We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had to attend a memorial service on LBI and needed to stay on a Friday night to avoid the Weekend travel crunch. The hotel was fine all one would need, but the price was very high.
The restaurant in the hotel made up for it. A real NY type deli with the kind of food one might crave when they have been away from the Metropolitan area. Great food at low prices. We could tell it was a good place when we saw how many people were coming in that were not staying at the hotel. The restaurant is Stafford's . The breakfasts were outstanding.

Room Tip: Higher floor was quiet, even though the hotel was packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Jacqueline T,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you were pleased with our hotel and restaurant. Our prices for the hotel rooms do fluctuate based on time of year and whether its a weekday or weekend. As do most hotels.
We hope that you will choose us again the next time your in town. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
17
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Location: Not a bad location in LBI, NJ. There are not many "hotel" choices as it is littered with motels.
Atmosphere/Cleanliness - Where do I start. It actually does not look horrible from the outside and the lobby. But as soon as you enter the elevator it starts: Chips and food remnants left in the elevator and guess what - it was there the next day too.
Hallway - Frayed carpet in the hallways, more stains than there is clean rugs, and yup more food remnants for more than a day.
My hotel room ~ Mold build up in the shower, mold build up in the A/C unit, more stains on the rug than there were clean area and "you guessed it" food remnants(old pretzels and chips around the bed area.
Customer Service - When we told the people about all the issues (Jayson, manager, was not in) they said they have to wait for Jayson to get back. We will see how it is addressed. Hoping the customer service will come through. The people were very nice and did not seem like this is the first time they have heard this.
Price: $241 after taxes. Absolutely absurd. I would not stay here again if it were free.
Overview: Remodel the whole building top to bottom or shut it down. It was disgusting.
Do yourself a favor and skip this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Michael M,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for bringing any issues that you encountered during your stay to our attention. We strive to make sure our guests feel comfortable and enjoy our hotel. It saddens us to hear that a guest did not receive complete customer satisfaction while staying with us and is upsetting when something is overlooked due to the busy volume of the hotel.
Please accept our sincere apology. The issues that you mentioned have addressed. As i said to you on the phone when we spoke, our housekeeping staff take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and typically get many compliments on how clean the rooms are.
At the end of our phone conversation, you seemed very happy with the resolution and the customer service that was provided.
Once more, thank you for your feedback. I do hope that you will come back again next time your in town and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The pool was totally green when we stayed. We could not swim in it. The worst part, was that there was no signage. The rooms are worn, but clean. The location is convenient and the staff was nice. The manager did reach out to us after our stay because the business associate we were visiting sends many out-of-town clients there and when he heard of our experience he called the hotel himself. We have stayed in much nicer Holiday Inns. They need to put a little bit of money back into this place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Wendy G,
Thank you for your feedback. We are aware that there was an issue with the pool a few weeks ago. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience. This is not typical for our property. We can assure you that the pool is up and running perfectly now. I hope that you will visit us again and give a another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. We were happy with the room. Both the room and the shower were large. All was good until we returned from the beach to find that my husband's watch was stolen.

Before leaving for the beach he put his watch in one of the drawers buried underneath his clothes. When he went in to the drawer to get his watch later that day he found that it was gone. We reported this to the front desk who put us in touch with executive housekeeping. We were repeatedly told that we must have misplaced the watch or left it in the car and that it will probably turn up. We have stayed in many other hotel chains and have never had someone go through our clothing in the drawers and take anything. Fortunately this wasn't an expensive watch but was my husband's favorite casual watch. This was our first and will be our last time staying at a Holiday Inn since we can't trust that anything won't be stolen. Perhaps the hotel should consider installing safes so that their guests can protect their valuables.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spartanburg, sc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband, 13 year old stepson and I stayed for 7 nights in June visiting nearby family. We had booked a room with two beds and added a mini-fridge ($15 per night). On arrival they only had a room with a king bed. That room was not very nice. Walk-in shower was dingy, there was a pair of pants hanging in the closet when we got there, wallpaper messed up in places, furniture was old and pretty banged up, and the remote didn't work. They moved us the next day to the correct room type and that room was much nicer in every way. HOWEVER THE SO-CALLED AIR CONDITIONING HARDLY WORKED IN EITHER ROOM. We kept the thermostat constantly set to 65 and it never got cold....barely cool. The restaurant downstairs was very good and very reasonably priced. THEY DO NOT OFFER COFFEE IN THE LOBBY. My husband is a smoker and of course had to go outside the front entrance to smoke. He asked about coffee and was told: "We are NOT a Holiday Inn Express". So I guess they aren't allowed to offer free coffee??? The indoor pool closed extremely early at 8pm (before dark!) which was very inconvenient for our son. He was able to use the pool maybe twice the whole time we were there. We visited family in the day and he wanted to swim when we returned to the hotel but it was usually after 8. Ice machines only on every other floor so you if you weren't on that floor it was quite a trip for ice. Our stay for a week was over $1300 including taxes, not including refrigerator. I felt that was pretty high for a hotel on a highway. No special location, but yet it's the only hotel in Manahawkin. Most of the desk people and restaurant people we dealt with were very nice and helpful, although they were sometimes overwhelmed since they were often working alone and there were 3 wedding parties there during our 7 night stay.

Room Tip: A room on the front will have a better view (parking lot and road vs. rooftop air units). A higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear terri_in_sc,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my deepest apologies for the issues that you encountered while staying with us. We do get a lot of compliments about the cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel itself. . However, I will bring your comments and concerns to upper management/ownership. Thank you again and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently attended my nephew's wedding here...I was very impressed. The room where the
ceremony & reception was beautiful, very classy & tastefully decorated. The service was
excellent at the cocktail hour and the reception as well. The food was delicious and the servers
were very respectful, courteous and quick to fulfill every need. I was very please at the size
of the room, big but intimate and lots of room between the tables and lots of room on the dance
floor! Hotel itself has a clean pool and hottub and the rooms are very comfortable & up to date
and very very clean! Front desk staff very courteous and well informed, would definately
recommend this any event.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence V, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear High School Sweetheart,
We truly appreciate your kind remarks.We always try to share our guests' comments with all of the appropriate staff and it is rewarding indeed to know that we have met your expectations in so many ways. We know that you had to take time from your busy day to post these comments. Please know that it brightens everyone's day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Convenient, clean and comfortable rooms near Barnegat, New Jersey - has a pool, which we didn't have an opportunity to use. The restaurant on the premises was very good and reasonably priced. We stay there frequently, when visiting the area for business.

Room Tip: choose room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramhotel151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Shubman,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also glad that our hotel is your choice while staying in the area. Thank you for your loyalty.
I'm sorry that you didn't get a chance to use our pool. Perhaps on your next visit you will be able to relax by the pool or in our Jacuzzi. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.