We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BIG thanks to Fabien and the crew!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bungalow Hotel to your Saves list
Bungalow Hotel
50 Laird Street, Long Branch, NJ 07740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
“A BIG thanks to Fabien and the crew!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had contracted with a neighboring hotel for our guests to stay with them. When they became fully booked, Fabien, the GM at The Bungalow, came to our rescue. Not only did he give us the rooms that we desperately needed, the top notch and thoughtful service he and the staff provided was wonderful surprise.

The wedding guests that stayed at The Bungalow were THRILLED. And, because of a bad experience my husband and I had at our neighboring wedding hotel (we checked out our wedding night), Fabien gave us a fantastic deal the following weekend at The Bungalow. From check in to check out we had a wonderful time.

My husband and I are from the area and if you are staying in the Long Branch, NJ area, we HIGHLY RECOMMEND it over the neighboring hotels. For those not familiar with Pier Village, where the hotel is located, there is ample opportunity to eat, drink, shop and beach--it's one of our favorite places. In fact, we got engaged at one of the restaurants there.

Thank you Fabien, Sean and everyone--you went above and beyond and we can't thank you enough. We will definitely return when we want a special night away!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
27
61
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This hotel was extremely pleasant with great staff. As soon as, I saw the vintage Raquel Welch portrait, feather lamps, and wood laden lobby I was impressed. Our room was fantastic too; an instant exhale- floor to ceiling windows, a fireplace, walk in shower, comfy down and wool blankets, and all white interior. There is also a really good coffee and crepe cafe off the lobby. We stayed just one night and but it felt like a week- a true escape.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The staff at the Bungalow could not be nicer. They were friendly & accomodating. The room was spacious, bright & clean with very chic decor. We had one of the smaller rooms & even with our daughter (8) on her blow up bed on the floor there was plenty of space.
If you are looking for lots of "extras" this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for upscale elegance with a friendly attentive staff don't miss it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

WIfe and I spent 3 nights at the Bungalow. We took a chance from reading reviews, and were not disappointed. The small doubles were fully booked so they upgraded us to a huge suite on the third floor. The hotel is quite new and ultra modern in every way - Wow is all I can say.

The room was spotless, the two bathrooms, showers and floors were so clean, they were shining. The room had wrap around windows which allowed much light in. Fresh towels, shampoos, face scrubs etc every day. Parking alongside the property was free.

Unfortunately it poured with rain for the three days we were there, but we tried to make the most out of it by visiting neighboring towns. As such,we did not use the facilities of their pool club.

It is basically a no frills hotel with no room service, however so much better than the run of the mill "no frill" places. The staff at this hotel were fantastic. Each and everyone of the guys and the gals at the desk could not do enough for us.

Long Branch has a beautiful beach and the town is all new and "designer style" but the stores and the shopping are somewhat disappointing- nothing to really speak of.

This hotel is so ideal for a weekend away, and being close to Manhattan,it is the perfect get away.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife and I toured The Bungalow back in June as we were looking for a nice place to stay with my brother and friends visiting from France. Impressed with the attentiveness of the hotel manager, Fabien, and other staff members, we decided to take a large suite and a junior suite. Unfortunately, from the minute we arrived at The Bungalow, it was one staff bungle after another.

• While check-in is 3 p.m. – we didn’t get into our room until 4:30
• We were given “complimentary” passes to Le Club, which was merely a scam to get 11 people to pay $25 each to access a pool the size of a bathtub – nothing complimentary there…
• We asked to extend my brother’s stay by a day and were told “no problem” – not only was my brother’s stay not extended, we were all but thrown out of our $800 per night suite due to a glaring error by the staff

Wanting to share my experience with the ‘attentive’ Fabien, I was told he was on vacation and unreachable. That said, I was assured he would call my cell phone to discuss my concerns. This never happened.

After spending several thousand dollars for two funky-looking, but stained and already tired rooms, I expected much, much more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at the Bungalow this July. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, wonderful lounge area, the staff is very friendly and Fabien the hotel manager is very accommodating. The location is just perfect, plenty of places to dine and socialize. I can't wait to go back. This is the best hotel by far that the Jersey shore has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We've stayed in boutique hotels all over the world and Bungalow ranks among our favorites. Impeccable decor throughout and friendly, helpful staff. We purchased passes to Le Club and relaxed all day at the rooftop pool. Again, excellent decor and great tunes. Unfortunately, Pier Village does not meet the same standards. Our meal at Avenue was fine, but the rest was a culinary horror-show. PV as a whole seems contrived and undergoing an identity crisis. Still, if it's a relaxing beach/pool vacation you're looking for, Bungalow is only way to go on the Jersey shore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Address: 50 Laird Street, Long Branch, NJ 07740
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.