We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Committed Pig

The Committed Pig
168 Main Street, Manasquan, NJ 08736
7325289400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Manasquan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Just opened Memorial day 2012. Ate here tonight and it was good.
asbury park, new jersey
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Unique & Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Committed Pig is in the space formerly occupied by "The Broadway" in Manasquan, New Jersey. My husband and I decided to try it on Sunday for breakfast. The space is renovated from the Broadway and has a really cute decor with wooden tables and what looks like a faux tin ceiling. We were warmly greeted by the hostess and seated quickly. My iced tea was served in a mason jar which I love and my husband's coffee came in his own little thermos-blue for regular coffee and a yellow thermos for decaffeinated. He said the coffee was fantastic (he is very picky with coffee!) For breakfast, my husband had the nutella and strawberry French toast which was divine! The bread they used is perfect-thick and flavorful and how can you go wrong with nutella. I had the Croque Madame minus the shaved ham. It was AMAZING and over the top...Fontina, Cheddar and Gruyere griddled/grilled cheese topped with a fried egg and all smothered in Morney Sauce-it was FANTASTIC. It was rich, delicious and JUST the right size-not gigantic and overwhelming and the BREAD was PERFECTION-nothing soggy here. It also came with a beautifully fresh side salad. I asked for the side of bacon to go and our kind waiter remembered and brought it at the end of our meal! Check out the menu at their website. It is terrific! They do breakfast, lunch and dinner. We can't wait to go back and try MORE.....this is NOT the place if you're watching your weight, but it is the place if you're looking for DELICIOUS and unique! I can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taylor Ham & Glazed Donut Burgers?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What's not to love?! Holy smokes I really like this place. The taylor ham sandwich with egg and cheese is so simple yet so tasty. Fries are perfect.

My party also ordered the glazed donut cheeseburger as more of a fun item to try but WOW it was honestly delicious. The meat is super fresh and the donut puts it over the top, I think I will have to order it again. On the day we visited they had sliders of the burger available so I didn't eat more than I should have... lucked out.

Ambiance is very cool. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back this summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a find! You walk in the door and the ambiance is very cool. Then they bring you the menu...there are 10 things I would eat right off the bat. It was lunchtime and I decided on the Brie Burger with fig spread. Holy Cow, literally. Two LaFrieda Meats (the best you can buy, I know because we're in the business) burger patties...not just ground beef, ground skirt steak & ground short rib. Amazing delicious burgers, topped with the brie, it was delicious.
It's a place where you pay for quality. Don't go in here and say "oh, it's so expensive" because they're not serving you the crap you get around the corner, or at most places. It's top quality, and our new favorite spot. Breakfast menu looks outrageous, and dinner looks great as well. So happy to find a new quality go-to joint that's local. I wish them the best of luck and hope they're there for a long time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been here quite a few times. They have the best brunch around! Taylor ham on everything. It is a very eclectic menu and has something for everyone. Their lobster mac and cheese is fabulous!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Could not have had a better experience if i tried. Loved this place so much. Staff was nice and helpful. Would go back anytime i had a day off if i could!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Committed Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Committed Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Committed Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.