We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Par!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
East Setauket, New York
1 review
“Not Up to Par!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The shower was surrounded by mildew around the edges. The bathroom had some sort of writing on it about "Ducts." No complimentary hot coffee like other Holiday Inns I have stayed at in other states. I was not impressed. My husband actually got stuck in the elevator and had to pry the doors open. Carpeting stained, ceiling tiles have mildew in certain areas. Need I say more. The room cost a total of $267.00 for one night. Your company needs to make some changes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jan F,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness, bathroom and carpet condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
17
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A friend and I just spent one night at this hotel....typical chain. The room was okay and clean although the dust ruffle on one of the beds could stand a washing. The beds were comfortable with two choices of pillows... soft or firm. The lobby is clean and inviting and the clerk at the desk was friendly and helpful. The hotel hallways are worn. We were given plenty of towels and toiletries. This hotel was convenient to where we were meeting friends. I would stay there again. I have stayed in worse but I have also stayed in much better. The room rate was acceptable for what you got. We found the restaurant and grille attached to the hotel to be very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear ASF48,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the one and only "chain" hotel in the area, which is how I prefer to stay for business. I was surprised at thoughtful hospitality of the hotel staff - which probably the best quality about this hotel. The location was just exactly where I needed to be. But the rest went rapidly downhill from this point. I'll be honest - the rooms are kind of awful: worn/fraying carpet in the elevators, inconsistent temperatures throughout the hotel, no refrigerators, no tub, broken shower chain, paint (or some chemical) bleeding through the wallpaper, a wall thermostat that didn't work, and a broken latch on the control by the window. Will I be staying here again? Most likely not, unfortunately. It will be worth it to make the drive from some other chain that values customer comfort a little better than this one does.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear MelBeSe S,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel before. It was clean and well maintained and offered a great location just minutes from LBI and all kinds of shopping, movies and restaurants. I was very disappointed in my stay this time!!!! The hotel has some kind of a "motion sensor" set up on the air conditioning systems, which even at their peak capacity, are inferior. The fan barely runs on a low speed, and set to the lowest setting the room never got cool, EVER!!! The Front Desk staff looked for other available rooms and admitted that the few they had available had the same issue. The ice machines weren't working and we didn't have even the minimal supplies, such as coffee or sugar/creamers when we arrived. We didn't have enough towels and those that were there were rough and small. Elevators were horribly hot with no fan or cooling that we could ascertain. Upon looking to enjoy a dip in the pool we found no towels, no one to ask and overwhelmingly hot pool that wreaked of chlorine smell. We will be finding another place to stay next time we visit LBI. That's for sure!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger but only available with a King Bed, not with doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear angelgloria02,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the great location of our hotel in the area. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced with your in-room Air-Conditioner. We also apologize our elevator and pool facility fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine. Doesn't offer any benefits for Platinum Priority members.
Front desk clerk was very nice, room OK.
Plenty of parking, and group breakfast was decent.
If I was going for a vacation, it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear lexiepuppy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Manahawkin.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed for one night. While the hotel room was surprisingly updated and very clean, we found that it was muggy and had an odd smell as we walked in. We thought the air conditioner was not working although it was showing it was 65 degrees in the room. We called down to the front desk who sent a maintenance worker. He told us the air was blowing cold and when we expressed our concern that we had been there for about 2 hours and it was no cooler and still muggy, he shrugged off our concerns by saying it was muggy outside and it was muggy in his office too. He then walked out of the room without another word. Also, it seems there is one luggage cart for the entire hotel, which I find to be odd. The restaurant is outdated and the food was just so-so. The walls must be thin, as we could hear a lot of doors slamming throughout the night and if you are in a room with a connecting door you will hear the guests next door (as we did). Although updated, it is definitely overpriced for a Holiday Inn, as we did not even stay during the peak summer season and still paid over $150, and that was with a "discount" for a group wedding rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear luvthebeach914,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel quite a few times since Oct. 29, 2012.
As some readers may know, this is after hurricane "Sandy" destruction down the shore in NJ.

The reception people were very cordial and accommodating to me in my time of personal
difficulty. You understand I was one of the thousands of people whose secondary vacation
home was devastated in Beach Haven West, Stafford Township, NJ.

The room was very clean, the service cordial and the personnel there showed a lot of
empathy. I would definitely recommend this hotel in good and not so good personal times.

Yes, I have stayed at this Holiday Inn a number of times and not once was I disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.