We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawa Thai and Sushi

Kawa Thai and Sushi
2196 North 2nd Street, Millville, NJ 08332
(856) 825-9939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Millville
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
“Great as usual!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Clean, prompt service, beautiful dishes taste great. Spiciness clearly marked, hot sauces and mustard on the side.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Neat seating with the tables in a pit. I had the green curry, great presentation. It came out in a pot with a wooden lid and on a miniature cast iron grill to keep the pot hot. Food tasted authentic but lacked the American taste

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ate here first time with business group. Food was fresh and tasty but the soup with tofu and seewead was not my cup of tea but General Tsao's Chicken was very good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Looks can be deceiving - there's a big fish tank, sushi bar, Japanese-style bench seating - it looks like you could be stumbling upon a gem except for the big flat screen tvs that are on.

We've given this place a shot a few times and it always falls short on flavor. The rolls are interesting but always lacking pizzaz. The Thai food is never quite spicy enough - even if you ask for 'extra spicy'.

The seating is really uncomfortable - whether at a table or on the benches. We'll probably try the sushi bar seats and give the restaurant another shot because of its convenient location... no hurry though --with Peking Tokyo about five minutes away, it pretty much blows this place away in the flavor department.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had tried this restaurant before when it was new and while the food was decent, it didn't strike me as anything special. However, it is to my knowledge the only Thai restaurant in the area. As we preferred the Vietnamese restaurant next door (probably the one the previous reviewer stated as being this restaurant), we hadn't gone back to this place in a year.

This review is for the Thai food only. As I have not tried their Sushi, I cannot comment on the fish or the Japanese dishes.

We decided to give Kawa another shot and went for lunch today. The staff was courteous but the place lacked any guests despite it being lunch time. The first thing that struck us was that the music was obnoxiously loud. On top of that, it wasn't even Asian music but part rap and part other stuff. I was particularly offended by some of the lyrics that were blasting at me.

The food was not bad but not very interesting either. We had the Pad Thai and the Gaeng Ped Pork. While the Pad Thai seemed to be made according to the more traditional recipe (it lacked lime though), the Gaeng Ped Pork did not have any of the vegetables stated in the menu. Fillers were huge wedges of unripe tomato (does not belong in Asian food) and carrots. There were no rhizome as stated in the menu nor were there any lime leaves. (Perhaps the restaurant misused the word rhizome, as it usually refers to ginger or tumeric in the food context.)

The lunch special came with a salad (ginger dressing) and a miso soup. Miso soup belongs in Japanese cuisine and should not have been served with a Thai dish. Perhaps giving patrons a choice of soup or salad dressing might be more appropriate for someone seeking Thai food.

Overall the dining experience was really marred by the volume and style of music. The offensive lyrics are not suited for children (luckily we didn't have any there or I would have left). The music was so loud that I had a hard time hearing the person across from me (and I am not hard of hearing!).

If you like Asian dishes, then try the Vietnamese restaurant a few doors down.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawa Thai and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Kawa Thai and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawa Thai and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.