We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands to your Saves list
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Polito Avenue, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel had nice rooms, great breakfast buffet, and very helpful staff. My family stayed here while we visited NYC. I would stay here again. The front desk staff were always willing to help, with anything that came up during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
John A,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Lyndhurst on your family visit to NYC. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, along with our helpful staff and the variety of amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back for more family fun in the future. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    96
    32
    11
    11
See reviews for
61
54
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel was a good stay. My girlfriend and I booked this room last minute. It's a little odd parking in the desk and coming in through the 2nd floor but it works and was safe. The staff was very kind and the rooms are good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Ian M,
Thank you for your review of Courtyard Lyndhurst. We appreciate your positive reflections about our friendly service and nice accommodations. We're happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The check in front desk was pleasant enough but deteriorated subsequently. Their replies were curt especially on our last day and I think their PR skills need touching up. I rang the front desk for enquirers and she just hung up on me after a few curt words!
Fortunately it was only a few bad apples among the many friendly ones.
The rooms were OK and wash basin was cracked!
The plus point as mentioned by all contributors were the convenience to travel to NYC.
Bed was very comfortable.
It's really an average stay for three nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
scy298298,
Thank you for writing. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially in identifying areas we can improve our guest experience. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive consistent, friendly service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our team so we can do a better job of providing the exceptional service our guests have come to expect and deserve. We value your business and hope to exceed your expectations on a future stay. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel accommodated our 3 tour busses filled with high school choir students and chaperones. They provided changing rooms when needed, a great breakfast room and just a lot of happy smiles making us feel great! If they can handle this they can handle anything!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
bobbi_damrow,
We appreciate the opportunity to serve hotel needs for your tour bus group and thank you for writing a review about your experience. Our team makes sincere hospitality their priority, and we're pleased to know their excellence in service made for a great stay. We hope you'll have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice, clean hotel. Bus stop to NYC literally in front of the hotel, plenty of buses (every 1/2 hour or so), and the $8.50 for the return trip seems reasonable. Just the Lincoln Tunnel would cost you $13 to get across! Friday evening bus trip into Manhattan took 40 minutes, but that was in full rush hour. Slightly off-hours trips were 15-20 minutes.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean and bathroom spacious. Beds are the typical Marriott quality, very comfy, though sadly without the duvet / pillow selection offered in the Renaissance properties. Breakfast was the typical North American breakfast buffet, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, donuts......

This is a Courtyard, so don't expect Renaissance level amenities! Windows don't open, so you need to have the A/C on all night, which is akin to having a bus idle in your bedroom, not pleasant. Unfortunately one of the 2 elevators was out of service, so getting up and down was a bit of a pain, especially since stairs are at either end of the building, and not easily accessible (one set terminates right inside one of their conference rooms).

Overall still a great stay, free parking and all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back (odd numbers) get idling trucks from the back parking lot, while rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Karl G,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback as it assists in our mission to continuously improve our hotel and offerings. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness and convenience you experienced at our hotel in addition to the areas of opportunity. We're glad you enjoyed a great stay overall and do hope to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I know another person had about the same review title as this, but it does sum up the property very well. The bus stop was right on the corner of the hotel so we didn't even have to cross the road to get to the bus stop, which was great with 2 young kids. There is a Subway restaurant next to the hotel, and several places deliver to the hotel if you don't want to go out for dinner. When we were there (mid-week) only one of the two hotel visitor elevators were working, so sometimes we did have to wait for it. Also, I had requested a 6th floor room based on another user's review as they said those rooms had great views of NY city. When I checked in, I was told that the only rooms that face NY city are those with one King bed only and we needed 2 queen beds. So, although we were on the 6th floor, we had a view of the parking garage instead.

Our kids enjoyed the pool, which is large and very warm. But the rest of the hotel, including the rooms, need a little bit of improvement. Nothing major, but the rooms just looked a little worn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
lkrebs25,
We appreciate receiving your feedback and apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. We're glad our great location made for a convenient stay and your kids enjoyed our pool area. I assure you that our highest priority is delivering the quality product that our guests have come to expect. We value you as our guest and we hope you'll visit us again for more family fun. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our recent two night stay while my son was participating in a nearby Sporting event was not the most comfortable stay we've had in a Courtyard by Marriot hotel. The pull out sofa bed was the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE bed I've ever slept on. Springs were sticking out into my back every move I made... the mattress was about 3 inches thick and so unsupportive. I was not happy with sleeping here for 2 nights at all. The heater/fan in the room cycled loudly and didn't keep a constant temperature. We all went from being cold, to being hot in waves, every 20 minutes or so. The hallway outside our room had an indescribable stench. I can't put my finger on exactly what it was. It smelled like a putrid smoke...and made you feel sick to your stomach as you walked down the long hallway to the elevator. Inside, there was a "booger" on the ceiling near the front door, and one stuck inside the door stopper next to the toilet. Absolutely disgusting. The bathroom counter looked like it could have been cleaned better as well. Clearly not a lot of attention to detail in this hotel. The only great things I can say about this hotel were that it was convenient as far as location -- and the room was spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
lupobunch,
Thank you for your feedback and honest assessment. We sincerely regret the discomfort and inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. Please be assured that you comments have been shared with our team and appropriate steps will be made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness.

It's great to know our location added convenience to your travels and we hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide a more rewarding stay in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Bret Esbrandt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Address: 1 Polito Avenue, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Lyndhurst/Meadowlands hotel offers stylish guest rooms with Marriott's luxury bedding, 32" LCD flat screen TV's, mini-fridge and FREE High Speed Internet. Begin your day with a reasonably priced, hot breakfast buffet and return for a delicious dinner at Reeds Restaurant. Unwind in our lounge, indoor pool or in the on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel is perfectly located close to exciting Meadowlands attractions such as the IZOD Center, Giants Stadium, Teterboro Airport (TEB), Meadowlands Racetrack, Medieval Times and just minutes to the Prudential Center in Newark. This Meadowlands hotel is also just six miles to the Lincoln Tunnel and New York City. For business or social events, our meeting rooms are ideal for your group accommodating up to 100 people. After experiencing our first class customer service, you will feel you have made the best choice at the Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel, one of the finest among Meadowlands hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands Hotel Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.