We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B not only for the stay, but for the first class treatment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn to your Saves list
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Best B&B not only for the stay, but for the first class treatment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Chimney Hill Estate in Lambertville NJ was such a first class experience, not only because the place was beautiful but because the Owner Deb and her staff made the misses and I feel at home everyday I was there! So much so that we did not want to leave and will be back soon!!!

The owner Deb made us feel like family with her attentiveness and eagerness to please. She and her staff made us the best foods in the morning and worked very hard catering to our every need. A special touch to our stay was the excellent home made desert treats that were made available to us. Some places leave out cookies and such, but not Deb AKA "Martha Stewart" clone she made the most delicious desert treats and snacks!

The property was as I said was beautiful and historic. I enjoyed hearing about the history of the home and marveling at the craftsmanship from almost 200 years ago. My room was great and very cozy but my favorite room was the Stone Room! This room made the stay so enjoyable for the quite time relaxing, catching up on some reading, and also for the time we were able to share with others making new friends who were enjoying their stay as well with a nice glass of wine!

I highly recommend anyone looking to stay at a B&B to try Chimney Hill in NJ, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house any room will do! Very cozy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
165
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights 4 days at the Chimney Hill Estate, and goodness we didn't realize how much we needed a get away until we were there. This place was superb, the stone room was our favorite room to relax in and read our books. The Inn Keeper Deb, was beyond hospitable and quite the little Martha stewart, we had an amazing breakfast every morning. I also have gluten allergies and she worked around my allergies just so very accommodating. The historic grounds of the actual Inn really caught my husbands attention he loved it there. We honestly did not want to leave we will be back for sure hopefully in the winter, it was such a nice relaxing little stay... and let me know forget to mention the shops at Lambertsville NJ were perfect I love artsy areas and antiquing and I found some amazing finds. The Winery that Chimney hill recommended was delicious we ended up purchase 6 bottles of wine and all of the restaurants they recommended were to die for. All in all we had an EXCELLENT stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library room, very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Main House in the Tapestry Room - it was clean and spacious - has its own little private balcony - and private bath which was also very spacious - I have been to some where you can't change your mind in the room!!..

The grounds were beautifully kept and a pleasure to walk around or sit overlooking a pretty little garden. The hosts Rich and Deb were always available and very gracious! The breakfast served both days was delicious - fresh coffee, fresh juice. Homemade iced tea and lemonade available at anytime along with a few homemade desserts and cookies.

The Alpaca's were a fun little diversion, gentle and easy to feed. (Go quick to see the adorable baby)

We are not too far from the area of Lambertville/New Hope and were just looking for a quick getaway. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to go back and stay again!!

Room Tip: The tapestry room has large in room bathroom with its own private balony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Chimney Hill was a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful part of the area (one I had never visited before). The staff were incredibly friendly the entirety of the stay, helpful when we needed things for the room and such, and consistently offered spot-on tips for things to do in the area. Probably the best part of the stay were the alpacas, and more specifically feeding them (ask for food to feed to them)! They are gorgeous creatures and eat gently right out of your hand! The room was nice - spacious, clean, interestingly decorated, etc. Both breakfasts (stayed for 2 nights) were yummy.

The area is excellent - between Lamberville and New Hope (connected by a bridge for cars and one for pedestrians, with great views of the Delaware River) there is so much to do! Highlights include: Bowman Wildflower Preserve, GREAT restaurants (the Middle Eastern place on the Lambertville side most of all), cute and interesting and quirky shops). Unionville Vineyards is not far, and they have tasting. Didn't do much antiquing or perusing of the art scene, but they seemed good!

I would HIGHLY recommend a getaway to Chimney Hill!

Room Tip: stayed in the tapestry room, which had a nice outdoor patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Overall a very good B&B. Clean and comfortable. Stayed in the Barn Suite #3. We didn't turn on the TVs so can't comment on them. The Hot Tub was very nice. The fan switch didn't work properly above the bed. Couldn't change the speed of the fan. There were a couple magazines in the room to read which was a nice touch. Would have been nice if the fridge in the room had a few beverages. The mattress on the bed was nothing special unlike some other B&Bs.
The grounds are nice but show a lack of care. In the one flower garden by the main house there were a couple flower pots on their side. They looked like they had been knocked over for several days. There are butterflies everywhere! No really, dozens of them. The Alpacas are friendly and really like to be fed. There was a 9 week old baby there which was cute to see. On one of the stone patios there are several burrows of Cicada wasps. As a nature person I found this fascinating and got to take a few nice pictures of them. They come out in late July and August so most of the time they are not an issue, and they will just fly away if you get too close so there is no real cause for concern.
Overall I would say this place is worth the stay but would recommend the Woolverton Inn over the Chimney Hill Inn. The Woolverton offers private entrances and outdoor areas, a better breakfast selection as well as free delivery to the room, and more in room creature comforts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Perfect, peaceful weekend. Very hospitable crew and a beautiful estate, all yours to wander if you choose. Stars of the property are the Alpacas, with a few Llamas sprinkled in for protection. They are amazing and worth the visit alone! The way they look at you will melt your heart.
The breakfasts were cooked to perfection, you can tell there is great pride in the kitchen.
The Inn is very conveniently located and I would recommend it highly.
We stayed in a barn room, we are wifi junkies.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful weekend in this beautiful B&B. We stayed in Barn Suite #1. Spacious, comfortable, bath w/a bubbler for unwinding after a day of antiquing in Lambertsville. Deb and Rich were attentive and helpful: they had suggestions for places to eat and things to see that were spot on. The main house is lovingly restored and furnished. The grounds are beautiful: think butterfly bushes sprinkled with yellow tiger swallowtail and black swallowtail butterflies and stargazing at night. The breakfasts are scrumptious. On our first day we had a delicious app,e crumble with fresh whipped cream, followed by some of the best French toast I have ever eaten. This morning we had quiche Lorraine. I don't eat meat, and there was a separate order of scrambled eggs for me. Chimney Hill Estate is located a few minutes from Lambertsville NJ and New Hope PA. We spent a happy afternoon looking at the wonderful architecture, hunting for antiques, and eating a leisurely lunch. We had such a relaxing, enjoyable weekend that we are planning to return in the winter-- when the Hughes stone fireplace in the main house will undoubtedly be where you will find me curled up with a book and a hot drink. We discovered Chimney Hill quite by chance, and we feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to spend a weekend there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Hamilton Grill, Ricks Cafe, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Zanya's or Nurture Day Spas. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Terry & Rich & the very darling Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.