We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Corporate Restaurant Chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
740 State Rte 35, Middletown, NJ 07748-3410
(732) 796-0110
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Typical Corporate Restaurant Chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Not bad, not good - just average. We went to have a few snacks and a few glasses of wine at the bar the other day when it was snowing. The wine was nice and the food was good - not outstanding, not bad - just average. We did stay for an extra glass or two of wine since it was still early in the evening and when I got the bill, I was a bit shocked at how expensive snacks and a couple glasses of wine each comes to. So, for an average meal with a few drinks each - the price was a bit steep. However, if you are in a pinch and you need to get a bite to eat, you can stop here and not have to worry about the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Really gone done hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I used to love going to the Outback, but the last couple of times I have went it hasnt been the same. The portions are smaller and the food doesnt taste as good. I do like the over-sized beers!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical of Outback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Service is much better and faster in dining area than in the bar. Other than that, it was your typical dinner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food and a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had steak, shrimp, crab salad with avocado. It was great not just because I was hungry but because the steak was good quality, well seasoned, and the shrimp were grilled perfectly. I added wine for my palate, and I enjoyed the meal. The crab was real crab and not imitation. This being a chain restaurant, I feel they lived up to their advertising.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Pair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Tried one of the new Perfect Pair combos combining the Victoria's Filet and Lobster Mac n Cheese with Bacon. Steak was cooked to perfection and was very tender. The Mac n Cheese was also very good as well as the Fresh cut steamed green beans. The waiter was also very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.