We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, tucked away place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba

Marhaba
77 South Union Street, Lambertville, NJ
609-397-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Lambertville
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
morristown, nj
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, tucked away place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Small setting (so go early or late) and tranquil. Interesting middle Eastern food above and beyond hummus, falafel, etc. My husband loved the Ouzi (spelling?)---it had rice and veggies and cheese (feta or other options)- you could pick the meat or go without--in a baked Phyllo dough. They also had flatbread pizzas which were good as a meal or as an appetizer to share. I would definitely go back and we want to bring friends to experience it with us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try it -- you'll love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I loved this place. The food was outstanding. Every dish was delicious. Although we live an hour's drive away, we can't wait to go back and explore the menu further. By way of background, I am of Greek ancestry and am familiar with Middle Eastern cuisine, which is similar to Greek cuisine. We had two appetizers and an entrée. The lentil soup was simply the best I've ever had in my life. Thicker and heartier than I'm accustomed to, and a real revelation. I don't like lentil soup when it's too watery, but I don't want it to be like a stew, either. This was perfect. The stuffed grape leaves were delightful. Simply the tastiest vegetarian stuffed grape leaves I've ever had. Wow. By the way, each appetizer comes with excellent pita. The entrée was chicken pitza, which was excellent. For dessert we had halwa with labna (yogurt), which reminded me of Greek pistachio halva (I'm sure they share the same roots), except this wasn't as dry as halva. The arabian coffee was frankly not to my liking; I prefer the Greek coffee. This is a small, cozy place, with an energetic and somewhat youthful vibe. The prices are reasonable. The only downside is that the staff is stretched too thin -- they need to hire some more people. The staff was friendly and helpful, just short-handed. We arrived at 9:10 PM on a Saturday evening and had to wait about half an hour; they are quite popular. BYOB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanwood, nj
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“mellow and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very special place. Tucked away, and quiet. We went with a big crowd for lunch and was lucky to get tables. Very cozy, decorated delightfully-felt like we were in Morracco. Loved the copper tabletops! The food couldn't have been better. Try the mint tea and the pitas fresh off the grill. Even the kids liked it. The wait staff was super friendly, but slow. Don't come here if you are in a hurry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Middle Eastern food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is excellent and the price is reasonable. Due to the popularity it gets crowed and there can be a wait. It is a BYOB and there is a liquor store just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden state travellers
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Frequent Customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Im glad we found this place, it's off the main street, but not too far. I rate middle eastern cuisine based on their hummus and baba ganoush. My husband rates places based on their schwarma. This place is pretty consistent & we happily return whenever we're in the area. Healthier choice before or after a bikeride along the canal. Gets pretty busy on weekend evenings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marhaba also viewed

 
Lambertville, NJ
 

Been to Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.