We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent service but noise problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brany Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location, decent service but noise problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a review for the hotel. The hotel is super modern and nice, and very walkable to the beach. We came there during the off season on a weeknight through a deal from Jetsetter. The front desk lady, Heather, was professional and sweet, and without me asking for it she upgraded me to a queen suite. I asked what the differences with rooms are and she explained without hesitation. I read some previous dissatisfied reviews on Trip Advisor so I was a little concerned. She said I wasn't near the laundry or elevators. She also said that we could request a later check out, and to check back tomorrow when the manager is there.

We had to call back in the room and ask about the internet wifi password and parking pass (parking is free) which I think we should of been told at check in so although she's a sweetheart, with a boutique hotel you expect them to be more proactive. The wifi is very weak in my room so I had to tether my phone. There was fresh fruit out, though, which is a nice touch. The hotel, room and bathrooms are all very clean.

The room itself is gorgeous. It is spacey with a sitting area, queen sized bed and a sizable bathroom. Like the rest of the hotel, it's modern contemporary with a hint of vintage beach art. The elevator is cool looking but not for the claustrophobic. The stairway is actually carpeted and decorated. We loved the room. The tv seems disproportionately small compared to the rest of the room though, and not super viewable from bed, but we don't watch much tv.

Now my biggest complaint is something they can't do much about, the noise. Our room, 215, is right next to Long Beach Blvd, so starting around 6:30am you hear traffic through the rest of the day. I would recommend they double pane the windows to avoid this but it did wake me. The other noise issue is that we heard furniture being moved around at 11pm and probably again around 7am/8am (not sure), so that was disturbing. Also, the walls to the bathroom are thin so you should be comfortable with who you're staying with. You could hear noise from anyone in the hall which isn't a major issue when only one other couple is staying in the hotel. If there is music below you you'll hear that too. So for this hotel keep in mind unless you're a heavy sleeper, you may have noise issues.

Room Tip: Get a south side room farther from the boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was very disappointed with our room, and of course there were no other rooms available.
I knew in advance from the room description that the room we would have would NOT have a view. "No view" means that when you look out the window, there is not a scenic vista in front of you. My expectation was that we would not be looking out on the ocean or the bay or something pretty and instead would be facing a parking lot or some other building which would have been perfectly acceptable.

My expectation WAS NOT that we would not even be able to look out the window at all! We essentially stayed in a room with no window which was very claustrophobic and weird. Room 205 has two small windows both of which are covered on the outside by large shutters with just about 3 inches of light coming in on the bottom third of the window. The room was dark and depressing in the day time (even though it was August) which made us uncomfortable. Through the 3 inches of space on the sides, we could see the rooftop which was covered with pipes and ducts. Looking onto that without the shutters would have been much more preferable to not having any light in our room at all. And of course we couldn't open the windows either.

In short, we were misled by the room description. Something in the description like "severely obstructed window view" would be a much more appropriate way of describing the actual situation in room 205 not "no view." Additionally, the scented cleaning products they use in the rooms are very strong and left a permanent, lingering cinnamon scent that made me nauseous. I sent an email to the manager following our stay TWICE and never received a response which is also unacceptable. Given the premium pricing of this hotel and the actual quality of the rooms and the service, we will opt next time for a simple, beach motel. This place is a rip-off and clearly the management doesn't care about repeat business.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 205 as it essentially is windowless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Daddy O the second weekend it had reopened after Hurricane Sandy.
There were some 'bugs' that they were still trying to fix, but the staff could not have been nicer.
Our room was very nice and the bathroom was large and modern.
We were in Long Beach Island for a wedding, so we did not have the opportunity to try out the bar...but when I peeked in, it was very busy and everyone seemed to be having a good time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for wedding. Would avoid second floor. When the washing machine spins the entire room shakes violently. This went on all day. So could not rest whatsoever. Place isn't cheap so I would expect more.

After third time I knocked on housekeeping service door and housekeeping manager lectured me saying the only reason I was complaining was because she was Spanish and not from the country. She also went on a tirade about me being so young (I'm nearly 40 btw with kids). Most ridiculous display of service I've ever experienced.

Hotel is nice and maybe on for drinks or dinner but never stay here. In fact the holiday inn not too far away is a much better value with a nicer staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petepalladino, General Manager at Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I was personally involved with this guests issue and, after viewing security camera footage, determined that he burst into our housekeeping office and started to curse and yell at the girls working there at the time. We are obviously in the hospitality industry but we do expect a certain level of maturity and class from our guests. We have a wonderful staff here and are very proud of the job they do. Being someone’s punching bag is just not in their job description.

Pete Palladino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and restaurant are very nicely decorated. The Bar staff was very good. With that said we where surprised the food was so bad which in turn ruined our night. The menu selection is horrible and expensive for such poor quality. We spent the night at the bar talking to other patrons complaining about the food. We have eaten here every summer about 5 times a year and until this year we where always happy. They took there vegan selections off the menu. We complained to the staff about the menu and they said the Chef is horrible and he came up with the losey menu. I will not return to Daddy o's as long has this chef and menu remain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and well presented front desk and rooms. Think hamptons/Miami vibe but at a cost. My pregnant wife and I just stayed and if you are looking for a relaxing place especially if you have kids forget it. Music and noise till 10-11 pm from restaurant and up stairs bar. Room was small but the staff was great and very accommodating. Also a lot of attractions are in beach haven about 10-15 minute ride ie buckalloo, chicken or egg, amusement park, show place ice cream parlor etc...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Good location near the beach. Rooms are clean and basic... Happening bar on the roof. Bar off the lobby serves excellent burgers, wings and other bar food. Rooms pricy for what it is, but the nicest available in LBI

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brany Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Long Beach Township
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Beach Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daddy O Restaurant and Boutique Hotel is Long Beach Island's first upscale accommodation. We feature full service restaurant, bar and take out store. Our hotel boasts all the amenities the modern traveler is accustomed to and is within a block from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy O Hotel And Restaurant Long Beach Island, NJ

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.