We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, but not as wonderful as I had hoped.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn to your Saves list
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very nice, but not as wonderful as I had hoped.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This B&B is a beautiful old estate on a lovely expansive property. It is on a quiet street very close, but not walking distance into town; I enjoyed feeling like I was in the country so the driving was no problem (one warning...the meters in town are .25 for 15" and the time goes by quickly!). The Alpacas are a darling and fun attraction to the estate; you are given food to feed them which I quite enjoyed. Terry kindly received me at 2:30, even though the email that comes to confirm one's reservation states, in capital letters, that check in (3pm) and check out times (11am) are strict. She was a very nice and accommodating hostess and helped to orient me to the town w/ a map that she gave me. The ladies that work in the kitchen w/ her were very pleasant. I did feel that she was possibly short staffed, ie. the same woman who was helping w/ breakfast was sent over to my room to clean up a bit as she was not available later in the day (I wanted some private time after breakfast and there was no "do not disturb" sign.) I stayed in Barn Suite 1 so I did not take advantage of the beautiful sitting room in the main bldg. The Suite was nicely appointed; warm colors and decor. It was very clean. I enjoyed the back patio. However, I ran into some problems. The mattress was too firm for me and the pillows were lumpy. The linens were soft but worn and the quilted comforter very heavy. The towels were alright, not thin but not thick. The bedside lamps needed brighter bulbs as there is no overhead light (which I didn't mind, but was a bit hard to read in bed). The corkscrew didn't work for the complimentary bottle of wine (I've never met a bottle of wine I couldn't open). The TV remote only works for the cable; the TV itself has to be used manually. Even though the phone number to reach someone for help was posted in the main house; it would be better to put the number on the same card that Terry gave me w/ the door code. This way one wouldn't have to leave their room for help. The bathroom is a nice size and the jacuzzi tub great. The shower had jets and the water heated up very fast. The bottom part of the wall attachment that supports the shower head was not firmly attached. The little pantry comes w/ useful amenities and standard coffee supplies. Breakfast is served from 9 - 9:30 only; I found this somewhat restrictive. The DR is very pretty. The food was ok; the portions just enough. Speaking of food; I stayed here using Living Social and it included a $50 certificate to Anton's...fantastic place!!! I cannot stay again as my budget would not allow it and I honestly think it is overpriced, esp. given it's Registry Status.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the response.

We always our best to please- but it is up to you to call us as inform you unpon check in ( we live at the property ) if you want or need anything and our numbers are posted too :-)

We are very a very organized Inn group and excellent multitaskers here at the Inn- so getting your room complete prior to your return from breakfast as you requested was a proiority , but we are not under staffed.

Hope you enjoyed enough to return for another 2 days of extreme rest .

Thank you,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
165
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My mother and I spent time at this inn for a short weekend stay. We really enjoyed the inn. The food was very good and all of the other guests were friendly and interactive.

I bought a pair of alpaca wool fingerless gloves in the gift shop. I have to say that they are amazing and I wear them a lot. I find them incredibly warm, comfortable and affordable. They also give me a nice memory of our time at the inn

Room Tip: Avery short drive to the shops and restaurants. Walkable but I had my mom with me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Glad you and Mom had a great time with us! We enjoyed your visit and I bet those alpaca gloves last for YEARS to come!
See you soon !
Terry and Rich and the Alpacas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Chimney Hill Estate. What an incredible stay! We stayed in the barn in the Buttercup Room and fell in love with it! The attention to detail is second to none and we have stayed in numerous places in the Lambertville/New Hope area. The room was spotless, the grounds beautifully manicured, and breakfasts were scrumptious. They even prepared a special breakfast entree for me due to dietary restrictions. We even fed and enjoyed the alpacas and llamas. It is just a beautiful property. Terry is a gracious hostess and made us feel welcome. We will most certainly return!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
All I can say is THANK YOU!
We try very hard to make each guest feel important and enjoy their stay.
We love what we do and want you to come back !
Terry and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Chimney Hill Inn the weekend of June 3 - 5 and it was fantastic. Terry, the hostess, was simply amazing. It is clear that she loves her work and she is very good at what she does. The house was very comfortable. We spend an evening having wine in the Stone Room. The breakfast area ...read morewas very nice and the food was amazing. We had a great time feeding the Alpacas. The Inn seems to be in a remote location - but in truth we were less than a mile from downtown Lambertville and just across the bridge is New Hope. Both of the small towns feature plenty of great places to eat and hang out. We also visited a few of the local wineries, the Living History Farm, the flea market, and the Wildflower Preserve. A truely fantastic place to spend some time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Tapestry Room in the Main House. The room was quaint with an old feel to it with all the modern amenities. We had a private bath and a walk out balcony. the rest of the house was beautiful as well. I would highly recommend a visit here, the town it self is beautiful as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had made a reservation for our anniversary. When my husband got sick a few days before, I asked if we could postpone our stay. Terry graciously moved our date back as requested. It turned out that we were the only ones there on the new date, but we felt completely welcomed.
The inn is charming and the rooms are well-appointed. We stayed in the Renaissance Room, which had a lovely fireplace and a view out to the front road. There is no TV in either the rooms or the common areas, which is a nice escape from the world. However, the dim lighting makes it difficult to read. The alpacas are fun. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife was kind enough to schedule this much-needed getaway for us at Chimney Hill, knowing that I love exotic animals. "They have llamas for you, and a nearby winery for me," she said, and that's how our vacation began. The llamas and alpacas are out back, and you even get a nice sack of feed for them. After I'd enjoyed myself feeding all of the animals like a berserk nine-year-old on a sugar high in a petting zoo, I was also able to apprecaite Chimney Hill's other attributes.

The main house that we stayed in was a beautiful old-fashioned home that had a wonderul stone sitting room with a warm fireplace. My wife and I immediately made ourselves comfortable in the huge leather couches there and enjoyed the complimentary iced tea and lemonade. The soft jazz and vocal music helped us to release all of our cares and concerns away.

Our room was a perfect example of what you'd imagine a bed and breakfast to be: large bed with wooded frame and quilt, old leatherbound books and a heater that looked like a fireplace. It was all too easy to lie there and enjoy each other's company. We might not have left the room if nearby New Hope, PA didn't turn out to be so fascinating in its own right.

The innkeeper Terry and her husband Rich really helped us to feel at home, Terry was a remarkably warm and kind presence throughout our stay, so that we always felt the love whenever we saw her. It was clear that she cared about her inn and guests very much, and we've never felt more wanted on any vacation that we've been on.

Many of the guests that we met were regulars at this inn, and now we will be as well. I hope that we'll see you there one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Hamilton Grill, Ricks Cafe, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Zanya's or Nurture Day Spas. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Terry & Rich & the very darling Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.