We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Typical Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I normally do not frequent holiday inns as they are usually out dated older properties. I was relatively surprised to find that this is a newer hotel. And the lobby is attractive. But my surprise ends there. The room was relatively clean except for the carpets, the lighter color definitely does not help mask any dirt. The bed was obviously sagging in the middle whether it was just old or cheap I do not know. And the beds had the tiniest pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. The doors have gaps under them big enough for a small animal to pass; including every noise from the hall. As well as the toilet ran all night long making the most annoying noise. The rooms definitely smell musty. And there was a variable crowd of men smoking right out front that never seemed to go away. Lovely air to breathe for all the non-smoking guests.

All in all I will give it an avg rating because it was semi clean, but I will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramhotels151, Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback for our hotel. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We take feedback very seriously to help improve our service and our hotel.
I will be bringing your concerns to the attention of upper management.
I really hope you decide to visit us again as we strive to give our guests a great experience at our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
19
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were thrilled to find this hotel after a long afternoon at the nearby Barnegat Light State Park. The lady at the front desk was courteous and efficient. Our room was tasteful, clean and comfortable. Internet is important and the wired serice in the room was excellent. After a long day it was wonderful, to just walk down to the hotel restaurant and not have to go out since there is no microwave or refrigerator in the room. The menu offered a nice variety. The prices were reasonable and the food was very good. We appreciated not having the boring complementary breakfast that is served at so many motels. The restaurant opened early...6AM. The selections were varied and the food and service were good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room was fairly clean (a little permanent mildew in the shower grout) and free wifi was very fast. The hotel as a whole seems to be well-maintained. The king size bed was definitely on the firm-side, but perfectly sleepable. I really only have two complaints: 1) The pillows on the bed are extremely small and uncomfortable. I would recommend bringing your own pillow if you are traveling by car! 2) While the property is in theory entirely non-smoking, various inconsiderate guests still clearly smoke in their rooms. Unfortunately the hotel cleaning staff deals with this by leaving the doors to those rooms wide open to air out, causing the entire hallway to reek of cigarette smoke - which then also comes in through the large gaps beneath all of the room doors, resulting in one's room also smelling of smoke. I very much appreciate the attempt to make the property non-smoking, but venting smokey rooms to public areas defeats the purpose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Dave B,

Many thanks for your feedback of our hotel. I am happy to know that you found our location convenient for your needs. I am sorry about the discomfort brought by the room accommodations received. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously.

Despite your disappointment, we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We found the front desk to be courteous and professional. Our room requests were honored. Traveling as a family, we even managed to secure two interconnecting rooms.
The rooms were average sized and clean. Closet space was more than adequate. The beds were very comfortable. The coffee maker worked great but the room lacked a mini frig. The hotel banquet area is remotely located which added to the quietness of the rooms.
I did encounter a small barking dog in corridor which was quickly retrieved by its owner. The color scheme of the corridor hallway walls was somewhat dingy.
The onsite restaurant provided tasty food and is open early for breakfast. Joining the complimentary Holiday Inn rewards program provided us with two free drink passes at the bar portion of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Join the complimentary rewards program to enjoy some room perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohegan lake ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hey, For A Holiday Inn Not Bad. Did Not Like The Fact You Cant Open The Window, But Everything Else Was Cool. Staff Professional, Very Clean, Great Price..... Only Little Negative, The Elevators Were Ice Boxes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

After being evacuated from LBI, we made our way to the Holiday Inn. The front desk warmly welcomed us, very friendly and courteous throughout. Our guest room must have been recently refurbished. It was a very comfortable, with a king sized bed. Room service was even offered to the guests. The housekeeping staff was top notch. These were unusual times. Guests brought many additional items to their rooms than normal. Many had left home not knowing if their house would survive the hurricane.

We are thankful to the ownership and management for providing a warm and comfortable place. We congratulate you for doing such a great job.

Room Tip: The rooms looking north offer a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel 3 times now. Its convenient when we visit family. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are OK. The hotel is only a few years old but my main gripe is that the windows don't open in the hotel rooms and since they have thick carpet and heating, the rooms get very musty as some other reviewers mentioned. I suffer badly with dustmite allegies so this is a major problem for me. I did not sleep hardly at all this last time and woke up with a major headache. Again, this is probably just me being sensitive with my allergies but oh how different it would be if you could sleep with the windows open or at least let in some fresh air into the room. The hotel rooms and hallways could also do with being updated and repainted simply because they are a dreary yellow/pale green combo. Just my opinion but they could be a bit more cheerful with the colors. The front desk staff are really nice though. The adjoining restaurant is very convenient and the food is pretty good but oh so slow. Waited over an hour on Saturday night for dinner. We ate there 3 times and If they have more than 5 tables they seem in the weeds which is a shame. The selling point to this hotel is the location being so close the LBI and its consistent with the other Holiday Inns weve stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island

Address: 151 Rt 72 E, Manahawkin, NJ 08050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Manahawkin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manahawkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the attractions of Long Beach Island with the amenities of a full service hotel!The Holiday Inn Manahawkin/Long Beach Island is located at the heart of the Jersey Shore.Our new hotel features 110 comfortable guestrooms six spacious suites, a delicious signature restaurant and a cozy lounge In addition to our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center, we also offer wireless internet throughout the property. Our hotel is located minutes from Barnegat Light House State Park, Surflight Theatre, Tuckerton Seaport, and Jersey Shore beaches . We are also a short ride to fabulous Atlantic City The hotel also serves as the premiere conference center for Long Beach Island with up to10,000 sq ft of banquet and meeting space Our elegant Grand Ballroom caters any affair with style, from a focused business meetingof 50 to an opulent wedding for 500. Shuttle Service is available to accommodate groups for weddings, reunions, and corporate events. Whether you are traveling to Long Beach Island for business, a family vacation or a romantic weekend escape, our hotel and friendly staff cannot wait to welcome you home to the Jersey Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island Hotel Manahawkin
Manahawkin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.