We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular atmosphere, service, and (if you order right) food and drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Daddy O
4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brant Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
609-494-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Daddy O is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Long Beach Blvd & 44th St.
Description: Daddy O, a 22-room boutique hotel and restaurant, is one of the many establishments in a partnership group headed by the highly respected Martin Grims. With Four Diamond AAA ratings and many "best of" honors, the partnership takes great pride in bringing inspired experiences with adventuresome food and outstanding service to their guests. Besides Daddy O, they own and operate: The Moshulu Restaurant/Ship in Philadelphia, The Plantation Restaurant in Long Beach Island, NJ, White Dog Cafe in Philadelphia and Wayne, PA and du jour cafe and market, currently in Haverford Square on the Philadelphia Main Line and expanding to more locations, including Center City Philadelphia's new Symphony House. Daddy O serves only the freshest food, most of which is sourced from sustainable methods. This is definitely an elevated culinary experience.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Spectacular atmosphere, service, and (if you order right) food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We've come here at least once every year since they've opened and this year was no exception. It has had its ups and downs but at base Daddy O is our favorite restaurant on LBI.

But to get great food you have to know the secret - Daddy O is a 'Nouvelle American Cuisine' restaurant not a temple to seafood. They excel at taking traditional American dishes and mixing them up with French techniques and Asian and Latin flavors. My wife and I had an exquisite meal here a few days ago - we shared the Mexican Salad, Tuna Tartare, and NY Strip with kale and duck fat fries. All featured an amazing blend of flavors and textures and all were spectacular (mmmm....duck fat). Last year they had this amazing 'salad' that mixed savory, sweet and bitter ingredients. We were dubious and talked it over with our server - and it turned out to be one of the best dishes we have ever had anywhere.

Which brings me to the service. It is wonderful and they are more than happy to help you navigate the menu steering you away from the things that 'have' to be on the menu and toward the dishes that are exceptional. And to the drinks. From my perspective, Daddy O skews the drink menu WAAAAY too far to the sweet side. But again, talk things over with your server as there are a few drinks which ARE exceptional (if only you ask the bartender to cut back on the simple syrup).

Honestly, when we want straightforward crustaceans and chowder we go to one of the local chain of 'seafood shacks'. But for all around dining excellence on LBI you can't beat Daddy O.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    11
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“bad food worse manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

When you spend $400.00 for 4 people dinner and appetizers it should be great. Ordered the Clam Chowder, it was cold no clams and watery! Line caught Tuna $34.00 was cold and fried rice was undercooked and ice cold. Lobster was over seasoned with cinnamon. Manager Eric is all lip service no substance!
There are a lot of other restaurants on LBI don't waste your money!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food was really good and prices were good also. The sushi was delicious and extreamly fresh. Ask for the bar menu and the truffle fries are a MUST!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Whoever named this place one of the "top rooftop bars in America" needs to have their head examined. First of all, the rooftop area is small providing no view of the ocean or bay whatsoever, and the minuscule bar is inconveniently placed in a tiny corner area. My family chose to have a party here one night (with 25 guests), and they stuck us in a cold, poorly lit back room where we received horrible service and cold food. It literally took over a half hour to get a glass of water. I can't blame the waitress though, because she was left all by herself to take care of our large party, and that was not fair to her at all. It wasn't until the end of the night when the cake came out that a few other employees finally helped carry out some dishes, but they should've been there from the beginning. They also failed to mention that there were nuts in the cake and we almost had a near-death allergic reaction. Overall, the experience here was awful and my family and I will never be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
“Creative and amazing dishes and drinks plus they accommodate kids! Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is a combination hotel and restaurant/bar and was pretty packed when we rolled in around 8:45pm. The decor of the place is pretty cool too with low lighting and a large dining area with a huge bar area with an outside roof deck lounge area. The staff is friendly and really fast on their feet and helpful, plus they accommodate kids of all ages even at this hour which was really cool since both parties had two tired kids and they even have a kids menu. The food is by far the best on LBI and the drinks menu contained several delicious concoctions from martinis to my tasty margarita/sangria drink which was excellent.

The menu is a large array of everything from seafood mostly, to pork, steak and even pasta with some creative seafood appetizers and salads. The tuna tartar and even the calamari was absolutely some of the best I have tasted and the suggested special of Red snapper with chorizo/plantains and spinach was beautifully done. Every bite was fresh and tasty and service stayed on top of everything and even cleaned up a mess from the kids with no problem. This was a great dinner and I highly recommend this place. Prices were just right too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy O also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Daddy O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.