We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant still working out the kinks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Galleria

Caffe Galleria
23 North Union Street, Lambertville, NJ 08530-1827
609-397-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Weehawken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“New restaurant still working out the kinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited in mid June and the restaurant had been open for a few months -- it was packed, and the hostesses found a table for us at the last minute, which was greatly appreciated. Everything went downhill from there. We had a great server who was very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. The only problem was she had definate time management issues. She was spending so much time chatting up the patrons, she was not on top of her food. Granted, there seems to have been problems with the kitchen the night we visited, as the staff seemed to be comping an awful lot of meals. However, it took us 45 minutes to get -- a salad. Yes, a salad. Not a salad that had something cooked on it, but one of the cold salads on their menu. In the middle of our wait, one of our hostesses asked us to reach into a panel where apparently the sound system was located and remove the ipod there. We were able to take it out, but we had difficulty reconnecting it to the system, but after several tries, managed to do so. By the time we had gotten it connected, the hostess had walked away muttering something we couldn't understand. The music came back on and you would think the hostess would come back and say thank you, maybe offer you a beverage for your efforts -- nope! Back to the food. Our theory with our server is that she had ordered our entrees but either, knowing there were problems in the kitchen, delayed getting our salads or just forgot about them. She came up at one point and said, "where are your salads?" Shortly after this our salads arrived, but as soon as the salads were cleared our entrees arrived. Both really overdone. I had a chicken and shrimp dish that resembled leather and pencil erasers. My partner also had way overdone chicken breast. We were so starving at this point that we ate what we could, declined dessert as we felt it would take another hour and we needed to get on the road. Might consider coming back, but doubt it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    61
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Go for the Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

They do a wonderful personal pizza - thin crust, creative toppings - that is a meal in itself. It comes down to personal preference but I love the pizza with carmelized onions, garlic and goat cheese. And you can top off the meal with some smooth gelato.

It's BYO, so I brought some beer to go with the pizza. Whitney, our excellent server, asked if I wanted a glass. When I asked "is it chilled," she said "no but give me a minute and I can chill it for you." Now that's great service.

We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Fresh Healthy Breakfast in Quaint Space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Meeting friends for breakfast, parking was easy in the lot across the street for free before 9 am. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the porch seating was charming & comfortable, and the food fresh and nutritious. The indoor tables are made of various sizes & materials, including terrific wood tables of various woods with a raw edge. The atmosphere was bright, cozy, and warm. The omelette s were especially good. This was a wonderful breakfast experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a Good Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Caffe Galleria with friends. They had a poor prior experience here but we decided to give the place one last try. This was a Friday night in July and we had a 7:30 reservation. We did not get seated until 8:15, then had to track down a waiter to get glasses, water, and a cork screw. We did not get served until after 9. It was very hot inside with the excuse being, " the AC does not work well in hot weather." The food and prices were OK, the venue and location are good, but the overall experience was poor. I felt bad for the waiter who seemed as exasperated as we were by the service. They may still be working out some operational issues but given the wide choice of restaurants in the area, I doubt we will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the signs outside, we thought it would be a typical italian restaurant specializing in brick oven pizza with a few other worthy meals. We were very wrong! My blackened swordfish (special) was excellent! Other meals were as well and all were served piping hot! Our server, Chris, was perfect as he was very attentive and yet, at the same time, let us relax and enjoy our experience at a nice pace.

Only complaint is that it was very warm in the restaurant (and I am RARELY warm at a restaurant).

Don't forget your wine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Galleria also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.