We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway close to home, highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars & Beeches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars & Beeches to your Saves list
Cedars & Beeches
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   247 Cedar Ave., Long Branch, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway close to home, highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at Cedars and Beeches and it exceeded my expectations. The rooms were immaculate, the service was very accomodating, and Kosher products for breakfast made it a true find. It's only an hour from Brooklyn yet it seems like a different world. One night here recharged my batteries for another day in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We recently stayed in room one of this property. We appeared to be the only ones at the inn that night, as it was a Sunday night in the off season. Although we still paid more than $180 that night for our room, I wasn't dazzled. The decor was mismatched and dated and the "fireplace" that was supposed to be in the room was really just a space heater with electric flames. The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly, but I definitely didn't think we got a good deal for the money we paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My daughter, Kelly wanted a beach theme wedding, and so after the plans of the Church and venue were set, I began to look for lodging for our family and wedding party. I hoped that I could find a place where we could all spend some time together the night before the wedding without having to deal with other guests coming and going. When I found Cedars and Beeches on line, I could not believe my luck. Kelly has loved older homes since she was a little girl, and now she would be able to have these awesome pictures taken as well as extending the rehearsal dinner get together with family and friends. The Wedding was scheduled for 10:00am, and the B and B was only a short distance from the church, so having everyone together would help make sure everything ran smoothly.

All our guests were so excited to see their rooms, and then of course everyone had to look at everyone else's room because they are all different. The gorgeous staircase, shinny wooden floors, the beautiful furniture, immaculate bathrooms, and comfortable beds, what is not to love? The bride and her bridesmaids gathered in her bedroom and enjoyed a girls night, while the groomsmen were on the wrap around porch enjoying each others company.

The day of the wedding started very early with hair dressers and make up artist's busily at work. Since we had the whole house but 1 room, Esther the owner of the B and B even had the breakfast set up earlier than usual so that everyone would still have a chance to eat. The pictures taken in this house are breath taking, and the gifted photographer we used took advantage of it's beauty in every shot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Not a bad inn. Nice, clean room, big bathroom. Beautiful wood floors everywhere. Limited amount of kitch. Decent place to stay close to Sea Bright. Breakfast was at individual tables and had a good menu, NYT was available. Paid $190 in early October for a queen room; felt a little over priced. Worst part were the pillows... hard, foam and too thick. Really uncomfortable. Get new pillows before I'll recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elc247, Owner at Cedars & Beeches, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
I wish you had expressed your preference for softer pillows while you were staying with us. We do keep a supply of soft, flatter pillows for those that prefer that type of pillow. We are happy to provide them to anyone who asks or lets us know while making their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We recently stayed in Room 6. Place was very clean, including room and common areas. Felt very homey.

Our room was at the back of the house facing the garden, so it was extremely quiet. It was partitioned off from the other rooms on the floor by a separate door just outside our regular room door. That "extra" door slams VERY VERY loudly; fixing that would really make the room just perfectly quiet.

The weather was not hot, but our room was stuffy and too warm during our stay, although the rest of the house including the floor outside that "extra" door was cool and comfortable. Our room had a ceiling fan, but we couldn't identify any other climate control because the thermostat on the wall didn't appear to have any effect. In any event, we came and went at odd hours, and the temp certainly was tolerable if not ideal; so we didn't bother to ask the innkeepers about improving it. I mention it only because others staying in the same room may want to ask about this up front.

I like a soft bed, but ours was too soft for either of us and a little saggy in the middle. We believe a new mattress is in order, but everyone has different preferences, so maybe it's just us.

Breakfast ended too early for us late-sleepers, so I can't comment on it.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay; compared with other B&Bs I've experienced, this one was cleaner and quieter. Would definitely stay here again, especially because location is ideal for our purposes.

Room Tip: Room 6 is in the back of the house facing the garden - nearly silent day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The huge dying Beech tree precludes what lies ahead, for this is not the best choice, but the only one in the area, and they know it. Without pointing out the many issues with this property, suffice it to say: "Look elsewhere".
For the $$$$ daily charge for a room, this inn should serve a full breakfast, in season, every day, not just the weekends.
The only positives we found here were good coffee and that the place was clean.
'nuf said!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elc247, Owner at Cedars & Beeches, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
As the name of the property and the many many old estate trees on the property may tell you, we deeply care for our trees and gardens. I thank you for your concern for one of our beeches. For your information, we have had a professional arborist look at the tree. According to him, unfortunately many of the beech trees in this area have suffered from a disease which has killed many of them. With this arborist's advice and help, we are treating the trees with a very special fertilizer, actually only available to arborists and nurseries, a mulching application and trimming the over 100 foot tall tree. There is no guarantee that what we are trying will even work, but we are trying.

In response to the comment about our breakfast, as you know, we do not offer a buffett here or family style service. Rather we offer individually seated table service, and as advertised, a deluxe continental complete with freshly baked muffins, cereals, oatmeal,yogurts, fruit and breads is offered during the midweek mornings, at a price below that of our weekend and holiday dates when a multi-choice full American breakfast of eggs, french toast, pancakes, as well as specialities like Dutch Baby Pancakes, Eggs on a Cloud, Banan French toast is offered. Rather than go into the cost of operation, allow me to say that the variance allows us offer a wider variety of customers that ability to visit Cedars & Beeches, Long Branch and the Jersey shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place was a gem right very close to the beach. We spent one night here when we were doing a road trip exploring the east coast during the fall. wished we would have stayed longer. Our room was a beautiful victorian style, very spacious, quiet and lots of windows. It really brought me back in time.

The town offered lots of restaurants and things to do. Our trip through Long Branch was a highlight!

The owners were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was exceptional in such a warm and inviting environment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars & Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars & Beeches

Address: 247 Cedar Ave., Long Branch, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedars & Beeches 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedars & Beeches Inn, the only bed and breakfast in Long Branch features 14 individually decorated rooms, each with private bath, telephone, television, am/fm radio, air conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary wi-fi and of course, daily breakfast. On site parking, wrap around porch, a few blocks from the beach, Pier Village, Monmouth Medical, Monmouth Racetrack and Monmouth University. The perfect spot for individuals or groups; for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cedars & Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars And Beeches
Cedars & Beeches Hotel Long Branch
Cedars Beeches Long Branch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars & Beeches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.