We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   750 State Route 35 South, Middletown, NJ 07748   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had a great stay here, the service was unsurpassed, I did not have a channel guide in my room and before I could hang up the phone and get to the door staff was knocking at door with one. The Salt water pool was Superior. The rooms were clean. I could not ask for anything more for the price!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience. We work very hard every day to provide the quality of service travelers expect and I am pleased we exceeded your expectations during your last stay. We look forward to being your preferred hotel when you are visiting our area in Monmouth County. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
32
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Finding a decent hotel on a budget in Mid-north Jersey is a trick - a trick I haven't yet learned. This hotel provides a clean, quiet room with decent internet access. The "quiet" part depends on who's living next door. Road noise from Hwy 35 is adequately muffled, but sound insulation between rooms is sub-par.

Bed is on the low end of "fair" for comfort.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have high ceilings. Noise from above is limited to the pitter-pat of heavy rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for recently staying with us. I wish I had some foolproof tricks to share with you on how to snag a great hotel at a low price in New Jersey. The state of New Jersey is very unique when compared to other states. Each part of New Jersey offers different activities during different parts of the year and this is what dicates pricing structures.

For example: along the Jersey shore like where we are located (Sandy Hook in Monmouth County to Cape May in Cape May County) hotels are higher priced during the warmer summer months and on the weekends most especially, but better prices can be found during the winter months since no one is really heading out to the beach in January.

Northern New Jersey (Bergen, Essex, Middlesex) are higher priced on weekdays because of the corporate travel and proximity to New York City and less expense on weekends.

Northwestern New Jersey (Warren, Sussex, Hunterdon counties) is where the ski resorts and mountains are, they are higher priced during the winter months because people are visiting there for recreational outdoor winter activities.

Southwestern New Jersey (Camden, Gloucester and Salem) runs the same as Northern New Jersey because of the corporate travel and proximity to Philadelphia

I hope you find this helpful when planning your future trips to New Jersey. I hope you will return to us in the future and I hope you will find our hotel to be just as clean and well cared for as you did on this trip. Thank you kindly for posting your review of us on tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here the night before the New Jersey Marathon in Long Branch. Nice front desk, clean room. Deducted room safe charge on checkout upon request. Started serving breakfast (cereal, muffins, the usual) at 5:30 am. Convenient to Red Bank, where we had Italian food the night before the marathon. Also not too far from a Costco, up north a few miles on Route 35.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for recently staying at the Comfort Inn of Middletown. We have been a popular location over the years for the marathon runners. We start our breakfast earlier than normal that weekend because we know our guests need to be ready to go bright and early on race day. I am happy to hear you have a pleasant stay with us and thank you for recognizing our efforts to provide clean rooms and friendly staff. I look forward to being your hotel choice next year, remember, you are always welcome to visit us whenever you choose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

First the nightly rate was $127 plus taxes. this hotel should have went for about $59 a night. The hotel smelled, The fitness centre is a joke 1 broken treadmill and a beat up bike, also a universal machine with missing pieces.Oh yes there is a few towels laying in there and that is it. The game is worst a couple of run down machines. There is a out door pool. The rooms are OK except you can hear everything in the next room. The staff is friendly although the older gentleman made a sexual joke to my 80 year old aunt. The breakfast was all right for free you would not go there if it was a restaurant. The young lady was working very hard to kept the food stock and the place clean. it just was not worth the money. it was a busy weekend up in that area and we booked late so we got stuck there. Go some where else. There is and Outback right in the parking lot which is a nice feature.

Room Tip: Elevators are in the front of the hotel you may want to consider that if steps are a problem or walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIGSMGR, Manager at Comfort Inn Middletown, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your disappointing stay at our hotel. I am also sorry to hear you felt stuck with us. We work hard every day to maintain a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. To the best of my knowledge all the fitness room's equipment are in working order and all appropriate parts are accounted for. Our complimentary hot breakfast is an ammenity available to our guests so they can get a head start on the day. It is conveniently located in our hotel so our guests do not need to leave the property, if they so choose, to get something to eat. Since all hotels are configured differently, we rely on our guests to let us know if they require something specific such as a first floor room or a room near an elevator, etc and we do our best to meet that request. We certainly do not want to have an unhappy guest and I am sorry you were unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Business took me to Middletown, NJ so I returned to this Comfort Inn. Very friendly front desk staff, which is always a nice surprise in Jersey. Room was compact, but clean and had everything I care about. It was quiet, the HVAC system worked at a constant speed (to provide white noise) and did what I asked. Shower was warm enough.

My only complaint was that the free internet put constant pop-ups on my screen. I have my computer set to block pop-ups, but the free wireless somehow over-rode this.

Room Tip: All rooms off the main road. One side fronts onto a noisy commercial establishment, so pick the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The room was clean, customer service was excellent, and there was nothing broken or needing maintenance (the simple things that keep me happy). Housekeeping was perfect, breakfast was pretty standard, and the pool was outside so closed at this time of the year (the only disappointment honestly). We stayed for 5 days, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed one night in a room with 1 king bed. The room was very large with nice amenities (flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, nice sized bathroom, two bottles water). The smells were another story. The lobby smelled of smoke when I went to check in (this was gone when I went to check out - replaced by good breakfast smells). The entryway and hallway near our room had a different smell, maybe kind of a damp/old hotel smell. Our room had yet another odor, some kind of sickie-sweet glade-plug-in-type aroma, although the smell persisted even after I unplugged the glade thing I found in the bathroom. It was not masking smoke -- I would have smelled that -- but maybe used to cover any potential lingering animal smells (? I didn't smell those either, just the annoying glade smell). I know the hotel allows dogs, as we have stayed here multiple times in the past and have brought our dogs with us. We have never had a problem in the many times that we have stayed here, and I don't remember any issues with smells before.

The view out the window of the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Middletown

Address: 750 State Route 35 South, Middletown, NJ 07748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated Comfort Inn located just minutes from Red Bank, Sandy Hook, local attractions, historic areas of interest and fabulous restaurants. Daily Hot Breakfast, High Speed Internet Access, Fitness Room and Seasonal Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool are all complimentary services available to all our guests. We strive to make your stay comfortable and if something isn't right let us know and we will do our best to make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.