We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and plenty of it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gencarelli's

Gencarelli's
552 New York Ave (Shop Rite Plaza), Lyndhurst, NJ 07071
201 672-0104
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and plenty of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Last week was the first time I had been to this resturant and I can't wait to go back. It's a BYOB which is nice. I had chicken franchase and pasta . The chicken franchase was fantastic and I had so much left over that I was able to have dinner the next night too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sadly on the decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We used to come here all the time- had some of the best chicken dishes and amazing pizza. We keep giving it "one more chance" for that reason. But I think we're finally done. The pizza is still on the expensive side, but it's just not the same. Toppings have become sparsely spread on pies, and it seems like there's less sauce or something...it's off. The chicken parmesan is easy to compare because I just about always get it. It used to be huge pieces that sprawled across the plate slathered with sauce and cheese and baked to perfection. You could cut it with a fork. Now I'd say the portion has almost been halved, and it seems tougher-to cut, to chew, to stomach.
New cooks? Cost-cutting decisions? Don't know the answer. Just very sad this staple has us looking for local alternatives

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always good every time we go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Bring Your Own Bottle and a big appetite; you're gonna get a lot of food. We always enjoy eating here. This place has great service and very good food. We passed this restaurant for years before finally going in; we've been back about five time since.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It has been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place used to be amazing but lately it hasn't been the same. While the portions are generous, the flavors have definitely decreased over the years.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love the consistency here. They always use Fresh ingredients. The staff is very nice and offers great service. Prices are fair

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gencarelli's also viewed

 

Been to Gencarelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gencarelli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.