We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sorelle - CLOSED

Le Sorelle
291 Rt 72 East, Day Plaza, Manahawkin, NJ
609-597-0220
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Though it appears very small from the outside, it has two very inviting dining rooms, the main room with a small grand piano, beautiful furniture and decor. The range of menu items is extensive, though very reasonably priced, especially considering it includes a replenishable bread basket, delicious salad. The food, I had the Seafood Cannelloni, others had Veal Marsala, Fettucine Alfredo, Seared Scallops with Coscou/Risotto. Everything was absolutely delicious and servings very generous. Staff was excellent. 'Le Sorelle' means 3 Sisters and is actually run by one of the 14 granddaughters in the family. This restaurant is easily handicapped accessible (as was one of our group in a wheelchair) and the staff is more than accomodating. Don't let the fact that his restaurant is at the end of a little strip mall discourage you, it is an excellent choice for dinner. Also, it is a BYOB
Long Valley, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My experience at Sorelle (no Le) was very good from a food standpoint. The service was mediocre and the hostess did not smile at all. We did have a reservation for 4 people and were promptly seated (5:15 pm) although we would have preferred a table in the main dining room which was almost empty at that time. We sat in the side room by ourselves until a party of 11 came in and sat at the table next to us.
The food was very good...the sauce was delicious. The portions were a good size for early bird specials and they even offered dessert on a small scale than the regular menu. The waitress was friendly enough and after we asked her of the history of the restaurant she was even friendlier. There is a picture in the main dining room of the original family and she told us about that. Very interesting.
We will definitely return based on our experience not on the other reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harvey Cedars, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Your Sisters' Restaurant Anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First, Trip Advisor needs to update this restaurant's name. It is no longer Le Sorelle, but simply Sorelle. We had a birthday dinner for 3 couples at Sorelle on a recent Friday night. We had a great table in the corner of the dining area. Although our seating was great, maneuvering to the restroom was not easy as tables were tight and the floor crowed. On scanning their place-setting one of us requested a replacement fork because the one they had was dirty. Later during the meal we had to request another water glass, and several appetizer plates – again, all were somewhat dirty. At this point we notified the owner / manager regarding the dirty plates/utensils. We asked for 3 appetizers, meatballs, steamed clams and the deep fried mozzarella. All were great. We then ordered a variety of entrees, lamb chops, veal parmagiana, veal sorrentino, veal saltimbocca and pasta with scallops. The veal saltimbocca came with eggplant (?) and without prosciutto. The pasta dish was originally scallops over linguini with either a Fra Diavolo or Marinara sauce. I asked if they could substitute a vodka sauce, which they accommodated. The entrees were good, the veal was tender and tasty, the lamb cooked to order and again tasty. The scallops were fresh, sweet and not overcooked, which is always a plus. However, the vodka sauce was more a typical plain tomato sauce. In my experience vodka sauce is a blend of heavy cream and tomato sauce with added red-pepper infused vodka for a kick. There was no evidence of heavy cream or the red-pepper infused vodka. This was a birthday dinner and one of our diners provided dessert including a cake, Italian pastries and cookies. They had asked the staff to hold the dessert and bring them to the table following dinner. The desserts came to the table on time, however one of the boxes was missing. The explanation was that water had spilled on it in the refrigerator during storage and consequently all the cookies and pastries were dumped into one box. Besides the dirty silverware and plates described above, only some of the plates from dinner were removed, e.g., ramekins party filled with mashed potatoes plus other assorted dinner plates were still on the table when we left. In the group’s opinion, service was spotty. Additionally, since we were now sensitized regarding general hygiene, one of us noted that the rug in the dining area could have used a good cleaning.

All in all, the food was good. Service needs work and management needs to ensure basic cleanliness. By the way, the owner / manager never came to our table to ask how our overall dining experience had been, but did go to another table of what appeared to be friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the third time I ate at Le Sorelle and the food was good every time. Each time I went it was with a different group of people and they all loved it. I saw the reviews about the unfriendly staff but I thought that our waitress was friendly. It's BYOB.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had patronized Le Sorelle several times in the past and were very pleased , especially with the Early Bird special. After one or two disappointing meals, we stopped going. We decided to give it a try again this evening with another couple.
We were, unfortunately, met with a less-than-enthusiastactic hostess whom I believe to be the owner, and I have some advice for her.
1. When patrons enter your restaurant, try greeting them with a smile and act like you're happy they chose your establishment. Never act like you're annoyed they're there.
2. When you're showing diners to their tables and they're having trouble accessing the table because the chairs are too close, don't admonish them for shifting the table slightly so they can sit down.
3. Be sure to tell your assigned server that she has diners waiting so she can welcome them and get things rolling in a timely manner.
4. When your patrons are leaving, acknowledge their existence and thank them for coming. It would be a nice touch to wish them a good evening.

That said, two of us felt our entrees (broiled tilapia/manicotti) were okay. One thought his was good (veal picata), and one loved his entree (veal angelica).
I don't think we'll be returning to Le Sorelle anytime soon, at least not until the feeling of being unwelcome wears off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over Rated and a Rude Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Owner is extremely rude and her and most of her staff that mostly consists of family members should take some classes in customer service. My two experiences were ok at best and the first one was better then the second. Niether experience though is why Im calling the owner rude. My mother in law walked in the other night to eat dinner with her husband and was turned away by the owner who said she needed a reservation. So my mother in law decides shes going to go back in and get a to go menu. As shes inside two other women walk in without reservations and the owner tells them she can squeez them in.

How is it that my mother in law is told she needs a reservation, but not even 5 min later two women without reservations are seated.

This owner thinks her restaurant is so great, but probably doesnt have a clue as to what a great restaurant is, and for sure has absolutely no clue what customer service is. Maybe she should go to some great restaurants and get a clue. Like Amada at the Revel or Nicholas in Red Bank those are great restaurants not yours. Yours is avg at best.

So if you want to eat avg Italian food, and deal with a nasty cow then go to Le Sorelle. I know nobody Im friends with or related to will ever go there again.

Ralph C

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sorelle also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sorelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.