We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Main Hotel

Save Saved
You added Inn on Main Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Main Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   152 Main St., Manasquan, NJ 08736   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Manasquan B&B and Inns
Gt Barrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved checking into my room without having to go to a front desk. and downstairs for dinner. No silly frills. Could have used a lounge chair and a small desk. I slept with french doors open.
Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peckville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We love Val's properties, both in Ocean City and Manasquan. The location was superb to wake up, walk downstairs and have a stroll and cup of coffee on the quaint main street. How can you miss? We went to the Ocean City property and enjoyed our Baby Moon there. This year baby Angelo came with us to the Inn On Main, it was perfect. Angelo loved the spacious room to move around in and big enough for his pack and play best of all!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Would love to meet Angelo, the new addition to the family! Atlantis Inn or Inn on Main? I will be there. Best regards and thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I hate to give this review as if The inn at Manasqaun gets to popular i will not get a room next visit! But i have to say it is our favorite place to stay when we come to N.J. The rooms are beautiful, the town is so cute and the dinning in walking distance are fantastic! I Love the Inn !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are flattered by your generous comments. A number of customers are like-minded, but not to worry... we prioritize return customers who, thankfully, appreciate the Inn on Main the same way you do. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Guests in Room 305 - Inn On Main in Manasquan is a quiet and gracious inn that is a rare find in this area! Not only are the rooms extremely clean and spacious, everything from shower curtain ring, bath linens, bed linens and furnishings are simple and elegant - everything has been carefully thought out and it shows! (Even the hallways and exit staircase have been recently renovated.)

We chose this room because it faced the back and we wanted a quiet setting. And yes, it certainly was quiet and peaceful. This is a rare find especially since the Inn is located conveniently right on Main Street w/ many cute restaurants, cafes and stores just steps away.

If you are looking for a reception desk and room service, this is not your place. But if you are an independent and seasoned traveler seeking luxurious and comfortable accommodation, you will find yourself very happy here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway for my wife and I. Room was big and well appointed. Close enough to walk to everything. Nice local shops. Great restaurant on 1st floor of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed this past weekend in room 303. We love this "virtual hotel" with keyless entry. The room was very big. The furniture was nice. A larger couch/sofa would make it more relaxing. Room 303 overlooks Main Street in downtown Manasquan. It has a large set of windows with ample blinds to block out the rising sun. The one problem is that the large oval window doesn't have a shade. Its private but lets in the 5:30AM sunshine. The other issue would be the mattress. It was shot. I have slept on pull outs more comfortable. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to great restaurants, shopping, train. The beach is a short drive down Main Street. We will be back but will try another room besides 303.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for your review.

Suite 303 is an elegant and spacious suite with cathedral ceilings that provide character. To cut the morning light, we had installed striped silk drapes on the crescent window to add even more charm to the suite. However, the dimming of the topmost oval porthole window has been challenging. If anyone reads this response and knows of a solution, we would be happy to consider. In the meantime, we will be applying Scotchtint in the coming week.

We are checking the mattress following your comment. It is the first such comment for this suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved the hotel - the room (#204) was very large and extremely clean. The location was really nice, too. 15 minutes to Point Pleasant or Silver Lake, and about 10 to the beach. Lots of nice shops to visit on Main Street.

The problem was that every hotel room has hard wood floors, with very little of them covered by area rugs, and we were on the second floor with extremely loud neighbors above us. The woman had no problem walking around the room upstairs in high heels at all hours of the night (and I mean ALL hours). Without a front desk, there was no one to complain to. We stayed there on Friday and Saturday night, and it happened both nights. Even after my husband stood on our bed and banged his fist against the ceiling, nothing changed. She kept right on stomping back and forth across the room.

So, we loved the room, loved the location, but hated the hard wood floors. Maybe if you can choose a room on the top floor so that you wouldn't have this problem, that would be helpful. Otherwise, pray that the woman staying in the room above you likes to wear sneakers.

Room Tip: Top floor (floor #3) if possible, otherwise bring ear plugs or pray for quiet people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for your compliments on the hotel.

We could have saved you your troubles regarding the incessant walking in the room above you had you simply placed a call to our main phone number (which is prominently displayed in printed literature in your room as well as the hallways and elevator). The suite above you has hardwood floors with area rugs. We could have made a "gentle" request to the the occupant (certainly after our 10:30PM Quiet Zone) to walk more "softly." Please avail yourself of our hotline on your return visit.

P.S. If you want complete quiet, as you suggest, book Suites on our 3rd floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Main Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Main Hotel

Address: 152 Main St., Manasquan, NJ 08736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manasquan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manasquan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Main Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with modern spacious rooms - all different from each other - balconies, gas fireplaces, pillow-top mattresses, plantation-style ceiling fans. Ideally located near beaches and surrounded by restaurants and quaint village shops. All rooms have private bathrooms, central air-conditioning, refrigerators and ipod players. Design is modern-residential; architecture is Nantucket-Jersey Shingle Style. Inn on Main brings affordable shore luxury to Jersey. 4-minute walk to NYC trains. On the ground floor, is Central Jersey's new leading restaurant, Firefly Bistro, a BYOB establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn on Main Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Main Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.