We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Horse Tavern & Pub

The Black Horse Tavern & Pub
1 West Main Street, Mendham, NJ 07945
+1 973-543-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse Tavern & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mendham
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mountain Avenue
Description: Indulge in the area's finest cuisine in a unique and lovely setting. An elegant display and collection of antiques, country English design furniture mixed with the rustic beauty of early Americans create an atmosphere of warmth and beauty that befits the lifestyles of the rich and famous. Our eclectic menu is sure to please the most discriminating of tastes and is perfectly complimented by our extensive wine list. Also available are our newly redecorated banquet facilities for parties of 10 to 80 guests.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for some appetizers and refreshments after hiking in Jockey Hollow. Great apps (calamari especially was excellent -- very light breading) and great service from a friendly bartender. Homemade chips in baskets on the bar are SO addicting. Nice atmosphere in a historical place too -- plan to patronize this place again soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    16
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Tavern is going downhill...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There are 2 restaurants here, there is the BH Pub and the BH Tavern. This review is for the Tavern. First understand that if you want to make reservations, the Tavern takes reservations the Pub does not. So if someone tells you they have reservations at the BH Pub, they do not...it will be waiting for you at the BH Tavern.

Ok so here is my review. I use to enjoy the Tavern and the service and food use to be wonderful but something has gone terribly wrong. My recent experience confirms that they have an inexperienced staff and management as they could not keep up the service and the food was really, really poor.

Bacon wrapped scallops were worse than eating rubber superballs. A steak ordered medium rare had a slight pink center and brown throughout most of the steak. (We were with a small party and no one wants to send food back in that situation!) The mac and cheese was plain noodles with some bacon and a sprinkling of parm (or something) on top and no cheesiness to it at all. I stared at an empty glass of water for over 25 minute too...the waiter never checked and the people pouring water only checked one side of the restaurant for empty glasses...nothing like having to excuse yourself to go find someone to get service.

If you want to go meet some friends and have some drinks and listen to live music it is good for that, but that's all. Even the drink part can be bad as one bartender on a Friday night mixing for the whole restaurant...

It is too bad there is not some more competition in the area as you could easily do better than this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food; Great price; Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to the Black Horse Pub on a hot Thursday afternoon. There were few people there. The employees were very polite and nice. The place looks so cool! There are two little (ponds?) with goldfish outside. The inside of the pub has very nice decorations and some mellow (I guess) music playing. The bathroom was clean (and it says "WC" = awesome XD). The food was of decent size and very very delicious! We ordered Chicken Pot Pie, Baby Back Ribs, a burger, and a basket of fries. The basket of fries were only $3. And I think they make their own French fries (awesome). I must also mention the air conditioning. It was a very hot afternoon, and they were not cheap with their air conditioning at all. I could feel the cool breeze while having lunch there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great location and ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Came here with another couple. Like the location and ambiance. We had a great time over food and drink. The majority of the guests were laid back and generally well to do. Family friendly. Food was good but not great. Really liked the wedge salad. The steak was OK but needed some salt. The grilled veggies were delicious. The sweet potato fries were frozen but OK. In general, the price point was high, but the portion's were generous. Will likely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Black Horse Tavern”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have complained about the food & service at the Blackhorse Pub & Tavern for the past 4 years now to the management and tomorrow I plan on visiting the corporate office in Morristown.

I have been a resident of Mendham for many years and I am ashamed that the management of this restaurant do not listen to their customers. The wait staff are wonderful, the culinary staff need to return to county college to learn basic cooking techniques.

This establishment cannot cook a burger to order, they incinerate everything! Forget the eloquent items on the menu! I can do a better job at home using a plain GE and costo pans, forget the usual kitchens that we have here at our homes in town.

This place should be closed down! The bathrooms are clean! Forget the food, we are not talking 21 club, this is Mendham, but how can the culinary team screw up everything on the menu.

Villa fired Michael the manager, he was no loss in my opinion! However, if you are going to fire the management because they are doing a bad job, shouldn't you fire the culinary team too, because they suck!! Villa has not stepped up to run this establishment with the integrity it deserves. Great decor, substandard culinary and below parr service!

Villa you are an embarassment to the town of Mendham, this is our only Pub and you run it like a MacDonalds, high net worth patrons like to meet clients here, Avoid this place like the plague,
have a drink only, the bartenders are the only saving grace! Summation, sub standard diner food with below substandard service as of today 5-16-2015

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse Tavern & Pub also viewed

 
Mendham, Morris County
Mendham, Morris County
 

Been to The Black Horse Tavern & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Horse Tavern & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.