We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarantella Restaurant

Tarantella Restaurant
128 Rte 70 Ste 7, Medford, NJ 08055-2371
(609) 714-9050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Medford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manahawkin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“THE BEST !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If I want to really have a big Italian meal, I go to Tarantella. The food is really great and almost too much to handle. Nice atmosphere. It's a busy place, so make reservations. If you have to wait, then wait. It's totally worth it. I love spicey food and always ask for it that way. Mama Mia....that's Italian

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's about food and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've been enjoying the outstanding food and friendly family atmosphere at Tarantella's for many many years. Sal or Benny are usually there with a big smile and greeting! It's not like going out to dinner. It's like being invited over to the home of a friend who always goes overboard when you come for dinner. You know to come hungry! The same is true for dinner here.
The regular menu would certainly be sufficient and is jam packed with terrific choices. I've never had a questionable meal no matter what I have chosen. The portions are just ridiculous. Definitely have plenty to take home for another meal. Call it a Tarantella Toofer!
If you enjoy seafood, the Fra Diavlo is just off the hook! The dish looks like it was ordered for the whole table!! The mussels are outstanding.
The specials are always very special. I particularly like the veal chop... not the usual fare at an Italian restaurant, but if they are offering the veal chop, it is a great choice!
Don't forget the gelato. It is really flavorful and adds just the right amount of "sweet" for a perfect ending! Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Portions are very large- large enough to share. Great place to have a large dinner-served family style

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you want to feel like you are eating in Italy then go to this restaurant. food is always delicious and good size portions. Service is good. Most of the time there is a wait on the weekends so be prepared to WAIT.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat and Very Reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of our family favorite restaurants! The menu has a lot to chose from and the food is delicious. The salad is served family style and the breads are very good. The meals are served on very large plates and more times than not, we have plenty to bring home for leftovers. The owner walks around to each table and checks in on you to see how you are enjoying your meal. Would definitely recommend eating here if you like home cooked Italian food. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarantella Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tarantella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarantella Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.