We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but smoky soft furnishings and no chance of privacy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alti Hotel to your Saves list
Alti Hotel
19 Allees D'Etigny, 31110 Bagneres-de-Luchon, France (Formerly Hotel Luchon)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel but smoky soft furnishings and no chance of privacy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

I totally echo the review of Jan 16th. Despite the DO NOT DISTURB sign we were intruded upon twice in one morning with no apology. Also we requested a non smoking room but the soft furnishings smelt of cigarettes. Otherwise it's a very good hotel; we had a quiet clean spacious room and the reception staff were great.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

When driving through the beautiful Pyrennes be sure to include this delightful little town as one of your destinations. The modern hotel is located on the main street in the middle of town. We parked overnight in the main street opposite our hotel. Our room was located on the second floor however this was no problem as the hotel has a lift. Our quiet room was very neat with a comfortable queen size bed and it had quiet airconditioning, a TV but no tea or coffee facilities. The ensuite was very clean and had a good shower.

  • Liked — The newness and its location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We (a party of four adults) stayed for one night. Although very conveniently located in an older-looking building on the main street, the hotel appears recently to have been renovated to quite a high standard, with modern furnishings, décor and fittings. The bedrooms we had overlooked the main street and were each large, comfortable and quiet. The staff were helpful and considerate when we arrived and subsequently. We didn’t stay for breakfast – too expensive – and left the car in the free municipal car across the street (the hotel has a garage at the back, but makes a charge for leaving vehicles there overnight).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outskirts of Toulouse
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel is in a great location, just 100m from the cable car and right on the main street, so everything you need is in walking distance. The hotel has a very modern and contemporary style, a nice little indoor pool and gym. There are some nice features in the rooms. The hotel is very clean and the staff on reception were at all times polite and friendly.
However, there were a few things that let the hotel down. There isn't a restaurant as such, but a bar restaurant attached, there are TV's playing at all times which means a romantic meal is out of the question, service at the bar can also be a bit hit and miss.
We initially checked into room 504 which was spacious, but if you are over 1.5m tall, it is almost impossible to take a shower. While we were there, it would appear the heating/air-conditioning wasn't working properly and the room was boiling. We had to move to another room - 206 which overlooked the main street with a small balcony and therefore was a little noisy and was a smoking room, despite having booked a non-smoking room. The room was tiny, with less than 30cm between the end of the bed and the wall, in addition there was a flat screen TV hanging from the wall. The safest route around the room was to go over the bed!! As for the bed it was solid, like sleeping on concrete.
The main point of discontent was that 3 times a member of staff entered our room, without knocking, despite the do not disturb sign being displayed . We complained to reception, but didn't really receive much of an apology. Having worked in the hotel business for years, we know this isn't normal procedure.
All in all we enjoyed our stay , but a few minor (easily resolved) problems left us feeling a little disappointed. We do recommend the hotel, but be aware of the points raised above. We hope on visits to other Apsis hotels in Spain and Andorra we will be pleasantly surprised as we think the hotel group offers exactly what we look for whilst travelling for business and pleasure.

  • Liked — Style and design
  • Disliked — The size of the room and the hardness of the bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

I stayed at the Apsis Luchon for a weekend in January 2007 with my family. We wanted to stay somewhere close to the ski resorts of Luchon and Peyragudes and the Apsis was ideal! The village of Luchon is gorgeous - very french and untouristy - with several reasonably priced and delicious restaurants, but the hotel was what stood out. The staff could not have been more welcoming or friendly. Admittedly the hotel was quite empty (definitely due to the lack of snow around, not the quality of the hotel), but the staff constantly went out of their way to improve our stay. We were also upgraded on arrival to a superior room - the rooms were big by skiing standards and each had a flat screen tv, very comfy bed and great bathroom. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a second as i think it would be impossible not to enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alti Hotel

Address: 19 Allees D'Etigny, 31110 Bagneres-de-Luchon, France (Formerly Hotel Luchon)
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Bagneres-de-Luchon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagneres-de-Luchon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acta Luchon is a four star (****) Hotel situated in Bagneres de Luchon, the oldest resort in the Pyrenees. A hotel of 40 rooms that offers with first class facilities, designed and created for guests who want quality and prestige. It has a unique location, because it is in the commercial area of Luchon a few meters from the ski slopes, thermal resort and the main attractions of the area. It is ideal to spend a few days relaxing in the great outdoors or enjoy the wide variety of outdoors activities offered by the area. In this hotel, you’ll find everything you need to have an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Luchon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.