We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bungalow Hotel to your Saves list
Bungalow Hotel
50 Laird Street, Long Branch, NJ 07740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is everything I expected plus.... More! The girls at the front desk are sweet and helpful (Victoria) I stayed on NYE and booked the kahuna room. Everything was clean, the room was spacious and the shower in the master bedroom was big enough for me and my husband. Lol the bungalow is not cheap but it's totally worth it. Plus it's close to everything , the beach, rooneys, pier village.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice M, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We love that Bungalow Hotel has exceeded your expectations and that we were able to provide you with a pleasurable experience. I would like to also thank you for your kind words about the front desk ladies, especially Victoria, we are glad to have her on our team! We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
26
58
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merchantville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Last minute trip was great!
First time calling hotel, they were booked! I couldn't understand why but they only have 24 rooms and have a group staying with them. I called back for recommendations and they had a cancellation. We couldn't find the hotel at first because it blends in with the rest of Pier Village, but with the lights outside we finally found the place. The candles were lit in the lobby and it looked AMAZING! A handful of people at the bar (we went to Avenue and wine loft for drinks), lobby was clean as well. We were checked in by Lacy, she was great and we asked a lot of questions! When we went up to the room we couldn't believe the size and stopped complaining about the money we spent! We couldn't figure out how to work the tv, so Candace the manager came up and fixed the problem. We came back down to the desk and spoke with Lacy and Candace who were extremely nice and helpful. Kudos Bungalow for a nice hotel!
Two things- had some scratches on the wall, new paint job wouldn't hurt
-get rid of the appletvs, too confusing and too many remotes
The morning lady (long brown hair) who checked us out was also nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice M, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it was a pleasure having you as our guest! Also, thank you for your comments regarding Lacey, she is a great addition to our team, I will pass them along to her. After Hurricane Sandy, we have been busier than normal, but I am glad that we were able to meet your needs. Our hotel is currently in the process of renovation of all 24 rooms, which will be completed by the begining of the summer season. We look forward to having you as our guest again, as always it is our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night. Cold feeling room overlooking a highway. Although know beach nearby seemed in another world. Bar noise would have been unbearable except the did close at 1. Night stand lamp burnt out 18 yr old girl -manager? Said "oh well the bulbs probably burnt out and we don't have replacements. I'd take one from one of the other rooms except we r all booked." There's got to be someplace better than this in the Long Branch area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice M, General Manager at Bungalow Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Bungalow Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our check in time begins at 3pm and we try to accommodate early check ins as best as we can. We also replaced your non functioning lamp, shortly after your conversation with the manager. Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay and we hope to provide you a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in need of a vacation this summer- due to family issues we were unable to plan ahead, nor were we sure we would actually be able to show, which made peak summer travel plans nearly impossible. Thanks to the very professional, empathetic general manager of this hotel, we were able to book a two day beach getaway. To our surprise, the club associated with this hotel has a nice beachfront pool, beach cabanas, and cocktail service throughout. The hotel room was a gem, with a large clean bathroom, gas fireplace and comfortable bed. The hotel itself is architecturally unique- it's not your average cookie cutter place- details are interesting and different- the photos don't do it justice. Also, it's a very short (3 min) walk from downtown Long Branch, which opens up many dining options nearby. I highly recommend this hotel - it provides a very real beach vacation experience, with excellent / professional staff, while being very close to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

my stay lasted for 3 days and each day was better then the next. the hotel had a cool vibe and the manager / staff were friendly and helpful (not stuffy... which was refreshing). rooms were beautiful and bed was so comfortable. the only downfall was that the pool was closed. already booked our return stay for next summer and the pool better be open this time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We loved this place and its cool interior, lofty apartments and unique funky bar. Our only complaint was that the bar wasn't staffed all the time but appreciate it was out of season by the time we left. If you are holidaying in the area then this is the hotel for you! Although no breakfast and/or facilities for coffee on site, it's a perfect excuse to try one of the many good eateries around. Cake, bake and roll does terrific muffins and breakfast from 7am or the Turning Point does full on brunch - try the banana French toast if you can't decide, yummy! We didn't try the beach club which you had to pay for but there are many beach clubs along the sea front, all of which seem to charge a similar amount. You also get free parking for the length of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and love the area of long branch. After looking on the Internet we realized that there were only 4 hotels in area .... Well we picked the best. Not gonna lie stopped at Ocean place first, but after reading reviews and was told the price for a night stay we got back in the car and drove away. Thank god!!! The bungalow is AWESOME. The room was sooo clean you could smell just how clean it was. The room which was a king studio was absolutely adorable. The bed was so comfortable. You melt into it. The staff is so friendly. All and all it was a great stay and cannot wait to go back. Loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Hotel

Address: 50 Laird Street, Long Branch, NJ 07740
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Long Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow Hotel is the Jersey Shore's only authentic boutique hotel. Located in Pier Village, just steps from the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms have oversized king beds, flat screen tvs, fireplaces, wet bar with refrigerators, and original art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bungalow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Hotel Long Branch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.