conveniently located to the business that I was at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Don1
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at the Crowen Plaza Monroe, NJ. We appreciate your feedack as we continue to provide "Great Hotel Guests Love". WE look forward to your next visit.
Yogi Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Right off the turnpike, clean and functional. The pool was very warm. Breakfast (not included) was acceptable but not stellar. Every time we've stayed here, there's been a big function going on downstairs, but haven't heard the noise up in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogikumar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Ms. ElizabethLB,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Monroe.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you during you next visit.
Yogi Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick

Address: 390 Forsgate Drive, Monroe, NJ 08831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Monroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Crowne Plaza Hotel Monroe-South Brunswick is conveniently located in the heart of New Jersey off Exit 8A of the NJ Turnpike near Jamesburg, Dayton & Cranbury. This hotel is 1 hour from NY City, Philadelphia & Atlantic City & less than 30 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport. We are the closest Crowne Plaza to Six Flags Great Adventure and Forsgate Country Club. We are conveniently located close to the Raceway Park in Englishtown, Lenox Outlet Store, Crate & Barrel Outlet, Jackson Factory Outlets, neighboring corporations such as, Canon, Hyundai & Historic Princeton. Complimentary shuttle service is available to companies within 5 miles. Our brand new, well appointed guest rooms are highlighted by the 'Crowne Sleep Advantage,' everything you need for a great night's sleep! We offer quiet floors, guaranteed wake-up calls & a sleep CD for ultimate relaxation. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. With 13 meeting rooms, over 14,000 sq. ft. of meeting space & a 5500 sq. ft. ballroom, this award-winning Crowne Plaza is The Place To Meet, accommodating groups from 2-550.'Yogi's All-American Grill & Sports Bar' offers casual American dining and family fun entertainment. Room service is available from 6:30 AM to 10:00 PM. We offer an indoor heated pool and brand new outdoor patio with gazebo and fitness center. AAA Diamonds: 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick Hotel Monroe
Crowne Plaza Jamesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Monroe South Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.