We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great and they totally worked with ALL my food issues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Herbie's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Poor Herbie's
13 Waverly Pl, Madison, NJ 07940-1820
973-822-2328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was great and they totally worked with ALL my food issues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

My co-worker and I showed up here based on a recommendation by a CSA at the airport. I gave the CSA the spiel about having food issues/sensitivities/intolerances and she thought (being a regular herself), that Herbie's could work with me. Let me just say that my "diet" is a complete pain even when I cook at home. Herbie's was able to dumb down every portion of my meal, leave everything food clean and unseasoned, and even managed to provide me with a full 3-coarse meal. That NEVER happens! I had a steak with simply-sautéed onions, a baked sweet potato and steamed broccoli. I brought my own avocado, olive oil, and lime wedges just because. (Strange, but when I never know if I'm going to eat.... The staff thought it was funny.) Anyway, the co-worker's food looked wonderful and mine hit the spot. I'd give the food 4 stars but the staff and restaurant definitely get 5 stars for going above and beyond.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great for burgers, wings, draft beer and more-very friendly bar with lots of locals hanging out all the time.
The service is fast and friendly everyone there is so nice it makes it special. Lots of interesting things to see behind the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Jersey Gin Mill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I didn't have any food here as I just stopped in for a short business meeting and a beer, but if you want a genuine Jersey gin mill of old, I would guess this is your place. A simple bar with all the locals nursing their Buds and a bar maid who knows all their names.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pub Restaurant Well Worth Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I enjoy eating at Poor Herbie's because of the variety of items on the menu including the blackboard specials. The service is excellent; I was asked several times if I would like more coffee, if my meal was fine, would I like anything else, etc. The waiter knew many of the customers and there was a very relaxed atmosphere at lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“its a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice atmosphere and local laid back crowd. The bar is small. I had the duck for dinner and was surprised that it was actually good, it was moist and not dry. My wife had the broiled fish both the fish, the mash and the grilled veggies were very good. It can get crowded on weekends at peak hrs.

Its not fine dining. Its fun and its fine

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Herbie's also viewed

Madison, Morris County
Madison, Morris County
 
Madison, Morris County
 

Been to Poor Herbie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Herbie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.