We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn to your Saves list
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First time at a b&b. Had a little trouble getting in because you need a code to get into the main house. Apparently they called us with the info but we were at a wedding and didn't get the message until after. Checked in and was a little disappointed that there was no one there to greet us or give us some direction on places to eat in the area. Got to our room and it was freezing. They had the radiators turned off for some reason. We turned them on and went out to eat. Got back and everything was nice and cozy. At this point it was not at all what I had imagined a b&b would be and was slightly disappointed. But in the morning it was a different story. The house had come alive with people. Friendly, wonderful staff and guests. They were serving French toast for breakfast and unfortunately we have gluten allergies so I thought we'd only have coffee and have to venture out our starve. When I mentioned our allergy to our host she immediately offered to make us gluten free pumpkin pancakes!!! We were delighted! They were delicious. We then ventured out to see the alpacas and feed them. What a treat! It was awesome and we ended up having a wonderful time overall. I did however, mention the freezing room issue so it would not happen to someone else. They were more than apologetic. Overall great place and staff!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    35
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
165
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This B & B out classes any I have seen. Worth of a travel magazine feature. The barn suites are wonderfully furnished including spa tub and gas log fireplaces. Climb the spiral staircase to the bedroom loft and rest your soul in the most comfortable bedroom on the planet. This B & B is also a working alpaca farm which is great fun for kids. The breakfast is awesome with home style cooking from your owner hosts.Chimney y Hill is rich in history within and without located just minutes from Washington's Crossing on the Delaware, the surrounding countryside is just beautiful. Tour the town of Lambertville and stroll across the river bridge to New Hope PA. Both towns are loaded with great restaurants, live music, antique and art gallery's. You won't want to leave. Perfect for an overnight but best for two or three and longer.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I had our first child and decided to stay local since it was our first night away from him. We had never been to New Hope and have heard great things. At first we planned on spending the day in New Hope looking at the local shops and eating dinner on the river. However, that day we asked my father in-law to watch our son and stay one night. This place showed as available online so we booked a room. Our day started out great by eating some appetizers on the river and stopping at antique shops and toy stores. Things quickly turned for the worse when Georgia called us hours after our reservation was made to let us know we did not have a room! When I asked how this could happen all she would say was my name showed up in their system but she could not explain what happened and had given my room away. Georgia said the room was available that day due to a last minute cancellation but she took someones reservation over the phone. However, she had no idea who booked the room first!!! We were told because our card was not charged we were SOL even though we received a confirmation number via E-mail. We are pretty reasonable people and understand issues like this can happen. If Georgia had at least tried to resolve the issue by calling other local places or given suggestions to resolve the problem it would made things easier (she did wait multiple hours after our reservation to call and let us know of this problem). However, Georgia's response was "I should have known how busy New Hope weekends are and should not have waited last minute to book a room for our anniversary"!!!!!!!!! To make matters worse we requested to speak to upper management or the owner since we did not feel that this was appropriately handled. We were told we would receive a call that day and now it is a day later and no one has had the courtesy to call us. To me it feels like they are surviving off of the busy weekends in the surrounding areas and have completely forgotten about customer service!!! I have never written a review before but felt the need since this is the worst I have ever been treated by a business. If I were you I would stay at one of the other B&B's in the area. There are a good amount and our conversations with local business owners they are very friendly. Other local business owners were shocked and disappointed this happened in their neighborhood. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We planned just one night at this B&B and were somewhat relieved it was only one night. The place is nice enough. The lady that checked us in was grumpy, the window in our room didn't open, and the overall ease of getting the place was somewhat poor.

The grounds are lovely and the alpacas cute as hell.

Breakfast was confusing and understaffed with only one person really working. We came down to dirty tables only to find out the person who was supposed to be clearing them was chatting with a group of visitors. hen the food was just ok.

I want to love this place but next time we will spring for a two night stay and stay somewhere else. There was black hair on my pillows! ugh

If you only need one night, bring a robe because most bathrooms while private are not in your room, and bring your own pillow!

Room Tip: If you go ask for a room with a bathroom in it and plan to eat breakfast somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Overall a bit shabby. We saw a few rooms because we weren't happy with the room we originally booked. Opted for a suite in the barn which was the best of the lot but still not great. Comfy bed but leatherette coach, poor lighting, bath that had tiles sloppily repaired, back door that did not lock.. You get the picture.
Grounds were lovely and the animals were cute and the wifi worked well, so that's some pluses.
Little service with a manager who was nice enough but did not know the area. Truly yucky breakfasts, undercooked pancakes, inedible eggs with no healthy choices. Did not go to the wine hour but the room where it was held looked very pretty. Did not meet the owner but saw her and she made no effort to introduce herself or say hello.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We enjoyed the little Buttercup Room with a small private veranda, where we played cards. The room opens into a very nice conference room. So if there is no meeting, it's like having a suite! All the people were so nice, and the breakfast was good. There was a problem with the ac being a bit too cold, which was rectified. The next morning we were given a nice bottle of wine for the inconvenience! Alpacas are wonderful! I spent lots of time observing them with my camera! Grounds are great if you like to wander around snapping butterfies and whatever else appears, like an impressive buck and his doe! We highly recommend this relaxing bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Buttercup room close to the alpacas, which I loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I can only vouch that there are the most tenderest alpacas available right by the Inn that are an adjunct to the property. I see it as an amazing advertisement for the beauty of the property. There were two heavy wrought iron chairs,I believe, that was their consistency by which to hang out right in front of the several present. We fed them their kibble,which was endearing--

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Hamilton Grill, Ricks Cafe, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Zanya's or Nurture Day Spas. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Terry & Rich & the very darling Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.