We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a cheap trip to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands to your Saves list
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Polito Avenue, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cheap trip to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding at a nearby location. I found the staff very helpful, breakfast was amazing, choice of continental or cooked. Excellent internet service and very useful bus which runs right outside the hotel into Port Authority in NYC in 20 minutes. There is a diner across the road which is also very good value, if you didn't want to eat in the hotel. We had a kingsize room, which was lovely and despite it facing the hotel, it was reasonably quiet - despite the very busy road outside. All in all a good little find.

The pool and patio area were a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Hi Vickie and Rich,

Thanks very much for your review. We’re glad you had a great stay and hope you had a fun time at the wedding!

Best,

Michelle Giovanni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    90
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
51
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were visiting NYC. This is the perfect location, not in the city so not nearly as expensive. Yet we were 10 minutes from the Secaucus Junction which drops you off right at Penn Station. Very convenient for us. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean etc. We stayed away from the "breakfast" downstairs because it appeared to be 1 step up from a regular continental breakfast yet it was $10 per person. We opted to go out on 17 and eat at the Meadowlands Diner - THIS is a MUST if you are a Diner fan or just a good Northern food fan! The food was amazing and had an extensive breakfast and lunch/dinner menu. Worth every penny!

Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thanks for the review LLTG, so glad you had a great stay! We’re sorry you didn’t try our full service buffet for breakfast, but do agree the Diner is a great spot to grab a bite.

Take care,

Michelle Giovanni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Situated right next to the bus stop - it's the first stop after leaving the city, which is ideal when you're exhausted after a full day of sightseeing. It took us about 20 minutes to get in and out. This hotel isn't exactly wonderful, but it's a wonderful option if you just want a clean, comfortable place to stay outside of the city. You cannot beat the convenience. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thanks very much for your review restless, so glad you were able to enjoy the convenience of our location, hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,

Michelle Giovanni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Very cute, very clean. Excellent service, the employees were nice. Plus, it's only 10-15 minutes from Port Authority... We've always had hotels in Times Square before and realized that once you know how to travel from Times Square to the hotel... Well, let's just say that Times Square's hotels are just expensive and not really worth their price.

My only complaint: The breakfast included in our package was very poor on the first morning... So we decided to buy their buffet on the next morning and it was great!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear douceophelie,

Thanks for taking the time to share your great comments – glad you enjoyed your stay!

Best,

Michelle Giovanni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My family and I were going to see a show in NY, in December 2010, and needed a decent, reasonably priced hotel to stay in for 2 nights. I'm so glad that I chose this Courtyard. It was in a suitable location not too far from NYC, it was clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were standard Courtyard size with 2 double beds. There is a restaurant with a breakfast buffet, however, we chose to go elsewhere for our meals. I was trying to use their "business center", which consisted of one very, very slow computer, to check in/print out our boarding passes for our flights and the computer would not work properly. When I told ther person at the front desk, he was very helpful in trying to diagnose the computer problem. When he couldn't get it to work, he suggested that I come back a bit later after he talked with someone who was more savvy with computers. I came back an hour later and they still couldn't get the computer to work so they offered to let me use their computer at the front desk. The next morning, due to weather conditions, our flight got cancelled and the airline gave us the option to select another flight. The lady at the front desk was very kind in letting me use their computer once again because the other computer still would not work properly. I thought that was very nice of them even though they really should have another computer in the "business center". Check in/out process was very easy. There is a parking garage in the back of the hotel with a covered crosswalk to the hotel. During our stay, the hotel was not very busy so parking was easy. The only problem with the crosswalk is that it comes into the hotel on the 2nd floor (if I remember correctly) and some people can be very noisy. We were on the 6th floor and we didn't encounter any noise issues at all. We flew into LaGuardia (in NYC) and getting to the hotel was easy once we got out of the city. Getting back into the city was also simple. Make sure to leave in plenty of time though because of the city traffic issues. On our one trip out of the city, it took us more than an hour to get back to the hotel because of traffic, specifically, at the tunnel.

