We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Children and Adults” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheaton Village

Wheaton Village
1100 Village Drive, Millville, NJ 08332
800 998 4552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Millville
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Good for Children and Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited the Wheaton Village yesterday on our way home from Wilmington DE. After seeing beautiful gardens and museums there, I wasn't sure what to expect. As life-long NJ natives we were surprised by this place. The museum of glass has wonderful exhibits featuring the historic glass manufacturing that started in the 18th century here in South Jersey. There is a guided tour at 2 pm and I am sure it would be excellent. We arrived at 11 am and didn't want to wait for the tour. However, the guide explained alot of the history when we entered the museum. The second part of the village includes glassblowing. If you have never seen this, it is a must see. The professional glassblowers explain as they work and it is a real learning experience. There is also a ceramics workshop where artists also offered explanations of their ceramic processes. There are classes and programs throughout the year here. There are shops and a small food shop on the premises. I highly recommend that you visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is one of those "Don't Miss Places"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a blast. We even went back another day. This is one of those places that you can keep visiting and still have fun everytime. Beautiful and educational. Everyone was very professional and went out of their way to be friendly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“new mexico - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

San Francisco Street bar & Grill
it is upstairs near the center of Santa Fe
very good food and cheap prices

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet Historical Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a nice place to stroll around the grounds and shops. There is a General store that has nostalgic and current items. There is a gift shop and paperweight shop which is also a mini glass and art museum. Very interesting glass work is displayed. There is also the main glass museum. Not sure if they still have the glass blowing demonstrations - check before you go. It's open only on weekends in the winter.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Penny candy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Took my three year old and my husband for Christmas pictures. Played on the jungle gym. Chased geese. Ate our weight penny candy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheaton Village also viewed

 

Been to Wheaton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheaton Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.