We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Overnight Stay at The Lambertville House Hotel, Lambertville, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lambertville House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lambertville House Hotel to your Saves list
The Lambertville House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Bridge Street, Lambertville, NJ 08530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Overnight Stay at The Lambertville House Hotel, Lambertville, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the New Hope area for a Christmas overnighter for the last few years to celebrate our anniversary. We love the Christmas feel, the lights and the many wonderful BYOB restaurants of the New Hope/Lambertville area. Having previously stayed in New Hope, we decided to cross the bridge and try a new place. Judging from the excellent reviews, The Lambertville House Hotel, a very quaint, boutique hotel, looked like the place to try.

We arrived late morning Saturday to beat out the snow that was forecasted. We liked that we could park our car right there and walk for the duration of our visit. Upon check in, Nicole quickly got us settled and even upgraded our room since they had a few cancellations. We then met Sherry who answered some questions and directed us to our room. I have to say it was lovely to be welcomed so warmly to this fabulous hotel.

The room was large with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub bathroom. The room is beautifully furnished with plenty of seating to read and many lights throughout the room which you don't see very often. The bathroom products were Aveda which is one of my favorite brands. I just loved the fact that they had a magnifying mirror on the wall for putting on make-up. I've stayed in many hotels and this is more of a rarity than common. Normally, you have to look for a spot with enough light and hope you can get close enough to a mirror for applying make up. The fireplace was an added bonus on a cold day and warmed the room for a cozy feel.

There is a wonderful bar/lounge on the main level with two fireplaces going and leather couches and comfy furniture make you want to sit, have a glass of wine and just relax before you go out. We loved it so much, we went back after we returned from our dinner.

We walked across the bridge to New Hope to have dinner at Martine's on the River which is a "must go". The snow was falling and it looked magical and something like a Hallmark Card picture.

We will return next Christmas season and will only go to the Lambertville House Hotel from here on in. We've stayed at a few places but none can compare to the lovely and beautiful rooms, and the warm, friendly and helpful staff of this hotel. This place is a "10" in my book.

Room Tip: There are four floors and there is an elevator so I would stay on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
94
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lambertville House several times over the past four years.
We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the accommodations elegant and comfortable. We've stayed in different types of rooms and all have been very quiet. Our latest visit was for two nights 12/11/13 through 12/13/13. There was a problem -- the whirlpool tub in our room did not work. However, Karen took care of everything, immediately offering us an upgrade to king suite across the hall.

The historic hotel is on the Select Registry and boost past presidents among some of its famous guests It also has one of the best rewards program of any hotel we have stayed in, sending out gift cards when you your nightly stays total more than five -- and also sending promotional gift cards. As semi-retirees, we appreciate these as we can travel from our NYC home (the trip from NYC is 90 minutes, mainly on major roads) during off seasons. Caution: We often travel mid-week and never have problems booking the room we want. The hotel fills up quickly for weekends and you will have to book in advance. There is one little downside: For the past few years, you could reserve a full breakfast for $10 per person extra -- and the meal was great. Now the hotel only offers a continental breakfast included in the cost. Maybe the weekend fare is more ample, but mid-week it consisted of coffee, juice, bagels, grain bread, hard-boiled eggs, granola, apples and oranges, and a few scones. My wife and I usually don't have a big breakfast, but we would have appreciated a little more variety.

The hotel is in the middle of the charming and art colony conclave of Lambertville which also has excellent restaurants, all a short walk from the hotel. Many are BYOB, so you can walk two b blocks to "The Wonderful World of Wine" and pick up a really fine bottle (or two) for your dinner. Parking on the street can be problematic during the spring and summer, but once you park in the hotel lot (free), you can pretty much walk anywhere.

This includes walking over the bridge to New Hope, PA., where there are many boutique shops and restaurants and the newly renovated Bucks County Playhouse. Most of our trips to the area coincide with a show we want to see here. The productions are first rate (many feature Bway performers between gigs) and inexpensive by NYC standards. Right outside the playhouse is a Celtic-Iberian store which offers good values on imported goods from Ireland and Spain.

The area has more to offer. A 10 minute car ride brings you to Peddler's Village in Lahasa, a shopping center with virtually no chain stores -- sort of a collection of local merchants in a beautifully landscaped environment. Add another 15 minutes and you are in Doylestown where the James Michener Art Museum sometimes has surprising offerings -- a year or two ago they had an exhibit of art on loan from the Uffizi, a treasure trove of Renaissance paintings.

