We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very petty hotel - up charges for everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manahawkin
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very petty hotel - up charges for everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, let me say I was happy to stay at this hotel which is very close to LBI for only one night. Many other hotels in the area have three night + minimums. Let me warn you- it takes about 20 mins to get to the beach at LBI though. The hotel is in fair condition. The capers are worn and overall he facility needs a bit of sprucing up.

Upon checking I found the staff to be very unpleasant - and downright rude. I booked the hotel through central holiday inn reservations and requested two queen beds with a roll a way bed. The rollaway was supposed to be at no charge. Upon check in, the front desk rudely said they want $15/night for the rollaway. They want $20/ni for a refrigerator. We refused to pay for the upgrades. Had to call holiday inn main number to have the charges waived. They were very petty and opportunistic. Everything was an up charge. The housekeeping staff was very accommodating, though. I don't know if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
17
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a local wedding. The price was very high vs what we received.
The lobby was clean but the check in process was slow and we were not at a peek time.
The room was OK not great not bad. It was a fine place to sleep for an evening.
We saved a few dollars by booking here instead of on the island but it was still very expensive vs. the comfort we received.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear andrew m,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I am happy to learn you like our room accommodations. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the service you received during check in and hotel rates received. I appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest.

We will look forward to having you back with us the next time that you are in the areas. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent 4 nites at the HI Manahawkin. I think it's totally worth it at $150/nite versus LBI hotels are $280/nite. Hotel staff were friendly (Jessie ROCKS), the room was clean, and plenty of places to eat nearby. Element is good, Bagels & Beyond was awesome, and several LBI options just off the bridge were great too; The Arlington, Surf Taco, Pancake House. Can't wait to return to the Shore!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Darryl_Bolduc,
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the area. Your comments will be shared with the staff. Thank you again. hope to see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice.
The staff and friendly and helpful.
The breakfast servers in the restaurant are the best - funny, efficient and quick.

It is tough to get in and out of the place but it is not impossible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear wlwCoralSprings,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we happy with our hotel and staff.
Your comments will be forwarded to our staff. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this location, as it was listed as Manahawkin/ LONG BEACH Island. But it's not on the island, it's on the highway heading to the island. Don't book this if you're looking for any form of a beach vacation view. Our room looked out over a back roof/ air conditioning units and the Home Deposit, in the shopping center next door. Since the road out front is NO left turns, it doesn't make it easy to to the shopping center or gas stations. The front desk was helpful, on a few minor requests. The in hotel restaurant's service was very poor, even during off times.

Room Tip: East facing rooms MIGHT have a slightly better view, if you're on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear kdkPGH,
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that you didn't have a good view. When you come back to the area and stay with us, please call us and request to have a lake view, which is right across from us. We always try to accommodate guest requests to ensure for a more pleasant stay.
There is also a road behind us that accesses the shopping centers for your convenience instead of having to go back on the highway. The front desk staff can give you directions upon request.
I also apologize that you felt that the restaurant services was poor. This will be bought up to the appropriate department heads.
Thank you and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to attend a memorial service on LBI and needed to stay on a Friday night to avoid the Weekend travel crunch. The hotel was fine all one would need, but the price was very high.
The restaurant in the hotel made up for it. A real NY type deli with the kind of food one might crave when they have been away from the Metropolitan area. Great food at low prices. We could tell it was a good place when we saw how many people were coming in that were not staying at the hotel. The restaurant is Stafford's . The breakfasts were outstanding.

Room Tip: Higher floor was quiet, even though the hotel was packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jacqueline T,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were pleased with our hotel and restaurant. Our prices for the hotel rooms do fluctuate based on time of year and whether its a weekday or weekend. As do most hotels.
We hope that you will choose us again the next time your in town. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location: Not a bad location in LBI, NJ. There are not many "hotel" choices as it is littered with motels.
Atmosphere/Cleanliness - Where do I start. It actually does not look horrible from the outside and the lobby. But as soon as you enter the elevator it starts: Chips and food remnants left in the elevator and guess what - it was there the next day too.
Hallway - Frayed carpet in the hallways, more stains than there is clean rugs, and yup more food remnants for more than a day.
My hotel room ~ Mold build up in the shower, mold build up in the A/C unit, more stains on the rug than there were clean area and "you guessed it" food remnants(old pretzels and chips around the bed area.
Customer Service - When we told the people about all the issues (Jayson, manager, was not in) they said they have to wait for Jayson to get back. We will see how it is addressed. Hoping the customer service will come through. The people were very nice and did not seem like this is the first time they have heard this.
Price: $241 after taxes. Absolutely absurd. I would not stay here again if it were free.
Overview: Remodel the whole building top to bottom or shut it down. It was disgusting.
Do yourself a favor and skip this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Michael M,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for bringing any issues that you encountered during your stay to our attention. We strive to make sure our guests feel comfortable and enjoy our hotel. It saddens us to hear that a guest did not receive complete customer satisfaction while staying with us and is upsetting when something is overlooked due to the busy volume of the hotel.
Please accept our sincere apology. The issues that you mentioned have addressed. As i said to you on the phone when we spoke, our housekeeping staff take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and typically get many compliments on how clean the rooms are.
At the end of our phone conversation, you seemed very happy with the resolution and the customer service that was provided.
Once more, thank you for your feedback. I do hope that you will come back again next time your in town and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.