We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay near Woodbury common outlet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mahwah Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 International Boulevard, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay near Woodbury common outlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean and nice.
20 min drive to Woodbury outlet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. The Woodbury Common's is so convenient to our hotel that it makes it almost impossible not to take a drive for a little retail therapy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    92
    40
    18
    23
See reviews for
51
52
11
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway! The grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The interior and our room was extremely clean and updated. Our room was nice but the bed was very squishy and unsupportive. We ended up waking up with back aches and had trouble sleeping. I read this same complaint in another review but stayed there anyway! It's very unfortunate but we should have listened to the other review! We loved the place but wont go back unless they get new mattresses for all the rooms. Upon check out we informed the staff. They told us that people complain about the beds alot! Sheraton Needs to do something. Also the website says that they have a "Atrium Cafe" This does not exist anymore. The only place to eat is the restaurant and it is very expensive.

Room Tip: Away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Sheraton in Mahwah, NJ is a very nice hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The only thing is the hotel needs a bit of maintainance. There were a couple of spots on our ceiling that were touched up, but they should have just repainted the whole ceiling. They need to replace/repair the underside of the driveway cover. It looks like someone didnt realize how tall their vehicle was. There are several places in the lobby that need to be repaired. It rained hard a couple of days we were there and the ceiling of the lobby was leaking and they had to put out buckets for the water. Overall the hotel is very nice and we will stay there again. It just needs a bit of touch up work.

Room Tip: We had a king suite and that was a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Rich K,

Thank you for your review. We are aware of the issues you mentioned and have both an outside team and our internal Engineering Team working diligently to correct them. Hopefully, the next time you visit, you'll see these items fixed. Thank you for your business and enjoy your summer travels.
Christine-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Solid Sheraton hotel, restaurant had excellent crabcakes full crab meat! Breakfast was fine, standard fare. Staff were good except not that many staffing the front desk and a line forms at times. For this area, definitely the best hotel.

As somene else noted, there is no clear entrance to the hotel from Route 17 or the interstate and at night the small directional signs are not lit making them easy to miss. Some say Sheraton with an arrow and some say hotel with an arrow. They are low and easy to miss at night, but you will get there eventually.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear RS88,

Those crabcakes are good!!! Thank you for your compliments and we are working diligently on fixing those small signs on the surrounding Highways. They can be difficult to see at times. Thank you for your business and enjoy your summer!
Christine-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We loved this hotel. Stayed there for one night before my race in Tuxedo, NY. Its located in the mountain regions between NJ and NY in Mahwah. There is nothing within walking distance except the SHARP Industries factory but the hotel looks like it should be in Las Vegas. They have a nice restaurant located on the lobby level. Great crabcakes. The hotel stands out from the highway because its huge. There should never be an issue finding a parking space because that is all that surrounds the hotel. They have a beautiful fountain in front of the site. Its used for corporate events, weddings, and proms.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are nosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton for one night since we were attending a wedding in the hotel. Upon arrival the front desk was friendly and helpful. Went up to our room and it was very clean and comfortable. We went to the wedding and everything was setup beautifully. At the reception, the servers were friendly and very attentive. The next morning, there was a buffet breakfast and everything was good, they even had an omelet station. Later, we checked out and it was fast and painless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear AmoTraveler,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us! We hope you come back and visit soon.
Christine C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

It was not a spectacular place to stay at as far as housekeeping and front desk. The front desk staff was not extremely friendly. We had to call housekeeping a few times to get them to take care of their room. It is a very business oriented hotel and a great venue for conferences and parties. It is very aesthetically pleasing inside and outside. The food is average as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim_smock, Manager at Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear N M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as a recent guest. I apologize you feel the front desk and Housekeeping departments weren't particuliarly helpful. We appreciate your business and hope you'll give us a chance to prove the service you received was not customary. All the best!
Christine-Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mahwah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mahwah Hotel

Address: 1 International Boulevard, Route 17 North, Mahwah, NJ 07495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mahwah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mahwah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mahwah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Mahwah Hotel is located 40 minutes outside New York City and convenient to Newark Liberty International Airport. We overlook the majestic Ramapo Mountains with easy access from Route 17, 287 and the NY State Thruway. We offer 100 acres of landscaped grounds, free covered parking with temperature controlled skywalk, free basic high speed internet and indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Mahwah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mahwah
Mahwah Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mahwah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.