We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sushi near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawa

Sawa
68 Ocean Avenue, Long Branch, NJ 07740
732-229-0600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 108 Restaurants in Long Branch
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good sushi near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The sushi here is pretty good, and its a cool laid-back atmosphere right off the beach. They even have karaoke sometimes, and its super entertaining.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum sushi at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food here was very good. Sat outside which was great for people watching. Service started a little slow and then our waiter totally redeemed himself.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville
1 review
“Worst service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We came here for my brothers birthday and this was the worst experience ever. They split our party up into 2 and they then did not give us food at all. They gave the food to the others that are not part of our party. Then they argued with us when we told them you did not give us food. Then the waiter kept forgetting to give a happy birthday cake. They finally came out with an ice cream and no song came on and it was a pathetic happy birthday for a 12 year old boy. Never come here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sushi and good hibachi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went for lunch and my husband had the hibachi filet mignon and I the scallops, Both were Cooked to perfection. My little ones enjoyed their shrimp hibachi as well. We also ordered yellowtail sashimi and squid sashimi both were super fresh and delicious. Will definitely be back when we return to long branch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bridge
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“just alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

went here last minute for July 4th/anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was nice close to the beach and the action at Pier Village. The service was great too. Unfortunately the food was not that tasty. All of the dishes that we had which included a bento box, steak dinner and sushi were just ok. They lacked flavor and the freshness I would expect for the prices and being a beach front restaurant. There are definitely better places to go in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa also viewed

Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
Long Branch, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Sawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.