We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious & comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Main Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn on Main Hotel to your Saves list
Inn on Main Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   152 Main St., Manasquan, NJ 08736   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Manasquan B&B and Inns
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Luxurious & comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Guests in Room 305 - Inn On Main in Manasquan is a quiet and gracious inn that is a rare find in this area! Not only are the rooms extremely clean and spacious, everything from shower curtain ring, bath linens, bed linens and furnishings are simple and elegant - everything has been carefully thought out and it shows! (Even the hallways and exit staircase have been recently renovated.)

We chose this room because it faced the back and we wanted a quiet setting. And yes, it certainly was quiet and peaceful. This is a rare find especially since the Inn is located conveniently right on Main Street w/ many cute restaurants, cafes and stores just steps away.

If you are looking for a reception desk and room service, this is not your place. But if you are an independent and seasoned traveler seeking luxurious and comfortable accommodation, you will find yourself very happy here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway for my wife and I. Room was big and well appointed. Close enough to walk to everything. Nice local shops. Great restaurant on 1st floor of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed this past weekend in room 303. We love this "virtual hotel" with keyless entry. The room was very big. The furniture was nice. A larger couch/sofa would make it more relaxing. Room 303 overlooks Main Street in downtown Manasquan. It has a large set of windows with ample blinds to block out the rising sun. The one problem is that the large oval window doesn't have a shade. Its private but lets in the 5:30AM sunshine. The other issue would be the mattress. It was shot. I have slept on pull outs more comfortable. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to great restaurants, shopping, train. The beach is a short drive down Main Street. We will be back but will try another room besides 303.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for your review.

Suite 303 is an elegant and spacious suite with cathedral ceilings that provide character. To cut the morning light, we had installed striped silk drapes on the crescent window to add even more charm to the suite. However, the dimming of the topmost oval porthole window has been challenging. If anyone reads this response and knows of a solution, we would be happy to consider. In the meantime, we will be applying Scotchtint in the coming week.

We are checking the mattress following your comment. It is the first such comment for this suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved the hotel - the room (#204) was very large and extremely clean. The location was really nice, too. 15 minutes to Point Pleasant or Silver Lake, and about 10 to the beach. Lots of nice shops to visit on Main Street.

The problem was that every hotel room has hard wood floors, with very little of them covered by area rugs, and we were on the second floor with extremely loud neighbors above us. The woman had no problem walking around the room upstairs in high heels at all hours of the night (and I mean ALL hours). Without a front desk, there was no one to complain to. We stayed there on Friday and Saturday night, and it happened both nights. Even after my husband stood on our bed and banged his fist against the ceiling, nothing changed. She kept right on stomping back and forth across the room.

So, we loved the room, loved the location, but hated the hard wood floors. Maybe if you can choose a room on the top floor so that you wouldn't have this problem, that would be helpful. Otherwise, pray that the woman staying in the room above you likes to wear sneakers.

Room Tip: Top floor (floor #3) if possible, otherwise bring ear plugs or pray for quiet people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for your compliments on the hotel.

We could have saved you your troubles regarding the incessant walking in the room above you had you simply placed a call to our main phone number (which is prominently displayed in printed literature in your room as well as the hallways and elevator). The suite above you has hardwood floors with area rugs. We could have made a "gentle" request to the the occupant (certainly after our 10:30PM Quiet Zone) to walk more "softly." Please avail yourself of our hotline on your return visit.

P.S. If you want complete quiet, as you suggest, book Suites on our 3rd floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Inn on Main in June 2012. I was so pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the Inn as well as the amenities and the central location, close to the beach and the boutiques of Manasquan. I will certainly return in the future and recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on Main for two nights. The managers have obviously thought out the details carefully--the "pin code" entry system (no front desk) works well, the rooms are attractively furnished and spotless, the bed triple-sheeted with excellent quality linens and five pillows--two firm, two soft, and one long rectangle great for reading in bed. The bathroom was stocked with great towels and upscale amenities, and the water pressure was fine. Housekeeping was quiet, efficient, and unobtrusive. So what could be wrong?

The bed in room 202 was absolutely awful. The pillowtop mattress was past its prime and was essentially collapsed in the middle. We took a look at the side of the bare mattress to document the extent of the problem and from the curvature we saw it was immediately obvious that the mattress was shot. I was also surprised to see a tag on the mattress from Cort Furniture Rentals--I'm not sure if the mattress was rented, or purchased used from a Cort liquidation center, but either way, it was, in our opinion, no longer serviceable and not worthy of this hotel.

With even a reasonable mattress, the place would have gotten four or five stars from us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Inn on Main Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We thank this reviewer for the glowing comments on the hotel, except for the bed. Previous reviews have positively commented on our bedding, one as recent as a month ago. I am preplexed that the reviewer prefers to save up his comments for a negative write-up on TripAdvisor, undresses the mattress, checks out the label - all this rather than call us for a firmer bed in a different room, if available. There was no phone call to us in this regard. The word "awful" to describe the bed is unfair.

As the owner, I am particularly picqued by this review. Room 202 started as our model room one-and-half years ago. We opted to rent BRAND NEW Bedroom set and mattress from CORT RENTAL (owned by Warren Buffett) for trial and our guests were impressed and we proceeded to purchase all items. The mattress is by Sealy Vacation Retreat and performs as intended. While the pillow top seams compressed, the mattress is not "shot" as the reviewer describes. I slept in this room last night and found it to be comfortable and soft. Staff has rotated the mattress to ensure even wear. It would be unwise for us to sustain an inferior mattress.

While reviewer rates the hotel high in many areas, I am offended by the reviewer's suggestion that we buy bargain bedding from Cort Rentals which I regard as a great company. The Inn's sister hotel, The Atlantis Inn in Ocean CIty, NJ, recently received that city's only Certificate of Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. I can assure our customers that we practice the same standards in Manasquan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We loved the privacy that comes along with no check in! The rooms were enormous, tastefully decorated, and extremely comfortable. The fireplace was charming, the beds were comfortable, and the number for contacting the management should something go wrong was prominently displayed. Manasquan is a sweet little town with a couple of nice shops and a great diner! I doubt I'll be back there, but if I had to come back I would absolutely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Main Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Main Hotel

Address: 152 Main St., Manasquan, NJ 08736
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manasquan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manasquan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Main Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with modern spacious rooms - all different from each other - balconies, gas fireplaces, pillow-top mattresses, plantation-style ceiling fans. Ideally located near beaches and surrounded by restaurants and quaint village shops. All rooms have private bathrooms, central air-conditioning, refrigerators and ipod players. Design is modern-residential; architecture is Nantucket-Jersey Shingle Style. Inn on Main brings affordable shore luxury to Jersey. 4-minute walk to NYC trains. On the ground floor, is Central Jersey's new leading restaurant, Firefly Bistro, a BYOB establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Main Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Main Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.