We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome -- must go there for breakfast at least once” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Diner

Dockside Diner
2404 Long Beach Blvd, Spray Beach, Long Beach Township, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-2541
609-492-8466
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Leonia, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Awesome -- must go there for breakfast at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to go for breakfast or lunch. We went to the Dockside as we were leaving LBI after vacation and it was well-worth the wait. It's a very popular place so be prepared to wait during the summer but expect a great meal. We had breakfast and the menu has standards as well as very creative choices. The portions are very generous and the pricing is appropriate to what you get. We each ordered a different omelette and the waitress let us order one nice-sized pancake instead of a short stack just to satisfy my son's craving for a pancake. Service is great once you get seated. We went there 3 years ago for brunch and vowed we would go back. We liked it then and were happy that it was as good as we remembered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, great menu, unique location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Nestled right by the docks on the bay by the beach haven sailing club, this diner is a must for families on vacation! Their menu offers outstanding variety for breakfast and everything is absolutely delicious... Classic diner sized portions. Their pancakes are really fantastic- supper light and fluffy and their omelettes were a big hit with my friends... Everyone really enjoyed what they ordered! They even have some southwest inspired breakfast options like huevos rancheros and breakfast nachos which sounded delicious but did not order. I will definitely be back to try some of their other creative combos! Dockside Diner is definitely not your typical breakfast option... Sure it offers the typical choices but also much, much more! My only complaint is that it is fairly small so parties of more than 4-6 can not really sit together. As a party of 8, four of us were seated at a table and the other four sat at the counter nearby which was actually fine but not ideal. Overall, yummy food, friendly service... These people have been here for decades and they know what they're doing! Make the trip!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a diner is supposed to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the definition of what a classic, small diner is supposed to be, with the added benefit of being beachside. Customers can BYOB. Service was excellent, nice selection of conventional breakfast and lunch offers with some interesting additions included. Decoration is "cute diner". This a good bookend (as in other end of Long Beach Island) to Mustache Bill's Diner in Barnegot Light on the north end of the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Small and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've eaten breakfast here many times and the portions are more than ample. They get very crowded, especially on weekends in season. Lunch sandwiches are excellent too. A nice thing is that you can also order breakfast all day. They don't offer 'hokey' breakfast specials that lure you in with cheap prices only to gouge for drink prices, like competitors do. Try it, you won't be sorry you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you value good food and service, eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

What a find. Great views of the beach and a nice and friendly atmosphere. The omelette was great, my husband loved his creamed chipped beef and the coffee was great. We need more places like this!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Diner also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dockside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.