So, if you want a trip with a lot to do, head to the Lambertville/New Hope area. And, if you plan to
make trips on a regular basis, stay at the Lambertville House and join their rewards program.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. We like a king room overlooking bridge street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This charming small hotel is in the heart of charming Lambertville, just steps from the bridge to New Hope, coffee shops with delectable pastries, quaint taverns, artists' and artisans' shops, etc. The room was commodious, the bed very comfortable, the bath luxurious, the fireplace cozy, the staff very accommodating. We enjoyed a night cap in the warm little bar on the first floor. Our only complaint? They forgot to tell us that breakfast was served in the basement and we forgot to ask. We'll definitely try this one again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent Saturday 12-8-13 here for anniversary. Easy access from 95 to Lambertville. Cute town with shops, and cross bridge to New Hope PA for more shops/restaurants. You are crossing the Delaware River, near where George did. Has parking on-site. Four stories, had room 304 with fireplace, full bath, queen bed, and a huge tub to soak in in room with French doors. Small balcony, too cold to enjoy. Great bed, Keurig in hall for your use. Very clean and warm. Had breakfast at Sneddons, good hearty food in a diner setting. Walked to a cute coffee shop, browsed art and antique shops. Dinner at Brian's, was just ok. Small space, no liquor. Can byob, weird cos we eat in DC/Balto/Annapolis area and no byob there. Wished we knew to bring wine in. Cold draft from door. Tables really close. Salad excellent. Salmon over cooked, mashed potatoes ok and banana bread bread pudding was yummy. Husband steak was stringy and over cooked he was not happy. Someone said try Rick's or Anton's. had a continental breakfast in lower level cafe, hb egg, toast, fruit, cereal, and mini muffins available. Highly recommend. Rate pricey at $300.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went away for the weekend and this was the perfect stay! At first we got to our room and it wasn't what the description said when I purchased it off of expedia, I called the front desk and the lady accommodated me within minutes. She switched me to a room with a fireplace and a balcony. The room was so cozy. To top off this stay we had a free breakfast with whatever we wanted. We had the option to have it in our room or in the lobby. It was a FULL breakfast, not a buffet. I am not one who likes buffets, this was amazing! Definitely try the french toast. Also, each floor has a keurig which I thought was amazing! Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Thank you for an amazing stay. New Hope is beautiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just back from a wonderful, relaxing night at the Lambertville House Hotel. I had passed this establishment 100's of times over the years and after staying there last night regretted that it hadn't been sooner.

The staff ... hotel, bar, restaurant, were on a level of a 5 star establishment. I'm not joking. They wanted you to be comfortable and feel at home the minute you entered.

The room we had was superior ... even had an electric fireplace.

If you ever plan an overnight to New Hope or Lambertville you might want to spend a night or two there.

Room Tip: 3rd floor suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

loved the room, we stayed on the top floor, the robes and slippers were awesome - there is so much to do in the Lambertville and New hope areas (you can just walk across the small bridge). there is even a Thomasello winery satallite store around the corner from the hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lambertville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lambertville House Hotel

Address: 32 Bridge Street, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lambertville House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lambertville House Hotel, listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, has been host to discerning guests since 1812. Located near the banks of the Delaware River in Lambertville, New Jersey and walking distance to New Hope, Pennsylvania, the Lambertville House Hotel offers easy access to spectacular restaurants, distinctive shopping and vibrant culture. Easily accessible from New York and Philadelphia, the Lambertville House blends the beauty of an era gone by with elegant modern conveniences. Each of our luxury hotel rooms has its own unique amenities and distinctively classic touches. All guestrooms have jetted tubs and both high-speed and wireless Internet access. Most guestrooms also have gas fireplaces and some have private balconies. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is an intimate restaurant and lounge with outdoor seating available in warm weather. The Lounge at the Lambertville House is "the" meeting spot in town with a wide selection of fine wines and cocktails served in a relaxed and intimate setting. "Dish" catering is at your service in the kitchen offering small plates with big flavor and a focus on fine cheese and charcuterie. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The Conference Center with its natural lighting, start-of-the-art Audio Visual and gourmet catering services is the perfect location for a business meeting or special event. Trendy gift shops are located right onsite. Lambertville is an antique lover's mecca with distinctive and unique shops for browsing and shopping. Fine art and eclectic galleries are located throughout Lambertville as well as in neighboring New Hope, PA. All are within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lambertville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inns Lambertville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lambertville House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.