We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga's Cocina

Tortuga's Cocina
11 1/2 Church St, Lambertville, NJ 08530
(609) 397-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went here after reading TA's recommendations and could not have been more disappointed. The crowded, noisy place served probably the worst Mexican food we've ever had. Flavorless tacos, dryed out chicken, they couldn't even make a pico de gallo that had any flavor but vinegar. The waitress was sweet as she apologized for us having to wait 20+ minutes just for a beer. Bad, bad, bad.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    70
    26
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Michigan
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to dinner here while on vacation. Our friends picked the spot. We loved it. The outdoor patio in back was charming and the food was amazing. I would eat here again in a minute when we are back in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is not good mexican food! I am starting to wonder if the people who said "this is the best Mexican food on the east coast" have ever eaten anywhere besides Taco Bell? Having lived in Southern Calif for 10 years, travelled to Mexico multiple times and eaten at some of the best Mexican Restaurants in NYC including Rosa Mexciana across from Lincoln Center, this place is barely average. There are better options in New Jersey. We ordered relatively standard dishes like enchiladas, which I found tasteless and a burrito, which my daughter barely ate. We both thought the food tasted funny, did not have the right spices or texture. But mostly it was lacking in flavor. The service was the high point, but what good is service with bad food?

Chef Ramsey would have a picnic with this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Mexican in back alley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Walk down the alley behind the old bar to some very good Mexican food. Try the California Burrito, Carne Asada, or Chile Rellanos Poblano and enkoy tasty, fresh pico de gallo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Being a "towny" myself and having tried every restaurant on this side of the river and the other, I am never disappointed with Tortugas cuisine. The Carne Asada is cooked to perfection and the Creamy Chipotle Chicken is to die for! Portions will never leave you feeling unsatisfied, rather filled to the gills. Service is friendly, fast and attentive. It is a hidden treasure, tucked away in a small alley, but if you are in the area...find it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga's Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Tortuga's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga's Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.