We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down, The Best Thai Food We Have Eaten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIAM Thai Restaurant

SIAM Thai Restaurant
61 N Main St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-1724
609-397-8128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hands Down, The Best Thai Food We Have Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I used to live in Lambertville, and the husband and I used to eat here at least once a week. Now that we've moved an hour away, we always try to stop here when we are in the area. We're huge fans of Thai food, and we eat it everywhere we travel (including, but not limited to: NYC, Philly, London, Wales, Chicago, Vegas). Sadly, we have not had the experience of eating Thai food in Thailand yet. Every time we eat Thai food, we compare it to Siam. It is our standard-setter, and in our experience, no other place even comes close (one place in London came the closest).

We have tried almost everything on the menu. Our favorites include the charcol beef, tom yum gum soup, vermicelli noodles with pork and shrimp, chicken red curry, and the whole fish. The fish cakes are to die for. We also love their homemade coconut ice cream when it's available.

In the past, the service has been hit or miss. It's a straight-forward kind of service: you pick items out and order, and you'll be fine. If you happen to be a high-maintenece diner, you may find fault with the service, simply because it is not overly-doting. It's always been adequate enough for us. Sometimes when they're very busy, the service can be slow.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadephia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was nervous to try this restaurant because of the wild swing in T/A reviewer's opinions. We went with friends on a Sunday night. We had a lovely, patient waitress and a delicious dinner. This is a tiny restaurant on a dark side street in Lambertville. No parking except for on street. It is BYOB and CASH only. Make a reservation. We started with appetizers and soup. Three of us ordered different entrees and my husband made up his dinner with appetizer selections. They didn't have any noodle offerings at dinner (pad thai, etc). I had chicken with basil which was excellent. I also shared tastes of my husband's appetizers (shrimp cakes, a fried noodle with bean sprouts on it which was to die for, and a satay). He tried the sauce of my chicken and really enjoyed it. Our friends ordered fish and shrimp dishes respectively which they said were very good. Would we go again? Absolutely!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favorite spot for years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Siam is on our list of favorite restaurants and we go there often. The staff has been there forever so we feel at home. We like the flavors of their vegetables, spring rolls, and especially their fish. The striped bass or red snapper in three flower sauce has a rich, semi-spicy flavor. We had that last night and I wish I had some more right now! They make a dish called gluten but don't let the name turn you off. It's tofu based and over the top tasty! Their other offerings, such as green curry chicken and many such standard dishes, are well done, also. Service is warm and friendly; the room is a bit crowded, but with nice people! No one is flashy or overly loud, and it's quite convivial all around. Cash only is a bit quirky, but it's worth the trouble to take cash. Don't forget your favorite wine or beer! Major thumbs up on this cute place. Give it a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty, fairly priced, but limited for celiacs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Friendly service, delicious appetizers (shrimp cakes and spicy chicken soup). Entrees were also flavorful, but the fish special was on the small side. My ony surprise was that they use a coconut milk that contains flour...very disappointing for gluten free diners (and others who demand pure ingredients). Hoefully, they will find a new supplier for then this would certainly earn a 5 star rating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Take out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Good food Monday is locals night. Food is always tasty. Staff is friendly. Not sure about the take out portion sizes......



Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SIAM Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Lambertville, NJ
Lambertville, NJ
 

Been to SIAM Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIAM Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.