We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westminster Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westminster Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 West Mount Pleasant Avenue, Livingston, NJ 07039   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Livingston
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I needed a last minute place to stay and the DeBarry Inn was full (my first choice), so I decided to give this hotel a try. I got a great deal on Expedia. First of all, Valet parking is right at the entrance, but for everyone else you have to park in the back and walk all the way around in the road to get to your car - that was annoying to me, especially with drivers going very fast around the corners of the hotel. The entrance is nice, comfortable, and the receptionists were friendly. It was a quick check in and they have 3 floors of rooms. I asked to be put near the back so I didn't get the highway noise and they did that. The jacuzzi and the pool area are great - fabulous for families since they have a private bathroom/snack area for kids as well. I loved it. It does close at 10 pm, so make sure you get all your swimming in before then! The restaurant was alright, but the bar's cocktails were expensive ($12 each), wow! I didn't have a chance to try the food. The floors can be confusing since everything looks the same, but the rooms are pretty good sized, nicely appointed, however watch your knees and toes on the sharp wooden edges of the beds - not very children friendly. Also, the large desk is wedged by the bed, so it can be difficult to maneuver around it. There were plenty of cups, coffee, toiletries in the room (for 1 person), and towels. There was a nice closet with an ironing board, an extra blanket, a suitcase holder, and a safe for your valuables. The bed was AMAZING - did not want to get out of it in the morning because the pillows were like giant marshmallows. The tv was nice, flat screen. The tub was nice (a little rust), but who cares, the water was hot, the towels were clean, and they even left lollipops on the vanity for you. A phone in the bathroom in case of emergencies, tissues, extra towels, toilet paper, a laundry line in the shower, nice carpeting.
The gym is in the basement and it is HUGE with everything you could want/need, they also had cucumber water and fresh towels for guests. There is also a concierge lounge that was well appointed with computers and snacks.

My only complaint was that the walls are pretty thin and I was awoken by a screaming child at 7am from an adjoining room - this went on for several hours afterwards. Calling the front desk was impossible because it was hard to pinpoint where the screaming was coming from; this was not the hotel's fault. I just would have placed a family with children in an area of the hotel where the majority of other guests are not.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back of the hotel due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the Westminster Hotel. We are so glad that you gave us a try and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all your positive remarks, from quick check- in to our fabulous pool and Jacuzzi area. Thank you also for mentioning our amazing beds. We receive many compliments on them every day.

Please accept my apologies in regards to the screaming child.
Should your travels bring you back to the area, please contact me directly at zbingol@westminsterhotel.net and I will be very happy to handle your accommodations personally. Thank you again for a delightful review!

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    96
    37
    22
    12
See reviews for
78
75
17
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times over the years, most recently on thanksgiving weekend. It's a nice hotel with a modern decor. Spacious lobby, rooms are neat and updated. My biggest issue it that the hotel gets many events on the weekends and the check in process is always backed up and delayed. There were limited dining options but for the Strip House.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Westminster Hotel to spend your Thanksgiving weekend. We truly appreciate your loyalty.
On high occupancy days, the longest waiting time for check in process may be 2 to 3 minutes. I am very sorry if you had to wait more than the usual time. Service is the top priority for us, so it is disappointing to hear that you were not attended to promptly. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Westminster Hotel over 15 times in the past 4 years, so I have had just about every imaginable experience at this hotel. Here are some tips to help you understand the good and the bad aspects of this hotel.

The Good:

* The Strip House restaurant has some nice wines to choose from and the bar area has a food menu for those not looking for a heavy meal. The gorgonzola fondue appetizer is amazing and something you should not miss.
* The concierge lounge is a spacious place to work if you have downtime on a business trip
* The lobby staff is always very kind and accommodating
* The standard rooms are well proportioned and have nice features like a couch and king sized beds
* In room desks are top notch
* Nice sized workout room with many equipment options

The Not so Good:

