We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's

Rick's
19 S Main St, Lambertville, NJ 08530-1821
609-397-0051
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My recent meal at Ricks was quite disappointing. The complementary white bean dip which has always been amazingly good had no taste whatsoever and was quite thin.........definitely not the same dip that has drawn us to Ricks in the past. The flounder francese was so-so, and the lobster in the lobster Fra Diavolo was over cooked. For a much better Italian meal try DeAnna's a few blocks away on N Franklin Street for wonderful Italian food.. And right next door is their new take-out shop which has a mostly pasta menu but with a couple of other daily special items as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice, Friendly Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I ate here during Restaurant Week with our two twenty-something children. We really enjoyed it. Some of the reviewers complained about how they handle reservations. They have a sign-in sheet. The waiters (no hostess) work their way down the list and, as far as I could tell, do not prioritize reservations. We only waited five minutes, so it was no big deal.
My wife had chicken piccata, my daughter had ravioli and my son and I had braciole. The food was good and the portions were ample. None of us could finish the meal, an unusual occurrence for my son and me.
The waitress was both pleasant and attentive. It was a really satisfying dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The first thing I noticed was the Trip Advisor sticker posted by the door. I knew it would be good.

Dining on a tuesday night here is a good thing. Lines out the door and waiting is more a weekend event. We certainly had our servers attention and she made some suggestions as to what we should consider ordering. I was dissappointed that it was BYO, but there is a fine wine and liquor store nearby. We had their salad , which was enough for us to share. I ordered stuffed flounder and my husband a pasta and seafood dish and for desert a just backed apple tarte. We enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The great thing about Rick's is that you can order off the regular menu for some delicious home style Italian, with a flair. You can also expect fabulous blackboard specials. Whichever you choose, the food is yummy. My one small complaint was the rushed service. However, it was a Saturday night and I understand the need to move parties through.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Have been here multiple times with friends, my teenage children and just my wife and I. Have had a wonderful meal and experience every time. Folks just need to be realistic that on a Saturday "date night" there is going to be a wait. Some folks do seem to be able to call in reservations - I guess you just need to be in the know or a long time regular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's also viewed

 

Been to Rick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.