We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn near Mountain Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn near Mountain Creek to your Saves list
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Route 94, McAfee, NJ 07428 (Formerly Days Inn Vernon/McAfee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McAfee
Long Valley, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This location is now a Quality Inn.... and as per the front desk employee they just changed over last week. (The billboards along Rt. 94 actually still say Days Inn). And it is apparent they dumped some money into the place and completely remodeled from top to bottom. Everything looks brand new including the furniture, bathroom fixtures, and lobby furnishings. Flat screen TV's with lots of cable channels, mini-fridges and microwaves are in all rooms now I believe. In fact, the rooms are so new there is still that "chemical" smell from the carpet and paint, which doesn't bother me, but some people might have a problem with.

Room Tip: One suggestion if one was going to be staying here for more than a night- ask for a room along the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Went up to Sussex County for a wedding in early August and needed a place to stay over night. Wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel off the beaten path, but I was pleasantly surprised with what I found.

Check in was easy and the room was actually really nice! I stayed in a room just around the corner from the front desk.. it had very clearly been newly renovated. All of the furniture was pretty new and the bathroom was recently upgraded as well.

The "breakfast" and "coffee" were terrible, so I'd recommend stopping in to one of the local delis or bagel shops in the area and paying a few dollars for real food.

Check out was a little more time-consuming, even as I rang the little bell since no one was available to help me out. After about 5 minutes, I found an employee cleaning the kitchen area and was then helped

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel as a nice, clean, and cheap option!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I brought my daughter and two of her teenage friends to Vernon to go skiing for her birthday and encountered some difficulty staying at one of the lodges their and had no idea what to do and they actually told me about the days inn. And it was perfect cozy and homey comfortable to come to after long days of skiing. The owner was very accommodating and the girls and I couldn't have had a better time. Their was brand new flat screen computer to use, home style kitchen for breakfast it was like home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I came here the first time last week to go skiing. The women at the desk was especially nice. This is my second trip in 2 weeks , and I had a problem with my car.
The same woman was very helpful in getting something to make a temporary repair.

The hotel is very clean ,the woman at the desk is wondeful, and the rooms are well decorated with internet access etc. Actually I am posting this from the computer that they have in the lobby , so I did not even carry my laptop with me.

Definitely a good value and location for skiing at Mountain Creek.

I will be back again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Room was nice.and clean. Comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, close to all activities.

Revovations are done and everything is in order.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

THIS MOTEL IS UNDER WATER RESTRICTIONS!!! ! All drinking water usage banned due to unacceptable high levels of bacterial contaminants found in drinking water by health department. (Call hotel to double check IF & WHEN they are lifted.)

All coffee makers removed from rooms. No ice. Limited small bottles of warm water available at front desk. No forewarning given when I made reservations only a day prior. Told only when we checked in. Front desk was surprised no one advised us of water restrictions when we reserved. Had I known, I would've made other arrangements elsewhere.

No heat in bathroom. Freezing. Refrigerator freezer caked w/ice. No microwave. (You must request this even though it's listed as standard amenity.) Sheets & towels reeked of bleach. Cleaning left lots to be desired. No soap dishes at sink.

If you're desperate and just want a place to crash - fine. But remember to ask about water or be prepared to bring several bottles of your own. I'm not recommending it now due to the water restrictions and rating it a poor value because I think rooms should've been discounted for duration of water restrictions - and especially considering they were negligent to advise of this beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Just what we were looking for to spend a quiet, comfortable weekend after hiking at High Point. Some of the negative reviews I read here seem petty and from very uninformed travelers. Yes, renovations take time. Yes, not quite everything is complete. But those things are minor. "Handwritten numbers still outside rooms" is no big deal when the inside of the room is immaculate; beds are more than just super comfortable as are pillows. Good fridge, micro, tv & internet connection. Stayed in fall, so no ac needed. Can't comment on any possible noise from the unit therefore. All in all, we couldn't hear a peep. So quiet, we could talk in whispers. Hotel elevated from road, so road noise nearly inaudible. Staff helpful & courteous. Breakfast room & menu better than many I've seen in hotels priced 2X as much. Beautifully decorated. Halls well designed and pretty. "Yellow" color in rooms is far from "screaming". More like a 'calming, muted autumn-creamy yellow". Stay here if you're in the Mc-Afee-Vernon-Sussex NJ area. Offer suggestions as I feel staff are wiling to listen and address. Be constructive - not destructive . It'll only benefit the next traveler and you - if you need a good place to stay if in the area again. Again: Loved the beds! P.S. Owner showed each guest to their room, which is not a common courtesy displayed to many motel-hotel guests these days, which showed me the staff's willingness to please if given half the chance. BTW: The staff lives there (and isn't that what a guest would want if they need something in the middle of the night?)...so if they're cooking dinner for themselves, wouldn't you expect those cooking smells to waft through the lobby? How does your kitchen smell after you've cooked, say, fish or cabbage? Think about that before throwing a petty complaint like that. After all...are you sleeping in the lobby or in your room? And isn't that the point of a good night's stay at any motel? I commend these owners for making an effort and succeeding. Days Inn chain should be very proud of them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn near Mountain Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn near Mountain Creek

Address: 15 Route 94, McAfee, NJ 07428 (Formerly Days Inn Vernon/McAfee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > McAfee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McAfee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn near Mountain Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn near Mountain Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Mcafee
Days Inn Mcafee
Mcafee Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn near Mountain Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.