We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Margherita

Piazza Margherita
775 Riverside Ave, Lyndhurst, NJ 07071-3344
201-933-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 68 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Arlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Come to Piazza Margherita for fine food, excellent service and great entertainment. I have spent New Year's Eve here and had such a great dinner with our friends. We have brought another couple two weeks ago, and we had an excellent dinner, and the band played a variety of music. Not only did we sing along, but we danced among the tables. If you are interested in a fun evening out with great food. great waiters (Diego & John), great entertainment, bring your own wine and dance shoes and come to Piazza Margherita you will have a wonderful evening They aim to please. Talk to Christina, she will make your reservation. She is the owners daughter. You cannot go wrong. The singer, John is the best, he sings songs in Italian, as well as Elvis, the Beatles, and all the oldies you can imagine. This is the place to bring another couple or two if you have time to have a great meal, and enjoy a perfectly great night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I went to Piazza Margherita in Lyndhurst for lunch last week. What attracted me was the $10.95 lunch special price. What I did not expect was the really nice atmosphere, the attentive waiters and the great Italian food ! There was plenty to choose from and each course was delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant ! Anne & John Wascoe

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a leisurely lunch at Piazza Margherita with four others and we were very pleased with both the food and the service. The pasta sauces were scrumptious, the fish dishes delicious and the veal and meatballs were excellent. The chef came to talk to us as did the owner. What pleasant gentlemen. The waiters were very attentive and helpful. I highly recommend Piazza Margherita.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently went here with a friend of mine for dinner. I've been to the sister restaurant Queen Margherita several times and always enjoyed it.

On the plus side, this restaurant is much larger - so you aren't sitting on top of each other. With that said, it lacks some of the quaintness of its nearby sister restaurant. The wait staff were terrific with just the right amount of attentiveness without being annoying.

Perhaps I just didn't order correctly - I had shrimp scampi light on the garlic. This dish came with just 5 shrimp over pasta that was extremely oily tasting and I don't think any garlic at all. I think there was a $1 difference between my dish and my friend's dish - hers was chock full of mussels and fish...she loved hers! We had the Italian cheesecake for dessert - it was just okay; somewhat dry.

I probably won't go back - I'd rather go to the "older sister" - Queen Margherita!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
““Very authentic, delicious Italian food””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate at this Italian restaurant with my friends (amazing decoration) on Saturday night. The place was packed so it was good we had reservations.( Live music ...!!!! fantastic...)They seated us right on time. We had some appetizers (seafood salad-mussels in fradiavolo sauce-shrimps stuffed with crab meat-fried calamari- were wonderful), then three of us had pork osso bucco ,and two veal chop special (delicious desserts-ask for the toasted almond cake). All of the dishes were very well prepared and we enjoyed them. The recommendation of our waiter San Diego was excellent...the service was great, very attentive, and the atmosphere is very nice (Italy Live) Highly recommend.....thank you Piazza Margherita...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Margherita also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.