There is a restaurant directly across the street from the hotel and we ate there on the night that we arrived. The prices are a bit high but the amount of food is more than generous. (They make their portions for sharing.) They had the biggest cakes I have ever seen for a restaurant (see picture). There is also a nice restaurant not too far away called the Lyndhurst Diner. Portions and price are good and the food was really good too.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. Staff was great, rooms were clean, beds were comfy and the price was right. Not back for an extended weekend stay to enjoy both New Jersey and New York City.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your review beelacat! We’re so glad you and your family chose our hotel to spend your at and enjoyed the experience. I regret the situation with the computer in the business center, please accept my apologies. You’re definitely right about the food at Harold’s New York Deli and at the Diner, they’re a couple of our favorites! Come back and see us soon.

Best,

Michelle Giovanni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Everything was fantastic...the only aspect that really deserves bad service is Internet and the engineer response.

I get better dial-up speeds back home in India than the so called 'High Speed Internet" at this property, I agree it was intermitent but painful enough to hinder with my work.

The engineer couldnt do anyting about the slow speed and looks like I am not the only one who has experiences this..a few other reviews in the past also talk about bad internet connectivity.

It is surprising Marriot hasnt fixed this in 6 months....my past experience with Marriot is very unlike this. The hotel during my last stay actually replaced the Kitchen utensils to non-stick based on feedback within a week.

Internet connectivity is a must for Business travelers...either improve the current service or provide a paid option with gauranteed speeds.

I am writing this review while I am still at the property....hoping someone will pick this up in the next 2 weeks and address it. I am in no mood to change the hotel simply because there isnt anything else better than Marriot which is closer to where I will be working.

Thanks
Anand Agarwal

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I was traveling for business and my husband came along too. We wanted to stay at the Renaissance Meadowlands Marriott across from this hotel in Rutherford, but that hotel did not have availability because of the big NY Giants game that weekend. When I was in NJ last on business, I had such a great experience at the Renaissance Marriott and expected the Courtyard to be different, but I did not expect a totally opposite experience. First, we arrived at the Courtyard at the very early end of the check-in period and were given a room at the end of the hallway that looked out onto a very unattractive site. I went back down and asked if we can have a room that had a better view and they were very accommodating. So far, I was having an okay experience. Well, when we arrived to our room; I noticed that the room did not have a clean and fresh feeling. Anyway, we unpacked a little, had dinner in the restaurant downstairs. The customer service in the restaurant was poor. There appeared to be some sort of "drama" going on and the waiter was busier chatting about the drama than waiting on us. We had to wait and wait for our salads, beverages, etc. I had to call him over from his conversation he was having with another hotel employee. We left dinner feeling terribly disappointed. We went back to the room and off to sleep we went. I got up around 3am to visit the restroom. When I went to the sink to wash my hands, there was bowel movement filled up to the top of the sink. I did not just do that....where did it come from? GROSS, GROSS, GROSS!!!! For a minute, I thought I was having a horrible dream; I began to yell and woke up my husband. We called the front desk and the said that we can move into a new room. I realized that I could not sleep there again. I got on my laptop and believe it or not, there was an opening across at the Renaissance at a discounted rate I might add and we were out. The ONLY thing the manager on duty offered us for our trouble was FREE buffet breakfast...WHAT?

The word on the street is that the owners refuse to do the necessary upkeep and that my experience was not the first and the pipes really need to be repaired.

To the Courtyard Management Team, fix your facility! Our room rate should have been refunded, which in turn, would have been refunded to the company that paid for my hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands

Address: 1 Polito Avenue, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Lyndhurst/Meadowlands hotel offers stylish guest rooms with Marriott's luxury bedding, 32" LCD flat screen TV's, mini-fridge and FREE High Speed Internet. Begin your day with a reasonably priced, hot breakfast buffet and return for a delicious dinner at Reeds Restaurant. Unwind in our lounge, indoor pool or in the on-site Fitness Center. Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel is perfectly located close to exciting Meadowlands attractions such as the IZOD Center, Giants Stadium, Teterboro Airport (TEB), Meadowlands Racetrack, Medieval Times and just minutes to the Prudential Center in Newark. This Meadowlands hotel is also just six miles to the Lincoln Tunnel and New York City. For business or social events, our meeting rooms are ideal for your group accommodating up to 100 people. After experiencing our first class customer service, you will feel you have made the best choice at the Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands hotel, one of the finest among Meadowlands hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands Hotel Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.