We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
3255 Brunswick Pike, Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
+1 609-896-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 78 Restaurants in Lawrenceville
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Trenton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stopped in today for the 2 for $12.99 special, I had the Lobster Pot Pie and Shrimp and Scallop Fettuccine - Both were great tasting! Appetizer we had was stuffed mushrooms - Very Good.
We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was amazing and well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The wait staff was awsome there was a forty-five minute wait but while we waited they gave us a menue to look at. Once we were seated everything from there on out was really graet the food,atmosphere and wait staff were awsome. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always good food, usually a wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On the positive side, the food is reliably good. Don't think I've ever had overcooked fish, mushy veggies or stale bread. However, the reasons we don't go there more often are many: parking is often quite far from the door; the waiting time can be long; it feels crowded and noisy; the service is spotty; the ambiance is more cafeteria-like than relaxing. It is also fairly pricey, as it is not byob, and a glass of wine goes for above ten bucks. I do love the biscuits, though!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Waitress was especially pleasant giving us directions to the nearest gas station. Food, especially the lunch special of soup and salad was a good value and very tasty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bad..even after a second chance.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First let me say that I take no pleasure in leaving bad reviews. We believe in positive experiences and love to leave good reviews whenever possible, BUT, with that said -while in Williamsburg, VA. my family and I decided to have one of our dinner meals at the local Red Lobster. I have no complaints about the because we never got it. We were seated right away and then the clock started ticking. We waited 15 minutes to be greeted by our waitress who we had noticed was cozy in a corner of the restaurant texting away and giggling. Once we were greeted she took our drink order but that took another 10 minutes to arrive and, to our surprise (again) the waitress disappeared for another 10 minutes. We were extremely frustrated but when you are traveling and at a restaurant with a 5 year old you try your best to be patient and understanding. Finally, our order was taken - and - low and behold - the waitress again disappeared. We had enough and prepared to exit...just as we were getting up the waitress brought our food. The order was completely wrong, she forgot the appetizers and had no apology or excuse so we got up, informed the manager of his failures and left. He gave us gift certificates as reparations for our awful visit.

So, now we are home and the wife says "We have those great gift certificates from Red Lobster in VA. - let's give our local Lawrenceville Red Lobster a try (thus the SECOND CHANCE title). Once again we were seated quickly and once again it took over 15 minutes to be greeted by our waitress, however, this time she took our drink order but forgot to return with the drinks. When she returned to take our food order we reminded her of the drinks and she forgot she even took the order. We waited about 20 more minutes for the food to arrive and (please believe that we are not the fusssiest or pickiest eaters by any means) the food was AWFUL. My wife ordered a Salmon that was supposed to have a subtle hawaiin sauce - I tasted it and she was right - it tasted like fish with mango jelly on it...YUK. I order the Manhatttan Clam Chowder and it was cold. Our daughter had popcorn shrimp and she said they were ok but didn't finish them (hmmmm!). We informed both the waitress and the manager that we had coupons from a previous visit at another Red Lobster and you would have thought that we presented them with a difficult algebraic equation. It took them 10 minutes to figure out the coupons were valid and another 15 minutes to retally the bill. In the end, our waitress decided to disappear outside for a smoke break and we had to hunt down the manager to finish our transaction.

Red Lobster USED to be an excellent seafood restaurant about 10 years ago - obviously they have lowered their hiring standards and as they say "service is everything". We recommend either Shrimp King in Robbbinsville, NJ or John Henrys in Hamilton NJ for the finest Seafood in our area.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 
Lawrenceville, NJ
 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.