We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brian's

Brian's
9 Klines court, Lambertville, NJ 08530
(609) 460-4148
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ate the most wonderful three course meal at Brian's last night and have been unable to stop thinking about all day - so much so, that I had to go back and have a risotto fix tonight. The preparation and quality of ingredients and some sort of magic that Brian does made this a wonderful all round experience. I thought the staff were just lovely and if I lived locally I would go every week! I had the crab risotto followed by crab cakes and a roasted pineapple pudding. Truly the most sensational risotto I have ever had. The crab cake and pudding were sublime. Brian Held: food hero!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    46
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went to Brian's during lambertville/New Hope Restaurant week and chose Brian's because their menu looked very appetizing and we were not disappointed! Everything from our appetizer (spinach ravioli and scallops) to our dessert (bananas foster and bread pudding) was delicious. Our server was friendly and attentive. The food came out in good time and looked beautiful. The place was a little small, but I would definitely go back for a date night and would definitely recommend to others!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“CASH ONLY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

WHen going to Brian's bring cash the only payment he accepts. He has a three course prix fixe menu. Food is outstanding service is excellent. Staff knows the menu and how the food is prepared and willingly shares that knowledge. no one in our foursome had anything but great remarks about the food and deserts!
Bring cash and lots of it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a great meal with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were told that Brian's was a "little bit of heaven" in Lambertville. That is an understatement.
my wife and I were bowled over. There is a price fix menu on Sat. night. The food is out of this world. From the mushroom soup to the best chocolate dessert I have ever eaten (including in Europe).
The main course was prepared perfect. My wife had the crab cake. It was ALL CRAB!
I had the beef shoulder with horseradish. Just WOW.
Everything was perpared to order and just fresh.
Lastly the service. An example is this. my wife droppeer her knife. By the time she reached for it on the floor a new clean one was next to her plate.

You will need to make reservations in advance as the place is small and fills up.
also go as early as possible. We had 7:30 reservations and when we were leaving they were running out of some desserts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“The local benchmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Most Bucks and Hunterdon county residents know that Lamberville has some decent restaurants,in contrast to the tourist traps across the river in New Hope.Within Lamberville the one to beat is Brian's.What sets his place apart is that he is unrelenting in the use of fresh seasonal ingredients to creat simple but perfectly executed dishes with a consistency in food and service which is second to none.Given his well earned success he recently became a cash only establishment but there are plenty of ATMs nearby.BYO

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brian's also viewed

 

Been to Brian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brian's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.