We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When nothing else is open it okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crab's Claw

Crab's Claw
601 Grand Central Avenue, Lavallette, NJ 08735
(732)793 4447
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Lavallette
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wayne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When nothing else is open it okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Just okay. Nothing to write home about. Stuff shrimp with crab bland , torpedo tips rubbery. But I guess for the shore it was alright. What a shame though, I thought Sandy would have made restaurants down there improve there standards. Just saying.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    52
    29
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Was down the shore for the day. Family recommended - was delicious! Chris our waiter was great! I enjoyed the Monday-Thursday specials menu. Would of liked to see some drink specials, but had a fantastic dinner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Have been there several times on and off season. Place is always great. Food and Music is wonderful. Crowd is over 30 which makes it even better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Depends on Bartender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I now live in Lavallette and this place is a mainstay. Good music on the weekend. Service depends on which bartender you get. Steve and one of the older gentlemen are great. Some of the others attitudes leave a little to desire. Cocky, arrogant, and they honestly could care less because place is always busy. Food is overpriced but good. $13 bucks for the bowl of Lobster Bisque-"Really" Its local so I go much better place is BYOB in Point Pleasant" Shore Fresh" better food for half the price no entertainment just good food and service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible seafood.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lavallette is my hometown. This restaurant has the worst food and has had for decades. People only go because there are so few choices in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab's Claw also viewed

 

Been to Crab's Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab's Claw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.