We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My friend's Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westminster Hotel to your Saves list
Westminster Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 West Mount Pleasant Avenue, Livingston, NJ 07039   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Renovated Rooms!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My friend's Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This Hotel has awesome service and a great front desk. The folks working the front desk took care of my every need, including driving my wife and I to the mall when her shoe broke. Rooms were clean and the neighborhood was awesome!

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a roof view, so avoid them or ask the front desk what the view is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    113
    43
    23
    12
See reviews for
91
90
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I Don't Know Where To Begin..... I Didn't Enjoy The Hotel At All.....If I Was There On Business Maybe I Would....But If Your Looking To Relax With A Love One Choose Somewhere Else.... I Was Told There Was A Birthday Package When I tried To Reserve The Package I Was Told It Wasn't Available For My Stay, The Hotel Was Extremely Busy With Conferences... The Hotel Staff Was Very Rude Upon My Arrival.... I Could Go On and On... I Didn't Enjoy My Stay And I Have No Intentions On Returning

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestminsterMgmt, Front Office Manager at Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am deeply sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, and that you found some staff members rude. Please accept my sincere apology for any rudeness you may have experienced. This saddens all of us at Westminster Hotel because we work very hard and take pride in executing the highest service standards in hospitality. We will share your feedback with our team and use it for further training.

I confess, I am confused about your comment in regards to our “Birthday Package”. Some of our packages may require advance booking so that we have sufficient time to be prepared. This may explain why you had some difficulty booking the package.

I would truly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally to better understand your experience and make amends. If you consider giving us another try, I can assure you that you will enjoy your stay at Westminster Hotel. You can reach me directly on 973.548.0076. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Zohre Bingol Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Booked this through a discount hotel site as it was convenient to the colleges my son & I were visiting. The rooms were spacious, clean, & comfortable. Staff was friendly & helpful, with the exception of the woman doing breakfast service. Felt as if we were bothering her by being there. The breakfast was the only downside of this hotel. It was served in the bar of their "steak house" style restaurant. The buffet was set up on the bar. They need a comfy breakfast room. Otherwise this place was great, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've recently spent a night at this hotel/spa resort. I was unlucky to arrive in the midst of an early snow storm and had my plans ruined a little. The team of this resort however made sure I get compensated for everything I've missed even though it was nature's fault. The customer service and care were outstanding to say the least. The room was beautiful, big and clean. There was plenty of parking, the hotel is close to many restaurants and from what I've see, although haven't tried, has a very successful steakhouse inside the hotel plus a wide variety of rooms and halls for events (there were 3 going on during my stay).
Overall my experience at this hotel was very pleasant and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. I was here for two nights, and it felt like home. My bed was very comfortable, and my room was clean. I used the gym as well, and it had a good number of cardio machines and weights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was our second stay at the Westminster. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We thought our first visit last year was exceptional. They certainly raised the bar this year. Looking forward to next .
year
Kenneth Katz

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This November will be our third year holding a large 2 day corporate event at the Westminster. Jennifer is fabulous to work with on all the details. The food served to our large crowd is always wonderful and the break snacks are delicious. The resturant is good for dinner and the hotel is situated near plenty of other eateries, shopping and close to Newark ariport. I had a massage at the hotel spa and it was terrific.
The hotel rooms are large, very clean and very comfortable. This is a great place to stay for any reason!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel

Address: 550 West Mount Pleasant Avenue, Livingston, NJ 07039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely chic. Inviting and inspired. Open your eyes to the extraordinary at Westminster Hotel, a different kind of luxury hotel. Situated right in the heart of Livingston, New Jersey, our AAA Four Diamond hotel caters to the distinct tastes of today's travelers. Make reservations for stylish hotel guest rooms and suites boasting a classic contemporary design. While you're here, you'll enjoy a refined mix of first-class amenities intended to please everyone from destination spa hotel goers to corporate hotel guests in Westminster Club Level Rooms and Suites. Elaborate or intimate. Elegant wedding receptions or Fortune 500 company executive conferences. Westminster Hotel provides premier meeting facilities, social event venues, banquet rooms—even exquisite outdoor event space—for an array of special occasions. Surrender to a seductive dining experience at the New Jersey location of Strip House Restaurant, one of America’s best steakhouses. And treat yourself to the hotel’s decadent spa services, state-of-the-art health and fitness center and indoor heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. In the neighborhood? Drop by and say "hi." We proudly serve our beautiful northern New Jersey community and beyond, hosting Livingston, NJ and Essex County neighbors and guests from surrounding cities, including Florham Park, Short Hills, East Hanover, Parsippany, Basking Ridge and Morristown. Westminster Hotel is located only 20 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and 20 miles west of New York City. Convenient train access is a short ride away and runs directly into Penn Station in midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Livingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westminster Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.