We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy O

Daddy O
4401 Long Beach Blvd, Brant Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
609-494-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Daddy O is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Long Beach Blvd & 44th St.
Description: Daddy O, a 22-room boutique hotel and restaurant, is one of the many establishments in a partnership group headed by the highly respected Martin Grims. With Four Diamond AAA ratings and many "best of" honors, the partnership takes great pride in bringing inspired experiences with adventuresome food and outstanding service to their guests. Besides Daddy O, they own and operate: The Moshulu Restaurant/Ship in Philadelphia, The Plantation Restaurant in Long Beach Island, NJ, White Dog Cafe in Philadelphia and Wayne, PA and du jour cafe and market, currently in Haverford Square on the Philadelphia Main Line and expanding to more locations, including Center City Philadelphia's new Symphony House. Daddy O serves only the freshest food, most of which is sourced from sustainable methods. This is definitely an elevated culinary experience.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food was really good and prices were good also. The sushi was delicious and extreamly fresh. Ask for the bar menu and the truffle fries are a MUST!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Whoever named this place one of the "top rooftop bars in America" needs to have their head examined. First of all, the rooftop area is small providing no view of the ocean or bay whatsoever, and the minuscule bar is inconveniently placed in a tiny corner area. My family chose to have a party here one night (with 25 guests), and they stuck us in a cold, poorly lit back room where we received horrible service and cold food. It literally took over a half hour to get a glass of water. I can't blame the waitress though, because she was left all by herself to take care of our large party, and that was not fair to her at all. It wasn't until the end of the night when the cake came out that a few other employees finally helped carry out some dishes, but they should've been there from the beginning. They also failed to mention that there were nuts in the cake and we almost had a near-death allergic reaction. Overall, the experience here was awful and my family and I will never be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
“Creative and amazing dishes and drinks plus they accommodate kids! Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is a combination hotel and restaurant/bar and was pretty packed when we rolled in around 8:45pm. The decor of the place is pretty cool too with low lighting and a large dining area with a huge bar area with an outside roof deck lounge area. The staff is friendly and really fast on their feet and helpful, plus they accommodate kids of all ages even at this hour which was really cool since both parties had two tired kids and they even have a kids menu. The food is by far the best on LBI and the drinks menu contained several delicious concoctions from martinis to my tasty margarita/sangria drink which was excellent.

The menu is a large array of everything from seafood mostly, to pork, steak and even pasta with some creative seafood appetizers and salads. The tuna tartar and even the calamari was absolutely some of the best I have tasted and the suggested special of Red snapper with chorizo/plantains and spinach was beautifully done. Every bite was fresh and tasty and service stayed on top of everything and even cleaned up a mess from the kids with no problem. This was a great dinner and I highly recommend this place. Prices were just right too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had read many reviews and each were about the same. My expectation was a typical beach bar with the usual scene, food etc. I was very happy to find a place with terrific food (love the sushi!) and a bar that was jammed packed. Put the 2 together and it was a perfect night. I will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Raises the Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Daddy O's is one of the first places (with the exception of Gables and Yellowfin) to raise the bar on restaurants and hotels on the island. Finally there is a real example for the old timers to look up to. Look, the food is not out of this world, but the presentation, ambiance and service make this place a fine choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy O also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Daddy O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.