We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and doesnt seem very clean/no bar open after wedding” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pricey and doesnt seem very clean/no bar open after wedding”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I paid $178 to stay here on a Friday night for a wedding in the area.
The lobby area seems clean enough and inviting, but the elevators and the hallway on the 5th floor where I stayed seemed dingy and uninviting.

No refrigerator in the room, although there was an empty spot for it. I've never stayed in a Holdiay Inn without a refrig.

The vent for the air conditioner was digusting. One of the dirtiest I've seen.
Our bed was horrible. Definitely needs a new mattress as there was a huge dip in the middle that my husband and I kept falling into.

However, the worst was that we returned from the wedding expecting to hang out in the bar with our friends and family, only to find the bar closed. Supposedly the bartender had an emergency and had to leave. The clerk at the counter dint seem very apologetic and told us to go to Applebees next door, but dont walk down the highway......Really??? One of the reasons you stay at a hotel after a wedding is to go back, put on your comfy clothes and hang out in the bar. Well, this Holiday Inn lost a lot of business that night as we had a lot of people that would have spent a lot of money in the bar.

Very bad customer service on their part.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Chicagokris,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies. The issues you mentioned will be addressed with the appropriate department.
As far as the bar not being open..It is typically open late on Friday and Saturday nights. We are aware of the situation. Unfortunately, there was an unforeseen circumstance. Again, we do apologize. This has never happened before. However, there has been protocol put into place to ensure the bar will be open as normal for our guests, should this ever happen again.
Also, please understand that the front desk will inform guests to take the side entrance of our parking lot to the adjacent parking lot if they are inquiring about shopping or restaurants. Especially if a guest plans on walking. This is to keep them off the highway for safety.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
17
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside the hotel was beautiful. Run to the beach and do not look back. Too much to say about this hotel in one review. Throw up on elevator for 2 days, spots & stains throughout the 4th floor carpets, elevators need a good cleaning. Front desk staff doesn't follow imstructions, pool was dirty, paid to much for this hotel. Staff needs a lesson in hospitality. Since it is the only hotel near LBI they don't seem to care about the guest.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear PeggyGodfrey,
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any issue that you experienced during during your stay. There doesn't appear to be any record of any of the issues you mentioned in your review. Non the less, it will be addressed with the appropriate department heads.
However, it is a bit surprising on your comment in reference to the front desk. Please be assured that our front desk have gotten many compliments about their hospitality skills. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly with further details. Thank you. We hope that you will come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bethany Beach, Delaware before staying in this hotel. The Delaware property was clean, the staff was friendly and the hotel provided a nice in-room refrigerator and a wonderful free continental breakfast. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel !

At the Manahawkin, NJ Holiday Inn, however, we crossed over to the dark and greedy side of hotel travel. We found holes in curtains, the hall carpeting to be stained, dingy and musty smelling, the staff to be indifferent and there was no refrigerator in the room. We called the front desk to inquire about the refrigerator and were told that it could be had, but only for an additional $15.00 per night - this was in addition to the $260.00 room rate ! Hotels that charge hourly rates provide their guests the courtesy of a FREE room refrigerator. Welcome to Jersey Shore hospitality !

Bottom line on this place: I would rather sleep on the beach and bathe in the ocean before booking a room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Susan R,
Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on your previous stay. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience. The issues will be investigated and addressed. However, we do get several complements on the cleanliness of our rooms. Never the less, we take this type of inquiry very serious. We want our guests to relax and enjoy every minute of their stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and speak to a manager. Thank you and we hope that you will stay with us again and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of four stayed here over the holiday weekend. We spent over $800 for three nights and this is what we got: a room with dirty carpets, an air conditioner that squeaked the entire night that kept me up and the bathroom tub with caulking all coming off. I have stayed at nicer hotels paying a $100 a night. I expected a little more for the $267.00 rate. The breakfast that was free was good though. Don't expect much here...at least the beds were clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Fabricio H,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to discuss the more details. Thank you and we hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, let me say I was happy to stay at this hotel which is very close to LBI for only one night. Many other hotels in the area have three night + minimums. Let me warn you- it takes about 20 mins to get to the beach at LBI though. The hotel is in fair condition. The capers are worn and overall he facility needs a bit of sprucing up.

Upon checking I found the staff to be very unpleasant - and downright rude. I booked the hotel through central holiday inn reservations and requested two queen beds with a roll a way bed. The rollaway was supposed to be at no charge. Upon check in, the front desk rudely said they want $15/night for the rollaway. They want $20/ni for a refrigerator. We refused to pay for the upgrades. Had to call holiday inn main number to have the charges waived. They were very petty and opportunistic. Everything was an up charge. The housekeeping staff was very accommodating, though. I don't know if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Harvestgirl15,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for a local wedding. The price was very high vs what we received.
The lobby was clean but the check in process was slow and we were not at a peek time.
The room was OK not great not bad. It was a fine place to sleep for an evening.
We saved a few dollars by booking here instead of on the island but it was still very expensive vs. the comfort we received.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear andrew m,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I am happy to learn you like our room accommodations. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the service you received during check in and hotel rates received. I appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest.

We will look forward to having you back with us the next time that you are in the areas. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently spent 4 nites at the HI Manahawkin. I think it's totally worth it at $150/nite versus LBI hotels are $280/nite. Hotel staff were friendly (Jessie ROCKS), the room was clean, and plenty of places to eat nearby. Element is good, Bagels & Beyond was awesome, and several LBI options just off the bridge were great too; The Arlington, Surf Taco, Pancake House. Can't wait to return to the Shore!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Darryl_Bolduc,
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the area. Your comments will be shared with the staff. Thank you again. hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.