We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Restaurant on LBI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brany Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Plainsboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel and Restaurant on LBI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Daddy O last weekend and thought it was great. The rooms were clean and modern and the service was great. We especially loved the rooftop deck with bay and ocean views. Food at the restaurant was very delicious and creative and they have a great wine list and martini menu. We even liked the bar menu and would recommend it as a great weekend getaway place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    8
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I ate here with my husband and the food was excellent! I had the Buffalo Shrimp and hubby had the Filet with Crabmeat....we were quite pleased. Our waitress, Courtney, was so good we will request her again. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. It is overpriced and not worth the money. For $358 a night for a standard room we expected an immaculate hotel room with everything in working order. The bathroom door did not close all of the way or lock (the lock was bent). The exhaust fan in the bathroom/shower did not work. The shower had mildew (wonder if that has anything to do with the exhaust fan not working - duh). The carpets have seen better days and need a shampoo. The beds are tiny - sized to fit the tiny rooms. On top of all that no one warned us when we booked the room that we would be placed in a room that is located right over the bar and have to listen to the band play until midnight underneath us while little kids obviously were reaking havoc in the hotel room above us. As for the contintental breakfast that is included, they should not even bother. For $358 a night I would expect something better than sara lee muffins in the plastic wrappers they came in from the grocery store box. What a joke. As for the restaurant - overpriced and not worth the money either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon with high expectations...and then we saw the room. Extremely tiny space with a bed that was so small my legs were hanging off the end. The walls were paper thin, we could hear several couples having sex and also hear people on the roof-deck. The staff was shockingly rude and arrogant. Our toilet didn't work, our clock was set wrong which led to a late start to the day and the maid rudely banging down our door to check-out. Room service was unavailable for breakfast (the most important meal for room service) and the breakfast buffet was minimal with old hard bagels and cereal. The roofdeck was nice, but no food or bar service was availabe, so we were constantly running back downstairs. Elevator is extremely slow. There is no reserved hotel-guest parking so if you move your car in the evening you will likely not be able to find a spot because it will be filled with restaurant customers. I can't think of anything positive to say about this place and would never recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010 via mobile

Passed by the place and seemed very trendy, plus rooftop deck lured us in. We were told it was closed due to heat. Now, this is a 3rd week of July, 75 outside, low humidity. What better weather can you expect? Ok, let's stay inside. Waited for 15 minutes for a table and another 10 for bar maid to settle our tab. Drinks were watered down and had more ice than the North Pole. Menu was rather limited and pricey.

Now at the table, order was taken after another 10 minute wait.The silverware was filthy. Meanwhile, server didn't even give us bread rolls until we asked. About 30 mins after ordering, soup finally came out. It was bland and lukewarm. Appetizers were sub-par, I've had better at Friday's. Lastly, the $30+ entres we ordered didn't come out until about an hour since the order was placed. It only came out after I called our server over and asked her to cancel it. A minute later she showed up with our dishes and a guilty look on her face. I should have sent them back but I didn't want to be a jerk about it. That was a mistake. Food was bland and uninspired, at best. So called "roasted veggies" tasted like they were a frozen variety defrosted an hour ago. Fish dishes were also bland, lukewarm and not worth even a 1/2 of the price they had a nerve to charge.

I called a manager over and voiced my dissatisfaction with the dining experience. He apologized and said he would take care of us. That meant bringing us a check.... for the full amount. Not even a "hey, sorry about your dining experience, our overpriced drinks are on the house".

Bottom line, the absolute worst dining experience in recent memory. This place is to be avoided at all costs, even if your only other choice for a meal is a Burger King 5 miles away. Better drive there now, it may be a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

woke up on Monday and decided we're going to drive to the beach and stay over (we're near Philly) and looked up prices for Daddy O's online - regular prices for mid week in the summer are in the $250's but Expedia had a special last minute rate of under $150 so we jumped on it! The stay was fabulous, loved everything about this place. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! Loved the sun deck and the bar/restaurant. LOVE love love this place.

the room was very small but it was perfect for just a quick spontaneous getaway for the two of us

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I just can't say enough about this place. It is the only spot I will stay and eat when I go to the Island. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Make sure you check out happy hour at the tiki bar patio on the weekends, it was jammin Sat. night. It will soon be the place to be! The room I stayed in was fabulous! It is what they call a Blvd Queen and it faces the marina and blvd. Great for people watching! Also you have to go up to the roof top terrace! They have views of the ocean and bay, its great for sunsets and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brany Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Long Beach Township
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Long Beach Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daddy O Restaurant and Boutique Hotel is Long Beach Island's first upscale accommodation. We feature full service restaurant, bar and take out store. Our hotel boasts all the amenities the modern traveler is accustomed to and is within a block from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy O Hotel And Restaurant Long Beach Island, NJ

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.