We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Time Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton's Grill Room

Hamilton's Grill Room
8 Coryell St, Lambertville, NJ 08530
609-397-4343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamilton's Grill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Union Street
woodland twp., nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Big Time Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had not been here for a few years. We were reminded again why not. When we tried ordering two of the specials (on a Sunday night) we were told they were not available. Went back to the menu and ordered one standard and one replacement special. The shrimp appetizer was well prepared. However the soup of the day did not resemble what was described and was listless. The rib eye steak on the menu was purported to be 14 oz somehow came out to 5 to 6 oz literally cut in half. Both the braised short ribs and the ahi tuna off the menu were also unremarkable. The veal chop (the special replacement) was the same. PS: if you decide to go bring quarters for parking. The restaurant does not offer any help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    55
    50
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We brought two of our children to HG for their first time. My wife and I usually eat at the grill table. My kids loved their meals. We also loved our meals.
Service was good during this busy Christmas week. My waitress made a mistake on the bill, but was able to adjust the bill with managers approval. She tried to bill me for changing from mashed potatoes to French fries. She never said their would be an up-charge.
The grilled shrimp with anchovies appetizer and my grilled lamb chops were excellent. Mark does an amazing job on the grill. We also had grilled steak and the lobster special.
The dining rooms were uniquely decorated. These rooms are classics, one of a kind.
HG is BYOB. This is good!!!!
Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment on every level; our last meal here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Christmas Eve 2013...A special holiday dinner, long anticipated, with friends in a festive atmosphere! Efficient and attentive service, intimate atmosphere and outstanding cuisine! An event to cherish and reminisce about! These were our expectations, but fellow diners, I am sorry to report that while we will reminisce, the reminiscences are about as unpleasant as can be and are as follows: (1) the atmosphere: we were seated in an overcrowded back room which comfortably should have accommodated 3 tables, but into which were crammed 6 tables; the atmosphere was hot and noisy and stuffy and my chair was continually bumped and jostled by wait staff and diners as they shimmied through this obstacle course of a room. The party next to us added to our discomfort with their loud and raucous conversation and laughter making conversation at our table impossible. (2) the service: in a word, horrendous; the waitress was slow and distracted and seemed to have her mind on anything other than her job. (3) the food: I was the fortunate one regarding the entree as my duck was quite good, but our friends were less fortunate; the Osso Buco was nothing but gristle and completely inedible to the extent where it had to be sent back. The others in our party ordered the ribeye steak, which should have been marbled, but instead included big hunks of fat and gristle, and certainly could have been much more tender. In a word, poor quality and overpriced beef entree and inedible OssoBuc.

In all fairness, we have had several Christmas Eve dinners past years at the Hamilton Grill which were extremely pleasant and memorable for all the right reasons, and hence our complete disappointment this year. We have also dined here on other occasions and have always been pleased, although poor quality beef seems to be somewhat of a constant as we can recollect several other tough "cowboy skirt steaks" that we were not happy with. The atmosphere and intimate ambience has always compensated for any missteps in service and cuisine, and always had us returning, but this last visit lacked any redeeming features! Perhaps when a restaurant has a long standing reputation such as the Hamilton Grill has enjoyed, the establishment can ride on that reputation for a period of time, but if too many clients over too much time have the type of experience we had, eventually that reputation has to suffer. We certainly have no plans to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Hamilton's Grill for years and always really enjoyed it. We were back this week and it was a "best ever" experience. Everything came together: the menu, the food, the staff and the atmosphere! Looking forward to many other amazing meals!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Devastating Post-Thanksgiving Celebration”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

When a restaurant is low on staffing levels, they should not book their restaurant reservations full the day after a major holiday when no one wants to cook and everyone wants to eat out; moreover, they should not book everyone at the same time. We were a party of five with a reservation at 7:30 PM. We were there promptly and were seated promptly but our waitress seemed to be from another planet and she seemed not to know what she was doing and simply disappeared on us. Other people seated well after us with different servers had plates on the table and had finished their meal before we were even served. What was supposed to be a festive event went downhill from there. Parts of the meal were OK, with the exception of my husband's pork chop, which was so incredibly tough he could not even cut it with a very sharp steak knife. It was inedible and he returned it uneaten. To sum up: the food was mediocre, the service was execrable, and the maître 'd tried to make things right but was extremely half-hearted in his attempts. We skipped dessert and coffee and left. What was truly embarrassing for us is that my daughter is married to a professional French chef and he watched all this happening and was absolutely horrified. This is how Americans eat at what is supposed to be a really good restaurant?? We think not. Our advice: This place either has seriously deteriorated in quality or is only interested in the bottom line. Don't eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton's Grill Room also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton's Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton's Grill Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.