* There is no true loyalty program for the hotel, so no upgrade or amenity bonuses for frequent stays (they do have a way for you to earn frequent flyer miles, but not frequent stay bonuses)
* The rooms in the basement ("garden level" and parts of the first floor) are creepy/too close to people walking by
* Some rooms smell like smoke
* Limited breakfast options
* Parking can be difficult on extra busy nights
* Some workout equipment feels a little dated (like treadmills)
* Housekeeping staff is not always courteous or respecting of privacy (I have had housekeeping burst into room without knocking more than once)
* Coffee machines always stocked with way too much decaf and not enough real caffeine. Nobody needs more than one decaf.
* Limited power by the night stand for charging phones

Overall, I do enjoy my stays here and it's the best hotel option I have seen in the area. I just wish they had some sort of loyalty program to award me for staying so many nights!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the first floor or basement (garden) level. Check your room for smoke smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
First and for most, we would like to thank you for your loyalty. As a frequent guest, we highly value your feedback.
Thank you for taking the time to share all this information with the future guests of the Westminster Hotel. We appreciate your candid review. It is great to hear where we succeeded during your stays from our kind staff to our beautiful rooms. In regards to the “Not so good part”, I will share your very valuable comments with our Executive Team in order to assess and address the area where we fell short.
We do our best to recognize our loyal guests by upgrading their rooms when it’s available. Please accept my apology if this was never done for you. I would appreciate if you contact me directly the next time you return so that I can personally take care of your accommodations. I can be reached at 973.548.0076
Once again, thank you for your thorough review. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have stayed here while visiting family in the area over the holidays on three separate occasions and have been pleased every time. The rooms are a good value at the holidays, the hotel is quiet without the normal business travelers, and the outstanding restaurant can be enjoyed when you desire a meal on your own. (The breakfast situation was a little confusing so ask to be sure what is available. Had the paid buffet on Saturday, which was expensive considering the offerings, free weekday limited buffet when offerings were only slightly less.) Our king room was clean, spacious and quiet but lacked a view - looked at rooftop hvac units. The blower on the heating unit was loud enough to require adjusting TV volume, but don't recall this from previous stays? Staff is friendly and accommodating. Gym is very adequate, someday hope to take advantage of the spa services.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask about room view when checking in if it's important to you; we were away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your recent experience at the Westminster Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you choose to stay with us several times over the holidays and that you enjoyed the overall experience. Please accept my apologies if the breakfast situation seemed a bit confusing. We provide complimentary continental breakfast with 2 additional hot items Monday to Friday.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will have a chance to use our beautiful spa next time you are here.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Westminster. The Westminster is a good value, with good service. Our room was nicely apportioned, with a Euro feel. The bed was totally comfy, and there were plenty of towels. If I ever have to go back to Livingston, New Jersey for some reason, I would stay at the Westminster again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide excellent service and comfortable rooms while delivering a great value, so I am delighted to hear that this was reflected in your stay with us.
Thank you for your review again and we sure hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed there for a family event. Nice hotel and staff was great. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Our king bed was extremely comfortable! On site restaurant very nice, though we only had cocktails, and breakfast, in. Breakfast buffet was good, but nothing outstanding about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I hope your family event was a special one. We are so happy to learn that you were comfortable in your room and that you received great service. Please come back and visit us soon!

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My second stay at the Westminster, after a six month hiatus! Front desk personnel friendly and efficient. Room was clean, spacious, and had all of the requisite amenities. Parking abundant and close. Free coffee in the lobby, and I discovered a lounge on the basement floor full of magazines, books, and even a few snacks! The gym was well equipped.
My only complaint was that my room, 266, was close to the parking entrance, and so I heard late arrivals yacking away as they walked into the hotel. I'd avoid this room in the future.
This is an excellent facility, and I'll gladly stay there again at my next opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a second visit to the Westminster Hotel. It is great to hear your kind remarks about our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Also, thank you for mentioning our complimentary coffee service in the lobby and snacks in our club lounge.
I am sorry to hear that the location of your room created an inconvenience to you. Please contact me directly when you return at zbingol@westminsterhotel.net, I would be more than happy to handle your accommodations personally.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Zohre Bingol
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 West Mount Pleasant Avenue, Livingston, NJ 07039
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.